We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming thatched cottage with turf-burning stove” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Teach Ceann Tui

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ardara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Teach Ceann Tui
Save
You added Teach Ceann Tui to your Saves list
Shanaghan, Ardara, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Ardara B&B and Inns
Berkshire, UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Charming thatched cottage with turf-burning stove”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Thatched cottages are rarer than you'd expect in Ireland, given the images on Bord Failte (Irish Tourist Board) so it's a pleasant surprise to find Teach Ceann Tui a couple of kilometres from the pleasant village of Ardara. The bed in the cottage bedroom is comfortable, the attached sitting-room cosy. Turf is helpfully provided for the stove. The second bedroom - along a short corridor, near the bathroom - is a bit of a disappointment ( probably suitable only for children although it could take a couple who didn't mind being a bit cramped) and the bathroom is basic - shower, wash-hand basin, lavatory. The breakfast is excellent. Free wi-fi. Friendly and helpful hosts.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Had the pleasure of staying in this charming and oh so comfortable cottage for 2 nights with my 5 year old and my mum. It's by far the best B&B I've ever stayed in.

Beautiful accommodation, great breakfast, reasonable rates, family friendly, freshly baked cookies on arrival and free WIFI...what more can you ask for!! The hosts, Paul and Sam were so helpful and friendly but never intrusive. Paul kept the fire going for us during the day while we were out exploring!

We found it very hard to leave a place so warm and inviting, we hope to stay longer on our next visit. My daughter had the best time playing in the garden with Paul and Sam's lovely children.

I would highly recommend Teach Ceann Tui to anyone wishing to visit Ardara or Donegal in general.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed two nights here. What a beautifully appointed little cottage. We enjoyed the private little sitting room in front of a cozy little stove each night. Our hosts were extremely helpful with local shops, sights, and restaurants. It was a very relaxing location and so comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent as well. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We drove from Bushmills in North Ireland to Ardara just to stay in a traditional thatched roof cottage. Our host family was delightful and the setting glorious. Breakfast more than met my husband's gluten free needs and mine as well. This is the real deal!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, even though short. The family atmosphere was very relaxing, facilities and breakfast were good, the hens friendly, the views terrific and the cottage with everything the traveller wants. We'd recommend Teach Ceann Tui to anybody planning a Donegal visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

A stay in this lovely cottage home combines friendly, intelligent informal hospitality with gorgeous views from an authentic thatched cottage that also provides every creature comfort with sophisticated but relaxed furnishings. Add a generous cooked breakfast and as much privacy or conversation and touring suggestions as you may like and you have the best of both worlds, B&B or self catered accommodation. Reasonable rates and very family friendly environment. Excellent base for getting to know Donegal in its multifaceted character. We enjoyed beach walks with spectacular mountain views, a magical ring fort, upland rambles near Glenveagh NP, the truly awesome cliffs of Slieve League, great towns and set dancing. After 9 trips to Ireland, we would say Teach Ceann Tui can't be beat. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farranfore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We received a very good welcome on our arrival and our hosts were very friendly throughout our stay.
Whilst they were always on hand for any assistance they gave us our privacy.
The fact of having our own little cottage and breakfast to boot was indeed excellent.
We would have stayed longer but they were fully booked.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Teach Ceann Tui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teach Ceann Tui

Address: Shanaghan, Ardara, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ardara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ardara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive bed and breakfast in a thatched cottage in County Donegal, Ireland. Beaches, horse riding, surfing, fishing, hill walking, golf, river & sea fishing all nearby. Large garden and own private sitting room. Kids stay free! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teach Ceann Tui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.