We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming waterside hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Innishannon House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Innishannon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Innishannon House Hotel
Save
You added Innishannon House Hotel to your Saves list
Main Street, Innishannon, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Innishannon
AngloIrish007
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming waterside hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I frequently make the road trip from Dublin to Schull in West Cork and always make a point of stopping at the Innishannon House Hotel. It is only a 3 minute detour off the N71 which passes through the village. The hotel looks out over its gardens to a wide stretch of the river Bandon. It is a very beautiful and peaceful setting to watch bands of ducks floating by. The staff are very welcoming without being intrusive and nothing is too much trouble. They serve food throughout the day and offer very good value. We have never been disappointed. I have seen the rooms which look very comfortable and it would make the perfect destination for a week-end to recharge the batteries. My only regret is that I am always en route to visit relatives or returning home and never have the opportunity to stay for a night.

I have recommended it without hesitation to all my friends who have unanimously thanked me later.

In short it is a perfectly located very well run family hotel that makes you feel welcome whether you are visiting for a cup of tea or staying for a week.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    14
    7
    7
    11
See reviews for
17
34
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Had a wedding there and the food and wedding staff was excellant. the prolems begun wgen it was time to use the bedroom facilities. We went up to the bedroom at 4am and the bedroom was freezing so we had to ring down at reception to get a portable heater. then we couldn't find the remote or get any channels on the telly. Again we called down to reception and the receptionist
(who was the owners son) came up and couldn't find the remote so came up with three other remotes. None of which worked. So he manually went through the channels. there was meant to be seven channels but he could only find two. Then we decided to have tea and there was no kettle in the room. again we had to call down to reception to get tea. So the room was freezing cold and had no remote control or tea making facilities. these are very basic things required in any hotel room. This wouldn't be such a big deal except for they charged 130 euro for the room when the room wasn't even worth 30. On the upside the receptionist/owners son was very obliging and did everything he could to help us out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Really happy with our weekend break here. The location and beautiful setting of this hotel gave everything we wanted for a relaxing get away. Our room was very comfortable and a nice size. The country night stillness gave me the most restful sleep I had in a while. Then waking up and opening the curtains to a beautiful view overlooking the lovely gardens leading down to the river was a great start to our day. Breakfast had a good choice, served in a homely atmosphere.
The staff were very nice, and very helpful in providing information on what to do in the area (which is plenty). We chose a day trip into Kinsale, with a quick detour into Bandon on the way back. An enjoyable day. Back in the hotel, the bar offered a lovely relaxing drink by the open fire. The menu for evening meal had a bit of choice and the food served was excellent.
Will return there again in the summer to better enjoy the gardens and the country walks around the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungiven, Co Derry
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A really picturesque setting beside the River Bandon. Our rooms were beautifully furnished, comfortable and full of character - in keeping with the overall homely, relaxing ambience. We stayed on a B&B and evening meal basis. The menu catered well for our varied tastes and the food was excellent, served by very friendly and efficient staff. Would love to return late summer and try a spot of fishing from the jetty at the bottom of the garden.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor and it was excellent. Our children's room was differently appointe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed in this hotel (two couples) on Friday night January 24th 2013 on a B&B -evening meal basis. The building is country house style dating back to1720 and has a lot of character and "ye olde" charm. The surrounding grounds, on the banks of the river Bandon, are really picturesque and I am sure that, in summer time, they are even nicer still. The hotel location is an excellent one for touring other resorts in the beautiful West Cork.
Facilities in the hotel are generally great. The bedrooms are very large and comfortable and the standard of hygiene throughout the hotel was excellent during our short stay. However, if you are very tall, you should avoid rooms in the attic ( 3rd story) area as it is difficult to stand up straight in the showers due to the sloping shape of the roof.
Dinner was a little bit disappointing, 5 out of 10 marks, but then it was the off season! Breakfast was as one would expect, nicely cooked and well presented, 10 out of 10.
The televisions in both rooms were flat screen and up to date, however we could only access 2 or 3 channels max on each and could not get RTE1? I asked one of the staff about this but he could not offer any constructive help. We came to the conclusion that the problem was tuning but neither room had the original remote controls (only universal ones) so tuning the sets ourselves was not possible.
Also, the hotel does not have an elevator so it is not be suitable for people with walking difficulties.
To finish on a positive note, the staff were excellent, most welcoming and helpful and were the most friendly of any hotel we have ever stayed in both locally and internationally. We enjoyed our brief stay very much.

Room Tip: Avoid the top story rooms if you are tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here in May 2011 and I can still remember the awesome location even after all this time, the hotel is located in such peaceful and relaxing area it was lovely. We had the pleasure of staying in a top floor room which was round and so beautifully furnished, the bedroom was very comfortable. My only quibble about the whole stay was that my partner (all 6 foot of him) couldn't stand up straight in the shower but we did laugh about it as we had such a lovely stay. The owner served us that night in the bar and we both found the food very enjoyable. Would love to stay here again

Room Tip: Maybe request a room below the roof level if you are tall as the roof slopes inside the bathrooms bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneR854, Manager at Innishannon House Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We at Innishannon House Hotel very much appreciate your comments and strive to improve to make your next stay all the more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Last week we had a wedding reception at the Innishannon House Hotel for our daughter.It was an great success & many guests who we spoke to or have written since were full of praise for the lovely setting,the nice feel about the place, the good food & prompt service.The hallway & stairs looked lovely weth the holly& ivy decorations as did the tables at the reception.The open fire in the bar drew many favourable comments.My wife & I stayed for a night a few months before the wedding & the wedding night & found everything to our expectations.It is nice to see a family run hotel with the owners having such a hands on approach. Many thanks to Margaret & Shane for making the wedding such a memorable occasion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Innishannon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innishannon House Hotel

Address: Main Street, Innishannon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Innishannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Innishannon
Number of rooms: 25

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innishannon House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.