We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our day perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cahir House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cahir House Hotel to your Saves list
Cahir House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Square, Cahir, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cahir
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Made our day perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Got married here in august and could not have picked a better hotel.the day was fab the decor was lovely the food was amazing thats 1 thing everyone commented on was how fab the food was and plenty of it.the hotel offers a nice relaxed athmosphere to it which just makes everyone comfortable and able to enjoy themselfs.the staff are very efficent very friendly nothing was to big of a job the management where brill throughout the whole thing from planning till the day especially collette.would highly recommend this hotel.look forward to our annaversery meal wil b back before that. :-))

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    76
    32
    26
    7
See reviews for
39
93
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherstburg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Loved... Loved... Loved this hotel!!!!! Cahir Castle (which is awesome) can be seen right down the street and at night it is quite a sight!!!! the staff where unbelievably accommodating!!!! They are hard to tip though, it's not their custom to accept tips... The breakfast was amazing the room was old world charm, not fancy but good.... The bartenders are excellent as was all the services... The spa was closed the day I wanted a quick manicure and a few other simple things and the owner came in for me!!!! did not expect such extraordinary service, was delighted by everything!!! The place is awesome!!!! Well worth the amazingly affordable price!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buncrana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I had to change my booking at the last minute and the staff were very helpful. The welcome was warm and cheerful. The check in process was painless and I was allocated a nice comfortable room that came with breakfast and the whole stay was excellent value for money. Only down side is no lift but a minor gripe, however the bar was a different story, it was untidy and needed a good clean, eating in it was a no-no and the bar staff were a stranger to the concept of customer service.
On the whole the accommodation, the welcome at reception and the excellent breakfast would encourage me back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here last night with a friend. We had some issues with our room but the manager Patrick was very helpful. Hotel could do with updating but food is fab. Had steak for dinner, perfectly cooked and Latvian waitress was very knowledgeable about wine choices

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Absolutely full of old world charm and charicter. No lift, but bellhop was more than pleased to carry our luggage to first floor and far back. Long corridors, creaky floorboards added to charm. Bar was full of locals and musician played until early morning. Did not bother us at all. Car park just 20 m from back door and beautiful back garden. Dinner with company was great and the breakfast typical irish with continental option

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My son and myself stayed for two nights at this hotel, the rooms are large and clean and the breakfast is fantastic. All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. We could not have picked a better place to stay and we shall definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We had a room right at the back of the hotel so there was no noise at all from the bar or function a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cahir
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Food and service excellent staff friendly nothing is to small to help. Great conversation a the bar. Great location near castle and walks also close to nice shops. Golf course close by. Finbarr was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cahir House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahir House Hotel

Address: The Square, Cahir, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cahir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cahir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cahir House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahir House Hotel is set like a jewel in the heart of hertiage town Cahir. The hotel is very much the focal point of the town and is very popular with tourists and locals alike. For the past two years the property is under new management which has seen its patronage improve. The hotel itself has 42 well appointed rooms, a restaurant/bistro, an elegant bar and a beauty salon. There is a host of local attractions/ammenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cahir House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Cahir
Cahir Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cahir House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.