We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin to your Saves list
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dalkey Ave, Killiney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killiney
Dublin
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Rather disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed here last weekend with a group of friends. 5 of us checked in together, 1 double room, 1 twin room and a single. What a difference in the rooms. The single room on the 1st floor looked like a little girls room, small and flowery but 'cute' if you like that kind of thing. The double room on the 5th floor - room 520, has not been renovated in many years. It is a small dark depressing room with 80's style décor and the bathroom tiles have not been limescaled in many a year plus a cracked tile on the floor. Big old fashioned TV. View of weeds growing on the roof below. The best of the bunch by far was the twin room on the 3rd floor. Lovely décor, flat screen TV, nice linens on the bed - very nice room. Incredibly, all rooms cost the same and were booked the same way. When I pointed this out to young man on check out, his comment was that I must have booked online? Don't think I would be bothered staying here again, there are too many hotels out there much nicer and cheaper. Disappointing experience
Nice comfortable chairs/couches in lobby area.

Room Tip: Do not take room 520 is you are offered unless it has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear TravellingAnnie007

I am very sorry to read that the room you were allocated was not one of our refurbished rooms, we have an ongoing refurbishment programme happening in the hotel at the moment and while we have already completed over 80% of our rooms there are still some rooms that will be addressing over the coming months. I am very concerned that a member of the team here would refer to online bookings in that way as I can assure you that we value all bookings regardless of how they were booked.
I do hope we will re-consider returning to the Castle
Kind regards
Nicky Logue
Director/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    238
    126
    46
    28
See reviews for
191
320
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed for two night in late April 2013. We were very disappointed with this Hotel. The rooms were old and worn and so were the bathrooms. Breakfast was very average and so was the dinner. This is a hotel that need huge renovations and also the colour in the outside needs to be changed from its current reddish purple to something more natural with a castle setting. This is a hotel that cannot survive unless it will urgently get a huge upgrade.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Group T
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us and I am sorry that you were disappointed with the hotel. We continue to invest in the property and in the coming weeks will completely refurbish our Lobby and ground floor with new carpet and a full redecoration.
Should you be returning to the area on business again, please contact me directly so I can ensure you are allocated a refurbished room
Kind regards
Nicky Logue
Director-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Carpet was pretty threadbare and walls were cracked. Bed was big and comfortable but after the plane flight I think I could have slept anywhere. Very close to big park with obelisk that had amazing views. Food at hotel was very good and service from staff was excellent. Hotel could just stand some updates.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Matt Gorman

Thank you for your comments, we are indeed very fortunate with our location just beside Killiney Hill overlooking Dublin Bay. I am glad to read you enjoyed our service and food while staying with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle on another occasion
Kind regards
Nicky Logue
Director/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

While the accommodations were not bad, this is not a "real" castle, but appears to be a manor house with several additions and a watch that appears to be a castle wall. We were disappointed that after paying more than $100 euros (not exactly outrageously expensive, but more so than a good B&B) that we were simply in a hotel.
We were greeting by Nick, a very kind and friendly fellow who was eager to help with luggage and show us our room. Rebecca checked us in a gave us a superior room, but it overlooked the garbage collection area. No bad smells, but we were forced to keep our curtains closed. No view at all.
There was free WIFI and the connection was good. Breakfast was quoted at $12 euros each, a bit expensive, especially when there are so many good cafes less than a mile away.
Rooms were clean, bathrooms were large, and the beds were comfortable. No complaints, but beware that this is a hotel, not a castle.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the front face of the hotel. The back has no views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Travelbuff 97

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. It appears you were allocated one of our Executive rooms, while these rooms are very large and spacious unfortunately they do not have a view. I am sorry that we were not able to move you to a balcony room. The original Castle does date back to 1741, however over the years additional wings have been added to it.
I do hope you enjoyed your visit to Ireland
Kind regards
Nicky Logue
Director/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I'like this hotel very match. Nice design, lovely place around the hotel and near is very big kid's playground.
Food in restaurant is tasty but problem with the lunch - only sandwiches are available, problem with food for kids.only french fries ,but in evening is good kids menu.

Room Tip: Try choose room with sea view and big room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Nata-Rus
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing a review of your stay in Killiney. At lunchtime we have a full bar menu which includes hot dishes as well as sandwiches I am very sorry that you were not able to avail of this menu for your family
Hopefully we will get another opportunity to welcome you back to the Castle
Kind regards
Nicky Logue
Director/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel was our last stop in a week long tour of Ireland. We enjoyed our time here though this hotel had a much different feel from any other we stayed in. Beds were the most comfortable of the whole trip and I slept wonderfully!
Perhaps it was because we were there on a weekend while there were weddings and parties going on but the hotel was very crowded and bustling! It was a little hard to get waited on at the Dungeon Bar. Food and drinks we did have were great though! In hindsight I would have liked to end our trip at a smaller, more quiet locale but can't complain about the hotel overall!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Lynnae
Thank you for taking the time to write to us and I am glad you enjoyed your stay both in Ireland and at the Castle. Thankfully we are busy especially at weekends and usually midweek can be quieter.
I am delighted to read that you had a good nights sleep
Kind regards
Nicky Logue
Director/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alltech@elivefree.net
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

stayed there over Easter with my family, husband and two teenage sons. We wanted to be near Dublin but wanted the experience of a resort hotel as it were i.e. a hotel that has all amenities. We were initially attracted by the fact it had a pool/leisure facilites but as it happens we didn't use them. We were too busy communiting to and from Dublin City but also for some reason the fact that you can see into the pool area from the lounge/reception area we found a little off putting. The bar in the dungeon (basement) was pleasant if a little claustrophobic and the entertainment on both nights was mediocre with little atmosphere. We dined in the grill restaurant on the first night (included in our package) and both I and my husband enjoyed the food although the main course portions were very small, my teenage sons did not enjoy theirs. one son had very mediocre chicken goujons and the second boy had a 17 euro burger (sons food not included in the deal) which had a burnt cold bun and burger with red/pink meat in the middle, needless to say when we saw how under done it was we did complain. They offered us another main course for him but he declined and kudos to them they didn't charge us. however the main compalint i would have was how ridicously slow and inept the service was. afer ordering my starter we waited 20 minutes for the wine and table water to appear and that was only after having had to get up from our table twice to alert a waiter. the starters came promptly enought after that - but again we had to wait almost half an hour for our main course and once finished another twenty minutes for our plates to be cleared and our dessert order to be taken. There seemed to be plenty of staff on duty so I cannot understand the slowness of service except that we were in a corner area out of site from the main part of restaurant and thus forgotten about. The room was adequate, large enough, airy and very important for teenagers - had sufficent amount of channels to keep them happy. Staff were pleasant enought if not overly friendly or helpful. suffice to say, if i had to stay in killiney,dalkey area I would recommend - not many other choices, but if one wants to have main activity in dublin city then I would definitely suggest some where closer to the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickyLogue, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Iseult
I am very disappointed and concerned to read about your experience while dining in our Grill Restaurant, I will be addressing all points raised with our management team here.
I hope you did get to enjoy the village of Dalkey and walks on Killiney hill while you were with us, and that overall getting in and out of the city was not too stressful for you and your family.
Prehaps on another occasion you might consider returning to the Castle and if you are please contact me directly.
Kind regards
Nicky Logue
Director/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin

Address: Dalkey Ave, Killiney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Killiney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Killiney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzpatrick Castle Dublin is the epitome of the elegance and charm of the south Dublin coast. The only hotel located in the fashionable suburbs of Killiney and Dalkey, overlooking Dublin Bay. Fitzpatrick Castle is only 9 miles/20 minutes from downtown Dublin. Luxurious bedrooms and suites decorated in the traditional castle style are also renovated to the highest spec with ISDN lines and in-house entertainment system in all rooms. Wireless broadband Internet access is available in most public areas of hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzpatrick Castle Killiney
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin Ireland/Killiney, County Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.