We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Martello Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Martello Hotel to your Saves list
The Martello Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 Strand Road, Bray, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from an overnight at the Martello and we had a great time! Staff were lovely, very friendly and helpful. We booked the bed, breakfast and dinner package which was brilliant and very cheap! We ended up not leaving the hotel at night as they had live music and great atmosphere. The only thing we didn't fancy was the nightclub, extremely busy to the point it would be a fire hazard but there was plenty other areas to have a drink. No hotel parking was a bit of a downside, even if they had a few spots allocated it would help. Overall though fantastic value for money and rooms were lovely. Would def stay here again!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Elaine,

Thank you for your review, great to hear that you found your deal to be such good value! The live music in the evenings does create a great atmosphere down in the bar :-)

Looking forward to seeing you back again in the future.

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    112
    40
    15
    17
See reviews for
59
96
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

After loosing my jacket and various items in the cloakroom a few weeks ago, I am very pleased as the owner reimbursed me for my lost items and was sincerely helpful and accommodating.
Many Thanks,
Mark

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Mark,

Thank you for your review, great to hear that you're happy with the outcome!

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed here for one night for a family/friends get together. This hotel is a real standout at its level, streets ahead of most 3 star hotels I've stayed in. The single room I stayed in was great, very comfortable, lots of facilities and spotlessly clean. Really liked the ability to easily manage the heating and air con levels. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Claire,

Thank you for your review of your stay here at The Martello! I am delighted that you found everything to be so clean and all the staff to be so friendly and accommodating :-)

Hopefully we will see you back staying with us in the future!

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Have stayed at the hotel on several occasions and have always enjoyed it as the rooms are always clean and tidy and the staff friendly. 16 of us decided to go over to Bray from the UK to watch the 6 Nations Rugby rugby in an Irish pub.... Laura from the Hotel had been in contact with me helping with sorting the rooms and dealing with a few last minute changes re drop outs... When we arrived the staff were very welcoming and apologised that the room keys had not been charged giving us emergency cards so we could put our bags in the room we were then shown to the bar and had a drink on the house for the trouble within 15 minutes we had all been given our room keys along with a beer..Very nice gesture.. Throughout the stay the staff couldn't do enough for us, great food, warm Irish welcome and very understanding when embarrassingly 3 of the party forgot to settle the bill thinking it had already been settled!!
Would highly recommend staying there and will be looking at taking the family for a more quieter, dryer break later in the year.

Room Tip: Try the food very nice they also cater for Coeliacs and persons suffering with other food allergies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Liam,

Thank you for your review of The Martello Hotel! I am delighted to hear that you guys all really enjoyed your stay with us as you came over to watch the rugby. I will make sure to pass on your thanks to Laura and let her know you will be coming back in the near future with the family.

Looking forward to the next time you're over here in Bray!

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I did my research, I booked the hotel, I heard where other family members travelling from London to Greystones/Bray were staying... Sadly they weren't at the Martello Hotel with me or they might have enjoyed their stay better! On checking in I was greeted with a king sized bed and instantly felt at home in my room. Staff were helpful and friendly, the room was very clean and spacious and all amenities as stated by the website were in perfect working order. Down the road there are numerous takeaways and restaurants, (fish and chips, Indians, Tesco for sandwiches) within 5-7mins walking distance The hotel itself has a lovely restaurant and 2 bar areas with a loft dining area also. Breakfast was one of the best traditional continental/fry ups I've had in a very long time.

Room Tip: Phone ahead with any requirements and I'm sure they will bend over backwards to help? Thoroughl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hi Natasha,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at The Martello! It is great to hear that you really found everything to be as described on our website and that you found the whole experience to be so enjoyable :-)

Looking forward to seeing you back with us again in the future when you are over from London again!

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as a couple room was up three flights of stairs and way at back of hotel but the room itself was very clean and a nice size the only problem we experienced was the smoke alarm kept going off it was finally sorted out at 2.30 am. One lovely girl on reception next morning very kindly sorted breakfast for me and my husband she couldn't apologise enough I'm just sorry I didn't get her name she really is to be complemented for her professionalism

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi fificasey,

Thank you for your review of our stay with us here at The Martello! It is lovely to hear that you really enjoyed your room and the hotel itself. Sorry again about the smoke alarm and I will pass on your thanks to the reception team.

Looking forward to seeing you back with us again in the future.

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cefn Hengoed
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This hotel was faultless 2 years ago and hasnt let us down this time. !4 of us [women] came over for the Ireland/Wales Rugby weekend yet again and had a WONDERFUL weekend. From the time we arrived - greeted by a welcome drink - we were made to feel most welcome and nothing was too much trouble for ALL the staff, from the receptionists, managers, bar staff, cleaners and waiters,

The rooms were spotless and even though we probably left some blue stained sheets [we dressed as smurfs for match day], we had no complaints. The breakfasts were stunning and varied and the entertainment [apart from us] was outstanding.

We would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone, no doubt it is quieter when its not a 'special' weekend so would be suitable for families as the position of the hotel is ideal for the beach and good walks - not that we did any of that...

A secial mention must go to Laura and the lovely dark haired bar manager who has been there the last 3 times we have been over there [sorry, forgot his name - too many bevvies!!].

We will definitely be going back in 2 years time, maybe sooner if we can.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Bray, Marketing at The Martello Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi MadmazCefnHen,

Thank you for your review. We were delighted to see you all back with us again following your last visit 2 years ago :-)

Great to hear that you found the hotel to be spotless and all of the staff to be friendly and accommodating.

I will pass on your compliments to all of our staff members so as they will see your appreciation and thanks.

Looking forward to seeing you back with us again in 2 years (if not before)

Regards,
Rachel
The Martello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Martello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martello Hotel

Address: 47 Strand Road, Bray, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Bray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Martello Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Martello Hotel is located on the beautiful seafront in Bray, Co Wicklow and is situated only 5 minutes walk from the local train station. (Dublin city centre/ 02 Arena, Aviva Stadium/ Bord Gais Energy theatre only 40 mins away) The hotel is set in a beautiful Victorian house, which has been tastefully refurbished to create a modern interior with a vibrant atmosphere. Every room has an en-suite bathroom, television, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary WIFI.The Martello features the Tower Bistro, Koo nightclub, Martello Bar and an all weather heated beer garden. The Tower Bistro serves European style cuisine while the bar offers a more relaxed dining style. Evenings at The Martello Bar offer music most nights with live musicians. Koo nightclub is open every weekend and is one of Bray’s hotspots attracting a lively and party style atmosphere. The Martello is set in Wicklow, the garden of Ireland and has many local excursions on it’s doorstep including golf courses, kayaking, hill walking plus much more.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Martello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Martello Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.