We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worrying” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club to your Saves list
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Bray, Ireland (Formerly The Royal Hotel Bray)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Diss, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worrying”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff are lovely but that was its only real saving grace. The first room we stayed in, 204, was cold, dirty and had not been serviced properly, it had a 'what to do in Dec' sheet in the Information folder! It was also very, very noisy and I was kept awake until 4.00 am. The next day we were moved and the room was better, it had toiletries, glasses and what you would expect although very basic refreshments, only tea and coffee, no decaf or biscuits. We were part of a larger family party so ate in the hotel the first night. The sea bass was average so would not recommend. my husband had a burger which he enjoyed although another person did not. My biggest concern was breakfast. As I am allergic to eggs I have to be very careful. The 'chef' used the same utensils to dish everything up, meat, eggs, tomatoes. I said something on the first day and again on the second day. Cross contamination is hugely dangerous and I spoke to the manager who was going to have a word. Others might like to check this as if I lived in Ireland I would go back to see it had been done. My husband, who eats everything said it was only just okay. Orange squash was only available to us on the Sunday but juice was there on Monday, generally value brand beans, and underripe tomatoes, pretty rank with only cocktail sausages on the Monday. The leisure centre was okay and enjoyed my swim.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    146
    116
    127
    148
See reviews for
154
206
14
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel the second week in February for a weekend! Had an amazing stay! The front foyer was beautiful with a great bar attached! After returning to the hotel after a night out at around 3:30am I was greeted by the night manager who's name was ash, he was very friendly and told me if I if I wanted drinks or food he would look after me! Also the kettle was broken in the room and wen I rang reception ash brought me a replacement straight away! The rooms were nice and the food was great! Overall a great hotel made even more enjoyable by the service, especially ash! Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

Thanks
Paul and Laura

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leixlip, Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here as we were attending an event in the hotel. The rooms were very basic and badly need updating. We were supposedly in a newly refurbished room as it had a shower and bath whereas the older rooms only have showers. I can only imagine what the older rooms look like.
I had lunch in the bar. i ordered a simple toasted sandwich and chips which came out only slightly warm. The chips arrived about 5 minutes after the sandwich.
We both had breakfast the following morning which again wasn't great. The bacon was really rubbery as were the eggs. They must have been pre cooked that morning and kept warm until people came to breakfast. The food was only luke warm and not fresh as you would expect.
Wifi is charged to your room and you also have to pay for parking at the hotel.
While the pool looked ok the smell of chlorine was really off putting so we didn't bother using the pool.
I honestly wouldn't return unless the charity event was in the hotel again next year.
The only real redeeming factor is the staff who are friendly and helpful

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Had a 2 night family break at the hotel with our small children. The hotel has excellent staff who helped make our stay enjoyable . The family room which we had was large but there was a damp smell. Overall good value for money but rooms need some care and Attention. Staff are the hotels greatest asset

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I had chosen a 2night stay at The Royal Hotel for the valentines break. We opted for the 2night stay including breakfast and an evening meal package for as little as 169euro. First of all we were both greeted by welcoming staff which had given us all information possible regarding the hotel. We had absolutely no complaints with our room as it was clean, well heated and spacious when we had entered. We were greeted by amazing staff which we found couldn't do enough for you. The staff made sure we were well looked after constantly throughout the entire stay not only at dinner. Two staff members in particular both Richard (bar tender) and Sophie (waitress) were a credit to have serving us as they honestly couldn't do enough as I mentioned above. The hotel supplied all gents with roses for the ladies at dinner for this occasion which we thought was a generous gesture. The service overall was at a professional standard. Certain rooms may need to be updated but are hygienic and safe, therefore its not something to complain about. All in all our stay was comfortable, safe, reasonably priced and enjoyable. We both would well recommend this hotel :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I booked two rooms on a Friday night.

Car parking is at the rear but there is an additional 5Euro charge to a separate company. You need to tell them if you're only popping out as they will re-sell your space otherwise.

The whole place is dirty and shabby. The rooms are freezing cold and the bedlinen was stained and crumpled. There were large water stains on the ceiling. I could hear every single word said by the guests in the next room - including their complaint to reception about how cold their room was. I could also hear their coughs, sneezes, conversation plus the dialogue of the film they were watching and they weren't being noisy, the walls are just paper thin. The noise from the downstairs function could be heard late into the early hours, as could the lifts. The bed had broken springs and sagged terribly.

Reception and the lifts stink of smoke and there was ash on the telephone in my room.

The breakfast was inedible. Cheap, watery fruit juice, horrible white bread toast and I gave the hot food a complete miss as it looked disgusting.

Apparently a lot of Ulsterbus coach trips stop here so I imagine it gets very busy at times. I didn't try the pool as I'd planned, based on my feelings about the rest of the hotel. There was a large number of delegates (mostly children) at a martial arts competition so it was quite loud and noisy.

I really found the whole experience unpleasant so despite the receptionist being friendly and the manager applying a discount, I definitely would not ever wish to revisit.

Lastly, I suggest you check your bill carefully. I'd booked in advance using my credit card and when my dad checked out they billed him - luckily he mentioned it to me and I got them to refund it.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel that is run very well. We arrived as a hen party and were treated unbelievably well all weekend. The food for dinner was excellent, the bar was comfortable and warm, the beauticians were excellent at their jobs. In fact all staff were superb. Yes along corridors and big lobby its drafty but that's more to do with old building. Bedroom, restaurant and bar are all very warm. This is a great value hotel and I would have no problem recommending it or staying there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in newer rooms which were perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club

Address: Main Street, Bray, Ireland (Formerly The Royal Hotel Bray)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome to The Royal Hotel & Merrill Leisure Club, one of the largest hotels in Co. Wicklow with a proven reputation in hospitality excellence for many years.We pride our selves as being children and famliy friendly . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Bray
The Royal Hotel Leisure Centre
Bray Hotel Royal Wicklow
Royal Hotel Wicklow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.