We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids delighted” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maldron Hotel Galway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Maldron Hotel Galway to your Saves list
Maldron Hotel Galway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   on N6, beside 2nd Roundabout, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Oranmore
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Kids delighted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed as part of a school trip. Both adults and kids were delighted with this place and wished we could have stayed longer. Breakfast buffet and dinner were both good, wifi was spotty in rooms but good in the lobby, rooms were spacious and well-appointed. Only possible negative is location if you're looking to stay in Galway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    215
    79
    30
    17
See reviews for
241
108
14
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed for 3 days in July. The staff couldn't have been more helpful - particularly Donal who worked on the front desk and also in the restaurant. The breakfast was tasty and the staff were very helpful. Oranmore is a lovely small town with lots of places to eat and drink. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Maldron is a decent hotel for a weekend stay. The location isn't ideal 6 km from the city. The bar food was ok. The service isn't good as we waited 20 mins to order. The gym and pool facilities are very good, although the 3 ergs in the gym were unserviced and not working properly. The rooms are well decorated and large but they are very hot at night. A mini fridge and sink would have been good. The Maldron is a good hotel and i would recommend staying in it.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

"Never judge a book by it's cover" could have this hotel in mind, as at first sight "satanic mill" came to mind; however once inside there is a light and airy foyer and welcoming staff at the reception. The hotel is on a busy roundabout about a kilometer from the village of Orenmore. Our room, spacious and very well appointed, was on the first floor at the front of the hotel. There is quite a bit of traffic noise during the day, but it did not disturb out night's sleep. We booked for 4 nights on a room only basis, but we did enjoy a meal in the bar on one of our nights. The hotel has a swimming pool complex, spa and gym, and it was very popular with foreign coach parties, mainly German and American, who all seamed to enjoy their time in the hotel. This hotel is a great place to stay whilst exploring the fabulous Galway area and City.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at the Maldron Oranmore for a weekend in June for a 70th birthday party. We were a large group of 10 adults and 7 children aged between 7 & 1. We found the hotel facilities fantastic.The family rooms very nice & spacious. The kids had a great time in the pool and the kids club from 6pm-10pm meant that the adults could have a nice peaceful dinner!!! The food was lovely - breakfast, lunch & dinner. But the best thing about the hotel was the staff - they were all very friendly and very accommodating, looking after our every request. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will hopefully be back very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel is clean and a good location. Just outside Galway.

Rooms are comfortable with bath. Free WIFI in the rooms but it is weak. It is better in the lobby. Front desk is very helpful.

Breakfast is buffet.

Free parking.

This hotel is used by many company's for group travel. They do a great job.

I have stayed here 4 times and would probably return.

Room Tip: As this hotel is used for group travel, please call a head to see when it is a good time to check in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just back from a w/end staying here, everything is great about here yes its a bit out of town but you can get a bus or a taxi, the staff are so friendly &helpful , the rooms are spacious &spotless we had 1 double bed &2 singles,the food is lovely we had a great cooked breakfast during our stay its buffet style,( theres lovely homemade wheaten bread ), we also had lunch which was lovely &they give you plenty on your plate, you can also use the spa facilities at no extra cost which is an added bonus, I would stay here again .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maldron Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Galway

Address: on N6, beside 2nd Roundabout, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellently located on the N6, just 10 minutes drive from Galway City. Modern Superior 3 Star hotel with Superb Leisure Club... 20 m Pool, Gym, Therapy Suite etc. 113 spacious bedrooms..... crisp white duvets, T/C Facilities, Sat. TV & Hairdryer. 2 Lifts. Restaurant & Bar .. Food served all day. Free secure car parking. Regular entertainment. Family Friendly....Kids Club weekends & all holidays. Cinema & Bowling next door. Business rates. Conference Rooms. 2 Km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Maldron Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Oranmore
Maldron Hotel Galway Oranmore, County Galway, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maldron Hotel Galway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.