We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maldron Hotel Galway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maldron Hotel Galway to your Saves list
Maldron Hotel Galway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   on N6, beside 2nd Roundabout, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Oranmore
Chandler, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not a bad stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My wife and I picked this for a relaxing stay and enjoy their leisure club. I'm not sure if we just picked the wrong days or if it's a regular thing, but it seems that they do swimming lessons for the elderly. They also had karaoke going on. The room itself was nice and it was a decent location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot31, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Galway, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Randall O,

Thank you very much for completing a review following your recent stay with us during your Trip to Ireland. I do hope you enjoyed the Break and that it lived up to your expectation. I am please to learn you found the Hotel to be comfortable and in a convenient location. We are fortunate to have a large Leisure Club in the Hotel where we run a wide range of classes both for Hotel Guest and Members of the club, included in this line up is Aqua Aerobics. This was probably the group you encountered in the pool.
We do hope you returned home safely and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dermot Comerford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    242
    84
    34
    19
See reviews for
264
115
16
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed for two nights in February. Lovely rooms and the breakfast was great. Fabulous pool and gym. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough. Loads of kids and obviously very welcome. Only drawback would be location but fine as a gateway.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot31, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Galway, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Rushem,
Thank you for posting a review following your weekend break with us at the Maldron Hotel Galway. I am delighted to get your feedback and appreciate your kind comments.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Maldron Hotel Galway and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Dermot Comerford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed in the Maldron Hotel Galway and really enjoyed the experience, the room was beautifully decorated and very spacious, The Staff at the hotel were very friendly and the food was excellent. Great Hotel for Families also as it has great amenities for Children.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot31, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Galway, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Mazoct1979,
Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us, I really appreciate your kind comments. The staff are delighted to get such recognition from guests who stay in the Hotel.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Maldron Hotel Galway and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Dermot Comerford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed in the Maldron hotel recently on the 14th February for one night. From the minute we checked in to our check out the next morning, everything was perfect. Our room was on the 01st Floor facing the main Galway rd., it was quiet, clean, modern and very comfortable. We went for dinner in the restaurant that night which was decorated lovely given the night it was and was very cosy. The meal was beautiful, starter, mains and desserts and we probably got too much food! We went to the bar for a couple of drinks after dinner and again it was cosy and busy and there was a lovely relaxed atmosphere there. I couldnt fault breakfast the next day, from special requests for my breakfast which were met to the selection of fruits and cereals. The staff we met throughout our staff were all very friendly and pleasant, from the restaurant to the bar to reception. Overall our one night stay was perfect :-) And all this for such a reasonable rate! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot31, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Galway, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear 216JCB,
Thank you for posting a review following your stay with us over Valentines Weekend. I am delighted to learn you enjoyed your time at the hotel and your Dinner and Breakfast experience were both enjoyable.
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Maldron Hotel Galway and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dermot Comerford
General Manager
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Spent a relaxing night in the Maldron, Oranmore recently. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Despite it being half term and the hotel very busy, the service was efficient and the staff friendly and helpful. Food was good too.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My family & I recently stayed at the Maldron Hotel for 2 nights & it was like home away from home for us. When we checked in we met Ciara in reception who was extremely friendly & helpful. As it was my husbands birthday I wanted to have a surprise meal for him & some friends who were coming to meet us so Ciara had it organised for us before we left reception. Our room was spotless & very spacious. The leisure facilities were just perfect for our 2 children. The food was outstanding, both breakfast & dinner was 4* When we went for our "birthday meal" the staff were fantastic, Claire was the lady who looked after us & she couldn't do enough to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. We were only there for 2 nights & we got to know a lot of the staff by name, i honestly have to say it was one of the best stays we've had in a hotel & we have stayed in a lot of family hotels. Would highly recommend it for a break away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot31, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Galway, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Emer M.
Thank you for your kind comments contained in your recent review. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your husbands Birthday celebration at the Hotel. Staff members are always delighted to get recognition and thank you very much for recognising the contribution of Ciara and Claire.
I do hope we will have the pleaseure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dermot Comerford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Having used the Maldron in Oranmore on numerous occasions for meeting customers and colleagues alike because of its fantastic location close to main routes, I had recourse to stay there last week. As a fan of town hotels where one can go for a walk or pub hop, the Maldron wouldn't be a typical choice as it's a bit out of town (Galway not walking distance but Oranmore is about half a mile away). Check in was straightforward though the phone takes precedence over the customer being served - something I find a little irritating. The room was very comfortable and wifi is free with no security code needed (full marks, this should be standard in all hotels these days and surprisingly it's not). Car parking is also free - again something that should be standard in all hotels and used to be until about ten years ago. The short walk to Oranmore was enjoyable and it's a lively little town too. Breakfast was good and the breakfast room conducive to customer meetings too. I will cerainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot31, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Galway, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear John M,
Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay with us at the Maldron Hotel Galway. As a regular user of the Hotel i am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay and are already planning your next visit. We are a 10 to 15 drive away from Galway city centre. There is a good bus and taxi service into the city and we also now have a new train station. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Dermot Comerford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maldron Hotel Galway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Galway

Address: on N6, beside 2nd Roundabout, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Galway 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellently located on the N6, just 10 minutes drive from Galway City. Modern Superior 3 Star hotel with Superb Leisure Club... 20 m Pool, Gym, Therapy Suite etc. 113 spacious bedrooms..... crisp white duvets, T/C Facilities, Sat. TV & Hairdryer. 2 Lifts. Restaurant & Bar .. Food served all day. Free secure car parking. Regular entertainment. Family Friendly....Kids Club weekends & all holidays. Cinema & Bowling next door. Business rates. Conference Rooms. 2 Km from Galway Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Maldron Hotel Galway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Oranmore
Maldron Hotel Galway Oranmore, County Galway, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maldron Hotel Galway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.