We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilico Italian Restaurant

Basilico Italian Restaurant
Coach House Hotel | Main Street Oranmore, Oranmore, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Basilico)
+353 91 483 693
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Oranmore
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Doing business, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Basilico, Galway's award winning Italian restaurant in the heart of Oranmore. Basilico offers the finest of contemporary Italian cooking in surroundings nothing short of sheer elegance. Translated Basilico is Italian for Basil. This essence has been incorporated in every detail of this charming and sophisticated restaurant and bar; from Paolo Sabatini's creative Italian menus and Fabiano's selected wine list, to the inviting interiors providing comfortable, intimate and memorable experience.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Excellent menu, beautiful food at great prices. The staff are so friendly & never rush you, even at the end of the night! Small carpark beside the hotel but plenty of parking nearby. Great takeaway menu too

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    55
    21
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“it is a really new food experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

i have been to basilico in oranmore many times now and each time has been brilliant!! Most recently I booked with them for a family meal . The food was lovely, fresh with generous portions.I had a creamy broccoli soup and the popular garlic cheese bread, as starter ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!! SO TASTY, as main course ive tried the Risotto with butternut squash and fresh prawns! DELICIOUS. to complete my dinner i had panna cotta and an espresso. also the service was excellent, the staff very warm and friendly. my family loved it. and what a price!!!! they really know how to manage in this hard time.Everyone who came said just how nice a place it is . I would reccomend anybody to go here for a meal with friends or family or even on a night out. This really is such a nice place to go for birthdays, meals, nights out, or just to try the feeling to be in italy. GO BASILICO!!!!!!!!1..........cant wait to try the new one in clarenbridge at the famous "old school house" just at the door of the village, everybody talk about it as a little treat!!!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“great craic and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Myself and my girlfriend had a most memorable experience at the basilico last thursday night, upon arrival we were greated by a very well spoken italian gentleman who was very effecient in showing us to our table, informing us of the nights special which were halibut and sea bream freshly caught.
My girlfriend had the halibut while I took the pasta bosciola. But of us agreed that the food was fantastic, the best weve had in galway for a long time, only way it could be better was if we were actually in italy!!!!! the sparkling wine that our waiter denis recommended was also lovely, it was a bottle of pinot grigio sparkling blush, it really complimented the food. we will ddefinatly return soon and well worth al look for any one curious about it.
Keep up the work lads and we will keep coming back.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway, ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“could be better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

myself and my wife ate here earlier today
the place was nearly empty when we got here
its a nice place overall with plenty of tvs in the bar to cater for sports fans
we both ordered beef and all two slices were cut wafter thin, were very
tough and very fatty overall and it came with a tiny amount of food which
a small child would be hungry after
The waitress offered to bring it back but i declined as i hadnt the time to wait.
We have eaten here before and it was very good but were ordered tea bone steaks
the last time so on four occasions here it was good twice and bad twice when
we had beef.
the food is averagely priced and we paid the full price even though they knew
we weren't happy.
It seemed the staff there were only going through the motions and didn't really
care a whole lot but i know some of the other staff whom ive dealt with in the past
are quite the opposite.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing customer service - won't be back.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Our night out was ruined when a waitress spilt a glass of red wine all over me, she apologoised but management did not. I complained to manager when I asked for the bill, he was rude and walked away - but came back and dropped the full bill on the table and walked away again. Not pleasant sitting in wet clothese for 45 mins while waiting for the meal to arrive. Night ruined, clothes ruined!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilico Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Basilico Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilico Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.