We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Change of pace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carrigeen Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Carrigeen Castle to your Saves list
Carrigeen Castle
Cork Road, Cahir, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Cahir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Change of pace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Carrigeen Castle. Peig Butler and her son David were great hosts. Carrigeen was the perfect fit after touring Blarney Castle and nearby Cahir Castle. The breakfast was delicious We enjoyed a lively conversation with Peig wherein she shared many interesting antidotes about Ireland and her experiences in Cahir.

Remember this is an old caste so don't expect huge rooms and 21st century amenities, but the our room was very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    32
    11
    10
    14
See reviews for
37
40
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Ever since I was a young girl reading stories of princesses and castles I've wanted to stay in one (who wouldn't?). My husband discovered this one via the webpage, and booked our family for a night last year. It was everything we could hope for and more. The castle was very impressive, outside and in. The decor was full of antiques, and gave an ancient feel to everything. The rooms were comfortable, and cosy. Peig our hostess was very friendly and interesting, she took us in like family. We took lots of pictures there and we haven't stopped bragging about our night in the Irish castle!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have just spent a lovely weekend in Carrigeen Castle. It is very comfortable, despite being very old. We felt like guests in someone's home rather than just customers. Peig is friendly and helpful, we really enjoyed chatting to her about the history of the castle. It's also in a great location, only 5 mins walk to town, where we had an enjoyable night listening to music in one of the local bars. We will definitely stay there again some time, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My family of 6 Adults were travelling around Ireland and we didn't know where we were going to be on which days and we were driving through Cahir on our way to Cashel and we spotted the Carrigeen Castle and I had always wanted to stay in a castle... So we drove in at 5pm with no booking and I knocked on the door and Peig answered and I asked if she had 3 rooms available to accommodate the 6 of us. Peig already had a family of 7 but managed to fit us in and we had a very enjoyable experience and it was no problem to have us. Peig showed us around and told us about some of the history of the prison and castle and then she made us tea and coffee and suggested places we go for dinner. We organised to have breakfast at 8.30 the next morning and I am anaphylactic to egg and asked that Peig did not cook any off us Egg because I was so allergic - this was no problem at all and we had a lovely breakfast, we had cereal, fruit and yogurt and then a hot breakfast minus the eggs and lots of toast and anything we asked for was no problem and Peig was a great example of good customer service, nothing was a problem and we loved chatting to her!! I don't know what all the negative comments are about because it was such an exciting experience staying in a castle and Peig was great to us. I think people need to be tolerant of different cultures and personalities because we had a great time and would highly recommend the experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our trip to Ireland would not have been the same without our stay at Carrigeen Castle. I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews left by some travelers that suggested Peig was not exactly a gracious host. This could not be further from the truth. She is very direct...quite funny and enjoyable. The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms were clean. The breakfast was fabulous. Anyone will love the experience if you check your American ego at the door and realize you are staying in someone's home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting my daughter. The building is unique - full of history and personal insights into Mrs Butler and her family and the surrounding area. The room was comfortable and clean, and everything was explained to us when we arrived. Mrs Butler is extremely friendly and talkative, and very knowledgeable about the area. Timings for breakfast are fairly fixed, however, breakfast itself was very nice. If you like your host to be friendly, interested in you, happy to help and advise and make your stay that little bit special, then Mrs Butler and her fascinating B&B are the place to head for - we will certainly be staying again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Carrigeen Castle. An old Castle turned prison turned B & B and family home – it was a quite interesting and fun place to stay. An easy walk took you into town for dinner and a tour of Cahir Castle. Peig (pronounced Peg) was a delight and a hoot. Some might be taken aback by her straightforward manner. We were not and had a wonderful time talking with her. She provided lots of recommendations for places to go and things to do while in the area. The rooms were spotlessly clean and breakfast was delicious. Loved staying there but loved Peig most of all.

Room Tip: No Wi-Fi available at the hotel. We used our i-pads at the resturants in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carrigeen Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrigeen Castle

Address: Cork Road, Cahir, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cahir
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cahir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic castellated (former bridewell prison) home. Bedrooms are in former cells and keeper's accommodation, with many original features, accessible via a cut-limestone staircase tower. A comfortable, spacious building overlooking the heritage town of Cahir, and encircled by a walled garden and extensive grounds. Architecturally listed and in family ownership since 1919. Centrally located in town: heritage amenities, restaurants and bus/train stations all within 5 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carrigeen Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrigeen Castle Hotel Cahir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrigeen Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.