We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Basilico Italian Restaurant

Basilico Italian Restaurant
Coach House Hotel | Main Street Oranmore, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Basilico)
+353 91 483 693
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Oranmore
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Welcome to Basilico, Galway's award winning Italian restaurant in the heart of Oranmore. Basilico offers the finest of contemporary Italian cooking in surroundings nothing short of sheer elegance. Translated Basilico is Italian for Basil. This essence has been incorporated in every detail of this charming and sophisticated restaurant and bar; from Paolo Sabatini's creative Italian menus and Fabiano's selected wine list, to the inviting interiors providing comfortable, intimate and memorable experience.
Glenties, Donegal, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Restaurant was very quiet but bistro noisy and busy. Food was excellent really enjoyable. As it was so quiet we felt we were being watched by staff. Quite expensive.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    48
    20
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great little find in out of the way place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Excellent food - true Italian menu with Italians working in the restaurant. Really enjoyed the meal - daughter gluten free and they were very accommodating. Would definitely recommend this place and would eat there again if in the area

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had nice lunch here on a Monday. Rather quiet but pleasant service. I had the tagliatelle linguine which was v tasty. Tiramisu was mouthwatering followed by tea coffee. Price reasonable at €33 for 2 persons

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best meals ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I am extremely fortunate to eat in many excellent restaurants, but the meal created by Paolo last week was one of the best I've every had. As a Loyalty Club member of Basilico , my points allowed for a Tasting Menu. Two of us went to enjoy the experience , and what an understatement that would have been " enjoy " ! The first course was Bruchetta served with with Italian sausage , followed by one of the best Seafood Risotto's we've every tasted ,complete with Prawns and Mussels. There was a course of Scallop's and the limoncello sorbet allowed sufficient cleaning of the Palate before the main course " Sambucco Veal " , served on a bed of very creamed potatoes almost completed our meal. The Veal fell off the marrowbone - and thus far, every Plate was returned to the kitchen , without a crumb on it. Now to the final course, that of Dessert ! Imagine our eyes when Panacotta, Tiramusu , Ice Cream , Hot apple pie arrived - but not looking like Tasting Portions ! Suffice it to say, these plates also were returned sans crumb ..........

We really would like to thank Paolo, Fabiano , Renault for this quite exceptional experience, and rest assured, our aim is to continue our support of Basilico to gain even more points to return for another Tasting Menu in the very near future !

Thank you , thank you , thank you

Paula & Charley

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Could not believe the attitude of the chef”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We generally enjoy a meal in Basilico Oranmore. To be fair the food is good and the staff are friendly. Last night we took my husband's parents there for a meal as it was the last night of their visit. My husband ordered a rare steak and it arrived medium well. He said it was still good steak although it was definitely not rare. I suggested he let our waiter know as the chef might appreciate the feedback We were not intending on sending the steak back. But the waiter agreed that the steak was over cooked and brought it back to the kitchen offering my husband a small piece of rare steak instead. We said honestly there was no need but he took it to the kitchen anyway. He came back with the same plate of half eaten steak and told my husband that the chef disagreed and that the steak was rare! The waiter called the manager to our table who also agreed that the steak was definitely not rare. The attitude of the chef remained unchallenged and honestly our whole evening finished on such a low. We were not unhappy about the meal initially - but when the plate arrived back with the chef's comments we could not believe it! The manager did not charge us for the steak and was very apologetic. Don't let this put you off going to Basilico. We would go there often enough and maybe because of this felt really disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilico Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Oranmore, Galway
 

Been to Basilico Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilico Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.