We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time here and still they get even better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Claddagh Moon B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Claddagh Moon B&B to your Saves list
Claddagh Moon B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Maree Road, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Oranmore B&B and Inns
Warren, NJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Third time here and still they get even better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Our daughter is in med school in Dublin and we visit her from time to time, but we LOVE Galway and we always find a way to visit and take in the town and its great music. This is our third time to this very clean and modern B & B that gets us into Galway fast and yet we can come here for a quiet nights' sleep and hop down to the pub if we are not that tired out. so it has location and is a great place to center your visit. As usual everything is top drawer. It is clean and well maintained. Rose is a font of knowledge and can put you on the right track regarding Galway. Joe is just a personable and we now, after three times, can actually say that we have some very nice friends in Ireland.

Room Tip: I don't think it makes a difference-we have had three different rooms and all were just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
27
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Great B&B -- My husband and daughter stayed here for 1 night and the rooms were spacious, clean, the owner Rose was friendly, and breakfast was tasty! My daughter also had a great time saying hello to the chickens! We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Midway through our rather awkward and lukewarm stay at the Hanley house (aka Claddagh Moon B&B), I resolved not to leave a review so as not to damage what was clearly a very small family business.  However, we were kept up late while they had loud guests over, right below our room.  Then on our way out the door, we were surprised to receive a healthy dose of political insults and lectures with our breakfast.  Let me be clear, all we wanted was to be fed and settle the bill so we could be on our merry way down the beautiful west coast of Ireland.  We were polite but did not encourage conversation. 
 
This is how our breakfast went: while seating us, Rose chattered on about one subject or another for about 10 minutes, then went to get us tea and chatted for another 5-7 minutes.  Then came toast and non-stop chatter for another 10 minutes or so, etc, etc.  During this diatribe, she managed to lecture us on American politics (and yes, I also know that she lived in NY and has dual citizenship) and insult some of our beloved past presidents, despite our numerous hints (apparently too subtle) that this was not a healthy direction to take conversation in front of this particular couple of Americans.  When we finally had all of our breakfast in front of us, we couldn’t get it down fast enough in our hurry to get back on the road, and suddenly Rose appeared to realize her error and started fishing for compliments or perhaps a clue that we wouldn’t leave her a bad review on TA.  I'm genuinely sorry for the review but feel it's necessary.  

And don’t even try to get directions.  My multiple requests were ignored.  I had to drive down the main street of the village until I recognized the house in the picture.  I’m not kidding. 

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We only stayed one night. had wished we could of stayed longer.
Lovely large clean house, with big sized bedrooms. wonderful food, and friendly owners. will definately visit again

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Spacious room. En-suite bathroom with good shower. Friendly hostess. Nice breakfast served @ 10:30. 15 mins drive to galway city. Good base for the races. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I've just made a flying visit for a funeral. The flight into Galway was very delayed so didn't arrive at Claddagh Moon till 4AM. The host honestly couldn't have been nicer or more gracious. He was exceptionally accomodating, offering to cook a late breakfast. The room was comfy, very clean with a good hot shower. Breakfast was lovely with excellent service. Having only spent 6 hours there I can't comment on much other than the nuts and bolts (i.e. bed and breakfast) but these were spot on. The price was considerably cheaper than any hotel options I had looked at. Absolutely nothing to fault - highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We are a young family with 2 children; ages 10 and 14. We drove from Dingle to Oranmore and stayed 1 night at Claddagh Moon. This is a great B and B. After a very long day of driving, we did not want to contend with city traffic and parking in Galway; making Oranmore a perfect stop. Oranmore is an old village, but it has a more modern, suburban feel to it. This B and B is a 5 min walk to downtown. Very good resturants and pubs; ask Rose about the Itailian resturant (the best tairimusu weve ever had; run by an itailian family). This B and B is a great value for families (quiet but close to town). Rose lived in the USA and is sensitive to USA traveler's needs. Her breakfast is amoung the best we had in our 12 nite vacation in Ireland; full Irish. A great option for the road weary traveller wanting to avoid the bustle of Galway!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Claddagh Moon B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claddagh Moon B&B

Address: Maree Road, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Oranmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Oranmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Claddagh Moon B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Claddagh Moon B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claddagh Moon B&B Oranmore, County Galway, Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Claddagh Moon B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.