We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway but don't eat there” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woodhill House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Woodhill House to your Saves list
Woodhill House
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Donegal Rd. | Woodhill, Ardara, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Ardara B&B and Inns
Mornington, County Meath, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Getaway but don't eat there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Beautiful and charming old big house in a romantic setting. There was one very friendly and helpful member of staff, who tried to make up of the mistakes of the other. Food was over priced and disappointing. Maybe we just caught a bad day there. We stayed for 1 night in early August.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    33
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
65
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Eating out ANYWHERE in Donegal tends to be a hit & miss experience: brilliant on one occasion - awful the next. My experience of the Woodhill, over a period of 25 years, leans very much towards the brilliant. I've had a fair few memorably excellent meals here, a substantial number of good to very good ones and never a bad one. I have also (and this is almost unheard of in Ireland, especially Donegal) NEVER experienced poor service. Trying to retain a chef in an out of the way establishment must be a nightmare - I dined twice this year (2012) the first in July and the second last week (early Sept), by which time they were on to their fourth chef. And he was superb. The Woodhill is a "manor" style house, brimming with that thing called "old-world charm". If you don't like antique furniture and talking in whispers then, sadly, it's not for you. If you do like well-mannered hosts and waiting staff, a delicious three course menu for a reasonable 38 euro (NO SUPPLEMENTS!!!), a log fire in the lounge and a decent wine list, then don't miss out. I cannot comment on B&B as I have not stayed overnight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Louth, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very nice b and b. The room was quaint with a beautiful antique bed. Lovely old furniture was dotted throughout the house. Breakfast was excellent.
We ate our evening meal in the restaurant, that was a mistake, the food was not of restaurant standard and was overpriced.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We only spent one night but wish it would have been longer. A lovely warm and friendly greating, with nothing seeming to be a trouble. John, James and all the staff made us welcome. The evening meal after a long day driving was wounderful and this meal and breakfast were able to be adapted to vegan with no fuss or bother. The house, rooms and garden complement each other and fit in wonderfully. We stayed in the converted stables and there was more than enough room to host a dance party. Worth a Stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our recent stay at Woodhill House was enjoyable and excellant value. Our garden view room was large airy and very comfortable with views from the balcony of the blackspot free roses!! The house and gardens are very much a family home and any small signs of being lived just adds to the charm. The owners arecharming and welcoming hosts and take an obvious pride in providing a great sevice. Dinner was excellent -- fresh local produce cooked and presented imaginatively. The oysters were wonderful and dessert exceptional and I dont usually have a sweet!! Breakfast could do with more fresh fruit and maybe stronger coffee but was freshly cooked using quality ingredients. I almost didnt write this review as I want to keep such a special place secret but the friendly hard working owners so deserve our support!! We certainly intend to return to this lovely tranquil hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at Woodhill House, whenever we visit North of Ireland we always schedule in a stay here.
The house is like being in an old family home for which you are made to feel a very special guest. We stayed this time in a room in the old coach house, It was spacious & comfortable with an en-suite shower/toilet. We had a great nights sleep and before breakfast had a lovely walk in the gardens which were beautiful & peaceful with wonderful views.
The house is a 20 minute walk from Ardara town where you can sit in various bars & listen to traditional music - fantastic.
We enjoy the ambience of Woodhill House which is due to the attention of the hosts/owners John & his son James. The bar is in the house's living room but is well stocked, the night we stayed there was live music in the bar. The food is fabulous Irish breakfast was huge, fresh, hot & tasty with loads of coffee/tea & orange juice.
Our evening meal was 3 courses €38 each, food was very tasty & well presented.
All in all great stay & food looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Looking for somewhere new to eat in Ardara on Saturday 2nd June, we stumbled on the best kept secret in Ardara "Woodhill House". This secluded country house looked very inviting on arrival in the car park, and despite not having booked we were invited into the bar for a drink and didnt have to wait very long before it was confirmed that a table was available.

We both chose fish, local wild salmon and silver hake, accompanied by fresh, colourful vegetables wonderfully presented. For dessert the pear in red wine with ice cream was delicious ( a little more ice cream would be nice).

A very reasonably priced menu, pint of beer and glass of Merlot - all in all a wonderful dining experience in comfortable and cosy surroundings. The Staff were so friendly and attentive. Will definately visit again - soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodhill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodhill House

Address: Donegal Rd. | Woodhill, Ardara, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ardara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ardara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodhill House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Woodhill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodhill House Hotel Ardara
Woodhill Hotel Ardara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodhill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.