We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oranmore Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Oranmore Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oranmore, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Oranmore
Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in a great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed in the Oranmore Lodge Hotel for an event with a group of 15. The hotel couldn't have done more for us! It was excellent. We had a buffet meal which was really superb. The function room was decorated for us with background music - great touches which added to the occasion!
The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. The full Irish breakfast topped it all off as a really great stay in a really great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    70
    44
    23
    13
See reviews for
67
75
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel recently with my daughter! Prompt & courteous check-in. Clean & hygienic surroundings ( I am very fussy with hygiene). Both dinner & breakfast beautiful. Staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. From reservation stage to checkout stage the staff were lovely. We had a query with the running hot water in our en-suite & immediately the issue was looked at.......it turned out to be something very small! I do feel that the leisure centre could do with a little refurbishment. 10 outta 10 from me & my daughter! We will be back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

To sum up my experience in this hotel in one word it would have to be ''Exceptional''. I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Far too often hotel staff can be quite distant and frankly unpleasant to deal with. However,in this hotel I found staff were very approachable and on my arrival I was made aware of all local amenities. My dining experience was also fantasic with a wide variety of cuisine available to choose from and the quality of the food was comparible with any of the best restaurants. I was very impressed with my room being very spacious yet very warm and bright. I slept fantastically well and found the bed very comfortable. I really would reccomend this hotel to anyone be it on a business trip or family vacation. The Oranmore Lodge is a must have experience and I will certainly be back again!..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Journey done beginning of may 2013, reception very friendly, polite and warm. She illustrated us the facilities of the hotel and gave very clear indications for the Galway Golf Club. The room was on the ground floor very comfortable and large one, tea & coffee facilities available each morning room very clean and bright. Irish breakfast served in a very nice tea room, available also the continental one. We will surely come back !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Just walked out of this hotel over an hour ago, after travelling 2 and a half hours from cork with 2 children. Checked in our family to a "family room" with only 2 beds. When we very politely asked if a cot bed or a single mattress could be put on the floor as our son and daughter did not feel comfortable sharing a bed,as they are pre teens! we were told basically that's how the family rooms were and no one else has had a problem with that. This was all coming from the duty manager who was thd rudest manager I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. Our confirmation email from the hotel does nog state that a family room only consists of 2 beds for 4 people. After getting no satisfaction at all we felt we could not stay in the hotel and checked our family out at a charge of the nights stay. Please do not stay here if you expect any friendliness from staff or any willingness to make your stay a pleasant one . Appalling service. Have now just booked into the Connaught Hotel to friendly staff and a proper family room with a single bed for each child!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Have to say i use this hotel quite a bit and always had an enjoyable experience
have to say that my most recent vist was outstanding especially the food which seems to get better and better .
its a lonf time since i have enjoyed such food in hotel that had REAL taste to it well done to the chef and all concerned .
the watchful eye of the proprieters is evident and created a very welcome atmosphere .

good irish traditional hospitalityat its very best

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in December. I was impressed by the outside of the lodge and was really looking forward to our break away. We were checked in matter-of-factly, it wasnt a particularly warm welcome and unfortunately the impression I had outside changed immediately as we noted the rundown furniture and outdated decor on the corridor which led to our bedroom. This theme was continued in our room which was badly in need of a good paint and new furniture. We could see the last time it was painted, (a very long time ago) fixtures and fittings were not removed just painted around/over. The chair at the dressing table had a broken leg. The nozzle of the hairdryer was melted. The wall sockets were loose and cracked. The carpet was worn and dirty. The towels were frayed and peppered with holes. The bathroom door would not close. The bath was dirty and the toliet roll holder was hanging off the wall - see pics attached. Early on we realised the toliet was broken. It seemed inconvenient to the receptionist but she called for assistance for us while we went to eat dinner. Before we sat down we checked back to see if the problem had been rectified, we found a hotel employee elbow deep in our cistern.
We went to eat dinner - staff had placed what appeared to be a card table just inside the door of the small dining room. We would have preferred to be told there was no availability. It turned out the entire room was booked for a private family Christmas dinner, presents and all, which we essentially 'gate crashed'. We had children lying at our feet unwrapping their gifts. The food was extremely poor and badly presented and served to us by the same guy who minutes earlier had his shirt sleeves rolled up fixing our toilet.
We went to the bar where the radiator was hanging off the wall.
At 8am the next morning we were woken up by children playing in the corridor outside our room. I rang reception to complain and was told "yeah I know, I can hear them". The noise did not stop.
We returned to bar at 8.50 that evening and tried to order sandwiches, we were told by the bar man we could not order until after 9.00pm. A Christmas function spilled into the residents bar (even though they were not residents) creating a noisy, uncomfortable atmosphere. I stepped over a young vomiting patron in the ladies later on.
The children were playing in the corridor the following morning also.
When we were checking out we had the misfortune to encounter the propietor who asked us how was our stay, a question she did not want to hear the answer to. She was offended we found fault with her hotel and made no apology or attempt to appease us. She was rude and confrontational; an example she clearly sets for her staff to follow.
We do not know how this hotel got its rating but it is absolutely undeserved.
When we drove away down the drive laced with pot holes we knew we would never be back. Do yourself a favour and learn from our misfortune. STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oranmore Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oranmore Lodge Hotel

Address: Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oranmore Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superb 4* Hotel in Oranmore, Galway, the Oranmore Lodge Hotel Conference and Leisure Centre. Now less than 60 minutes from Shannon Only 2 Hours from Dublin via the new M6!Failte, 150 years of Irish hospitality awaits you.The Oranmore Lodge Hotel, Conference and Leisure Centre Galway is a prime location just off the N6 approach to Galway offering ease of access from all destinations, located only 7kms from Galway city and airport.... The Oranmore Lodge is a superb venue for a major conference or small meeting, private dining, Wedding Reception or gala banquet alongside superb guest rooms and excellent service, we provide the best whether its for business or pleasure!The Hotel offers luxury accommodation with a variation of 50 standard and executive rooms offering WIFI throughout the hotel for all our guests and the luxury of a full leisure centre and gymnasium available to help you relax and enjoy your well deserved break!You are guaranteed the best of Irish food whether you dine in our cosy bar or intimate Restaurant the Oranmore Lodge Hotel Galway provides the service and professionalism you would expect from a 4 Star hotel where guests have enjoyed the very best of Irish hospitality for over 150 years.The original manor house was built in circa 1850 and it has been tastefully extended to a 4 star luxurious hotel, incorporating a superb leisure centre, conference centre and banqueting suite ensuring our guests enjoy a truly unique irish hospitality experience here in Galway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oranmore Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oranmore Hotel Oranmore
Oranmore Lodge Hotel County Galway, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oranmore Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.