We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oranhill Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Oranhill Lodge to your Saves list
Oranhill Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Oranhill | Oranmore, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Ranked #1 of 11 Oranmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seyssel, France
1 review
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Although our stay was not terribly lengthy, we felt completely at home at the Oranhill Lodge. Michael and Ann were absolutely delightful - friendly, helpful and excellent cooks! The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious (and made-to-order, which was perfect for a group of 4, somewhat picky, women!) I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone travelling to the Galway/Oranmore area. The location was close enough to Galway to easily scoot over and visit the city for the day or for dinner/the evening.
Overall, a lovely experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    32
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
167
215
20
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We arrived at the lodge after dark for our 3 night stay in the Galway area. We received a warm welcome and instantly felt at home in Michael and Ann's place. The rooms and rest of the home were very clean and nicely appointed. The hosts took a sincere interest in providing us with helpful tips for our days spent in the area, and the breakfast each morning was freshly made to order. It was only a couple of minutes from the Oranmore main street and a 10-15 minute drive from Galway. I would highly recommend you take the time to stay at the Oranhill Lodge - we found it to be wonderful in every way!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for one night with a group of 15 people. Ann was extremely nice. It was like making a new friend. They had the best shower that we encountered in all of Scotland and Ireland. The breakfast was to die for. I would recommend this B&B to anyone and everyone. They recommended an excellent restaurant within walking distance. They were very accommodating for anything anyone in our group needed and I would say this is the best B&B that I have every stayed at.

Room Tip: All the Rooms were excellent !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were marvelled by the way that Ann and Michael runs their place.
The room was cozy and confortable, and the breakfast was delicious!
The price and the location were also very good, just a 5 minutes walk from Oranhill and a 10 minutes drive from Galway.
Ann gave us lots of good advices about the beautiful places around Galway and Oranhill.
And there is also free parking place.
We really liked staying there!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This B&B feels like home.
We booked a Family room and, although it was not very big, it was cozy, ultra-clean and bright. The breakfast was delicious and there is a full menu to choose from: the Cheezy Egg and the Pancakes were great to start the day. The owners were really nice and friendly!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Excellent experience during our three nights stay. The hosts Michael and Ann really made us feel welcome and provided great travel advice for our day trips. Oranhill location was perfect for seeing the west coast of Ireland and allowed us to get it all in. Make sure you get the GPS coordinates and pre-flight what the house looks like, otherwise you can miss this B&B. With my wife and two teenage daughters in tow, we traveled to the north to walk the grounds of Kylemore Abbey, watched the sunset over Galway Bay, toured the downtown festival in Galway and returned for the night. The next day traveled down to 'Kiss the Blarney Stone" at Blarney Castle, now with the gift of gab we attended a medieval banquet at Bunratty's Castle, all within a reasonable day's visit. The room was clean and adequate for the night. The host's provided great options to order for breakfast that made the stay extra special. Would defiantly stay again and will highly recommend Oranhill Lodge to our traveling friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Oranhill Lodge is simply a wonderful family in a beautiful home, and they are willing to share that with the public.

The O'Neill's were absolutely wonderful with their approach to everything.

They should be Ambassadors for Oranmore and County Galway.

They home was extremely well kept. Light and clean. Roomy and good smelling. The sleeping conditions were excellent. And the food was pretty yummy too.

My Son was sick and Ann went out of her way to make him some soup from scratch.

Michael and Ann were quite helpful with regard to information, suggestions, and directions.

The younger O’Neill’s also chimed and chipped in with advice and assistance. (As well as some lovely piano playing)

A delightful group of hosts that obviously have followed a hospitality career with good reason.

I highly recommend the Oranhill Lodge Bed & Breakfast and suggest that if you are even thinking about staying at another establishment in this area that you have another think first.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oranhill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oranhill Lodge

Address: Oranhill | Oranmore, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oranhill Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oranhill Lodge B&B is a warm, welcoming, modern family Bed & Breakfast. This beautiful, red brick house is set in a well-manicured garden, just five minutes walk to the village of Oranmore and ten minutes drive to Galway city. Our home is decorated and furnished to a very high standard, ensuring utmost comfort for our guests. The cosy, luxurious feel, combined with the warm welcome will ensure that your stay is a truly memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Oranhill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oranhill Lodge Oranmore, County Galway, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oranhill Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.