We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas party stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club to your Saves list
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Bray, Ireland (Formerly The Royal Hotel Bray)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bray
wicklow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Christmas party stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a 1 night stay as part of their christmas party night. €35 pps. We booked a triple room.
Parking in the hotel is €5 for night but is very small carpark & when i arrived at 6pm i got the last available space.
I met with my 2 friends in reception & checked in. Girl on reception was friendly and advised us on wifi etc. We went to our room first which was room 142 right at the very end of the hotel. The corridor as we went to our room was cold and decor look tired & in need of some tlc. When we opened the door of our room the cold hit us. The room was freezing. The only heating was an old fashion air conditioning unit. We turned on the unit but the heat was very poor for such a large room. There was no radiator in the bathroom. The wash hand basin had a large crack in it & the towel rail was coming away from the wall. There was also no bin in the bathroom. In the bedroom were 2 double beds & a fold up camp bed like what you would see in a very old fashioned campsite. Not worth paying €35 for.

Thank god i'd showered before i arrived as it was so cold you couldnt shower comfortably. We headed to our party at 7.30pm in the hotel & left the "heating" on full blast to try heat the room while we were away from the room.

We arrived back to our room at 2am to find the room had still not heated up & was still cold.

Breakfast the following morning was in service until 11am which was great as most hotels are only until 10am. On entering the restaurant we noticed a few people in their coats. We obviously were not the only ones suffering.

Breakfast was full irish with choice cereal etc and couldnt complain about it. The only complaint was we had to ask for tea coffee & toast.

After breakfast we checked out. We did say to reception about how cold our stay was. I think it was the manager that came over to us (she didnt introduce herself) when we complained we were asked why we didnt mention it to staff the night before & they could've done something then. We said we thought the room wouldve heated up in the hours we were away from the room & when it didnt the last thing you want to do at 2am is start looking for someone to complain to. She said we shouldve done something the night before. She then went on to say that room 142 was a recently refurbished room. If that was the case i would hate to see the rooms that are awaiting refurbishment. We got offered nothung in way of compensation or apology.

Overall i dont think i would be back to stay which is a shame as it could be a lovely welcoming hotel. We've been attending their xmas party nights for a number of years but this is the first time we decided to stay over.

Its one of the only main hotel in Bray town but i definitely would think before booking to stay again.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    146
    116
    127
    148
See reviews for
154
206
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So dirty in toilet areas, bar and reception okay. Food okay but not great. Grim to say the least. Rooms very old and dirty. Wall paper coming off the walls. Worst place to stay ever. Had my two kids with me. Games room all locked up having to ask for key.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i stayed in the Royal recently...It was fine..clean-ish, rooms was warm..could do with a little updating.there was a terrible draft in the windows of the bedroom and there was lots of stains on the walls..the shower leaked out onto the floor...Staff were friendly...Food in the bar was nice..Breakfast was nice too..Its located centrally in Bray and only a short walk to the train station and the seafront..

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Royal for their murder mystery weekend which was excellent and I met some great people. The hotel is in a very central position of the town and Bray was lovely.I also witnessed the rude old lady mentioned in an earlier review. The staff were excellent and couldn't do enough to please. The bedrooms are a bit dated but very clean. Everywhere on the ground floor of the hotel is of a very good standard. Breakfast was delicious and run very efficiently as was dinner. Very good value for money but there's just no pleasing some people.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was one of the most filthy places I've ever stayed. One of our group had to move rooms three times and ended in a room with mould around the windows because it was cleaner than the others.

Freezing cold with some rooms having tiny plug in heaters.

The staff had such bad attitudes, the worst of whom was apparently the general manager.

One duty manager was pleasant and that was it.

One bathroom had urine and pubic hair in the ensuite.

Absolutely vile and, as I said, awful, awful staff.

Very much not child friendly.

Out of a group of around 20 families not one said they'd stay again.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisburn
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is definitely in need of refurbishment. The room we were in looked out onto a wall and both windows and wall were very dirty. Room itself was not dirty as such however both room and bathroom need re-decorated and new curtains and carpet/floor covering. Breakfast and evening meal were fine and staff were friendly. Leisure Centre pool is fine but again Steam Room and Sauna need refitted. Corridors and stairs all very narrow and lift very small. Reception and Bar areas are excellent, unfortunately this is not reflected in the upper floors. Regrettably we would probably not return to this hotel unless it was refurbished.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Just back from the murder mystery weekend which was excellent .Stayed in room123 Which was ok views out on to the generator but heyho...Staff had to deal with a very rude older woman .who complained non stop about almost everything .The abuse the young waitress had to endure was nothing short of awful .The young Manager i feel dealt with the situation well ..A good hotel with a not so good guest

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Address: Main Street, Bray, Ireland (Formerly The Royal Hotel Bray)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club, one of the largest hotels in Co. Wicklow with a proven reputation in hospitality excellence for many years.We pride our selves as being children and famliy friendly . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bray
The Royal Hotel Leisure Centre
Bray Hotel Royal Wicklow
Royal Hotel Wicklow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.