We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Wedding Venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rathmullan House

Save Saved
You added Rathmullan House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rathmullan House
Lough Swilly, Rathmullan, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Rathmullan
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My brother got married in Rathmullan House last weekend and I have to say it was one of the best experiences we have ever had. The wedding party took over the house for the duration and the Wheeler family & their team made us feel like we were part of their extended family, they could not do enough for any of us & even let the sing songs go on until very late in the night.

The food was also some of the best food we have ever eaten, from brekfast to the wedding meal everything was delicious and this coming from a couple who work in hotels & who are very hard to please.

In short this was a perfect weekend and I would like to just once again thank everyone at Rathmullan house for making it such a memorable one.

Room Tip: Any rooms facing the front, especially those rooms on the ground floor that have the outside seating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the wedding here with us. With exclusive weddings we want all guests to feel at home. It is lovely to see from your review that you all recognised and appreciated this. Best wishes once again to your brother and his wife and we hope to see you all back sometime in the near future. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    48
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
51
112
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Rathmullan House 19th and 20th April had a wonderful stay first time here we had a beautiful room room 39 could not fault the food was excellent and the service second to none very peaceful quiet surroundings just what my husband and I had wanted. The surroundings are beautiful you can walk down onto the beach in 2 minutes. Beautiful sitting rooms to relax in. Must mention Stephen in the bar very friendly and attentive both nights. One small gripe is the 10 % service charge if you eat in the restaurant I like to tip myself and usually always do except if service is poor would not have expected it to be here and it was excellent however It irks me that it is expected rather than earned. In conclusion we had a lovely stay and will most definitely be back. Thanks to all.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed on your kind words to Stephen who is a new addition to our workforce. We appreciate your comments regarding the 10% service charge. We always state this charge on the confirmation emails. If for whatever reason, guests do not feel the service was up to scratch then we are willing to remove it from thier final bill. We hope to see you again soon and thanks again. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed for a few days as a birthday present.....wonderful.hotel, 3 drawing rooms with roaring fires, and another in the bar, lots of comfy sofas to chill in if it's raining ( hey it's Donegal!) while sipping a glass of wine....great food - and bar food ...and a beach at the end of the garden....lovely room.

Room Tip: We took a superior room - great views over the garden and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the birthday celebrations. Glad you liked the warmth and cosyness of the fires in the lounges. We hope to see you again soon and fingers crossed for better weather next time. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I've visited Rathmullan House twice now - once for an overnight stay and a second time to stay locally with friends and call into the hotel in passing. I'm counting down the days until my next visit.

Without a doubt the classiest hotel I've ever stayed at - with a distinct elegance and a real sense of pride in the family business. The house is steeped in history, full to the brim with character and charm. Rooms are spacious, immaculate and very comfortable.

Friends and I ate dinner in the fabulous Weeping Elm restaurant and were served prosecco and canopes in the drawing room beforehand which was a real treat. Breakfast was a feast and lovely to look out on the hotel gardens over coffee in the morning. We also made a few trips to the quirky Cellar Bar which is great for hearty bar food and maybe a cheeky Guinness in the afternoon. As if that's not enough, there's also luxury high tea served in the library, with warm home-made scones and delicious jam. Pure indulgence!

The hotel overlooks a stunning lake - Loch Swilly - and a short walk across the hotel grounds will lead you right to the beach, which stretches for miles along the gorgeous Donegal coastline. The quaint little town of Rathmullan also offers a selection of cute cafes and pubs and again is only a stroll from the hotel.

A final point worth a mention is the self-sufficiency of the place, which really blew me away. The hotel boasts gardens bursting with seasonal fruit and veg which will appear on your dinner plate the same evening. I'm told the chefs and staff also partake in scallop diving and mushroom foraging, and I just love the passion and personal touch that brings to your stay.

I can't recommend this place enough, and am always encouraging friends and family to take a trip. The price will set you back a bit but is guaranteed not to disappoint and you will get every penny's worth in sunny walks along the beach, the smell of fresh scones and friendly attentive service from the staff.

Put this on your list of places to visit this year!

Room Tip: If you're travelling with furry friends - the hotel has special pet-friendly accommodation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on our homely feel, good food and relaxing warm atmosphere. It is lovely to see it being recognised and appreciated. We hope to see you soon again. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have just returned from celebrating another family occasion with a lovely meal in Rathmullan House. As ever, the staff were really friendly and attentive. They knew exactly what we needed and the atmosphere was very relaxing, in really gracious but comfortable surroundings. The food was delicious, with plenty of choices for all ages - children to great-grandparents! The downside was the March weather - a pity we couldn't enjoy a run on the adjoining beach!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal. We always strive to make special occasions memorable. We hope to see you again soon. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have just returned from yet another superb stay in Rathmullan. We have been going there for over 20 years and while everythings stays the same it just gets better and better. From arrival to departure everything went well.. Breakfast is a feast. Beautiful breads a choice of cereal, poached fruits from their own garden, plus other fruits and yougurts. There is also a great choice of cooked breakfasts plus porridge and fresh orange juice.
Dinner is a wonderful experience. Relax in one of the 3 drawing rooms have a pre-dinner drink and then stroll into the dining room for a gourmet experience. The hotel's Walled Garden supplies most of the vegetables, salads, fruit and potatoes. The meat and fish are locally sourced and are cooked with great skill and care.
For leisure there's a swimming pool, tennis court, croquet on the lawn and miles of walks and drives to explore. One of the nicest things to do while there is to take a walk through the Walled Garden. We had the pleasure of meeting Joe who told us all about the regieme which keeps the hotel supplied. He said we should watch out for Bob who would give us more detail but unfortunately we missed him this time.
The staff at Rathmullan are all excellent discrete helpful and pleasant. It is a most wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms in the old house are all different and have a charm of their own. Those in the new wing ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in our food and it is wonderful to see it is appreciated. It's a pity you didn't meet Bob as he would have been more than happy to share his knowledge with you. Hopefully next time though and thanks again. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We called for coffee and scones and we were warmly welcomed. We sat in a lounge by the fireside and were served coffee, scones, butter,jam and cream. Very nice it was too. The House is lovely though probably in need of some redecoration....can't judge as we were just having coffee but certainly the ambience was comfortable and relaxing...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan4, Receptionist at Rathmullan House, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your coffee with us. Our scones are made in house daily. Bob has been making our jams for 50 year's. Why not join our 'Friends of Rathmullan' to sample and enjoy some of other features. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rathmullan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathmullan House

Address: Lough Swilly, Rathmullan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Rathmullan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Rathmullan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rathmullan House is situated on the shores of Lough Swilly in Co. Donegal. With a 2 mile sandy beach at the bottom of the gardens it is a perfect spot to enjoy the outdoors. All 32 bedrooms are individually styled from romantic garden rooms to adjoining family rooms. The Weeping Elm Restaurant provides a fine setting for Kelan McMichaels modern cooking as well as the award winning breakfast for which Rathmullan is justly famous. Menus are based on using the freshest ingredients in season from local artisan producers and from the hotels walled garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Rathmullan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathmullan House Hotel Rathmullan
House Rathmullan
Rathmullan Hotel
Rathmullan House Ireland - County Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rathmullan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.