We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm family atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gort Na Mona B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gort Na Mona B & B to your Saves list
Gort Na Mona B & B
Donegal Road | Cronkeerin, Ardara, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Ardara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm family atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our visit to the lovely town of Ardara in July was made more memorable by our stay at Gort Na Mona. We were warmly welcomed by Fiona and her children when we arrived and shown to a comfortable and well appointed room. Fiona suggested we head to the beach as it was a beautiful warm day and we headed out with her directions to one of the most beautiful beaches we've ever seen. That evening Laurence had more suggestions for dinner and musical entertainment and the next morning he gave us directions to area sights. Breakfast was delicious and served in a bright and sunny room where we enjoyed the company of the other guests. The children were adorable and one would never know they were in the house they were so quiet. Staying at this B & B was a great way to meet a delightful Irish family. We would like to return to Ardara in the future and would definitely stay at Gort Na Mona.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire, uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here - unfortunately only one night - for B & B on our trip around the Northern Coast of Ireland. We could not have been made more welcome, a wonderful Irish breakfast, tips concerning things to see in the locality, and really beautiful colour-coordinated rooms in a very clean and bright home. I would recommend to fellow travellers, but also to try and stay longer than we did! I hope we shall return one day for a longer visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a lovely B and B - Fiona is lovely, as are her family.The room was comfortable and had everything you would need and the breakfast was good too. It's in a lovely quiet country setting outside Ardara with great views. The only slight downside is you have to drive to get a meal in Ardara - but the quality of the accommodation makes that well worth it.

Room Tip: We were in the attached purpose built accommodation in an upstairs room with a great view of the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Gort Na Mona. House was extremely clean, food wonderful, facilities to match any good hotel. But nothing matched the welcome and friendliness of the hosts Fiona and Laurence. We got lost and Laurence had to come and find us which was no trouble to him at all. We 4 ladies would highly recommend the B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms were brilliant. We stayed in the annex which had been newly decorated and felt like home
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The woodwork is warm and bright like the gracious host Fiona, who met us and showed us around the B&B. The place has everything you need in a rural setting. The shower was full power. The breakfast was delicious and convivial among the guests. Laurence gave me a special treat as he grew up speaking Irish. We exchanged a few words i Gaeilge as I am learning the same in the USA. Turned out he already knew another guest was learning Irish so he helped her and I test our phrases. When we were stuck or goofed a pronunciation, he quietly said what was required or what we meant to say, facilitating the conversation. Very fun! He also gave us driving advice about shortest routes that saved us a lot of time later that day. Wonderful place in a great region.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a cozy B&B surrounded by nature. Facilities were super clean, well equipped and very inviting. Fiona & her family made sure we felt right at home. Expect a free evening drink in the guest lounge, help with your travel plans or other needs and a delicious breakfast served in a comfortable breakfast room with a fireplace. The location was fantastic. A few minutes drive take you into the next town with restaurants and an ATM machine. Ardara is also the starting point for a couple of exiting drives over mountain passes, through high country valleys, to beaches and cliffs. We were glad we booked this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalwijk, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

During our hiking trip "Sli Cholmcille" we stayed in the Gort Na Mona B&B. A warm welcome from from Fiona & Laurence. A very comfortable room with a great Full Irish Breakfast. When starting our hiking trip Laurence brought us to the start point; a great service. We could leave our car on their premises during our trip. We made a reservation for a second night at the end of the week. However, we had to cancell the reservation due to the bad weather. This was no problem at all; again a great service. All by all we felt welcome in this very good B&B, with great service, nice clean rooms and as said before a great breakfast.

If we go back to Ardara we would certainly go back to the Gort Na Mona.

Hans Heijkant, The Netherlands

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gort Na Mona B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gort Na Mona B & B

Address: Donegal Road | Cronkeerin, Ardara, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Ardara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ardara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gort Na Mona B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gort Na Mona B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.