We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel with friendly and pleasant staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cahir House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cahir House Hotel to your Saves list
Cahir House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Square, Cahir, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cahir
ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quality hotel with friendly and pleasant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my partner for two nights. We got a great deal with breakfast and dinner included. I was not sure about the dinner as was looking at exploring the town. however was delighted with what we got. one of the best streaks i have ever had.
There was music on in the bar afterwards which was great and lively atmosphere in the bar. the breakfast the next day was top class and great for the hangover.
I would highly recommend this hotel for comfort, food and enjoyability. There is also a lovely walk just at the back of the hotel that goes by a golf course and the river Suir. Didi not use the Spa but will do on my next visit. Thanks Cahir house for your hospitality!!!!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    76
    32
    26
    7
See reviews for
39
93
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Situated in the centre of the beautiful Heritage town of Cahir, this hotel is a perfect example of comfort and service which is missing from the larger chains which although they supply the frills of a 5* miss out on the essentials. A pleasant welcome, a good size room with a view which is not usually granted to the solo traveller. Excellent early supper served pleasantly and a courteous and helpful (but not intrusive ) attitude from all staff. A minor problem in the room, mentioned when leaving, was immediately apologised for and a discount offered on the bill as compensation. This had to be refused as their rates are so reasonable. One complaint would be against the clientele - rather than the hotel which supplies seating and ashtrays in the garden of their non-smoking building but persons still persist at littering the area. This had been thoroughly cleaned by 8am. Good secure parking and easy access to an early morning walk by the river. I would have no hesitation in returning either alone or with a group.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Cahir is a nice place and Cahir House Hotel would be a great hotel if you could sleep in it... After 2 nights over there, I came back home exhausted. Ok I didn't pay much, but it was the lowest season and I did request a quiet room when I ordered so why did I not sleep for 2 nights????? Because of the noise !!!!! All the saturday night, some children ran in the corridor, shouting and laughing, great time for them... not for me... Parents don't care (!!!!!!), ok, but reception should have said something.... and unfortunately, the hotel is charming because old but the wood floor doesn't stop squeaking, walls are very thin and so, you can hear what's doing your neighbour as if he was in your room ! (from shower to hairdry to sex...).
Staff? ok, nothing special, didn't talk much, just ask for the credit card... didn't even ask if the night was good.... probably because they knew it wasn't ! ;-) But generally nice.
We are tourist but we would have liked to rest in this charming place without spending our time pulling our hair !!!! I'm so sad, everything would have been great without the noise.

Also, restaurant and bistro have the same menu, I thought it was pub AND restaurant but it's the same wherever you are. No complaints, good food, good price.

So, I don't know.... call them before going and make sure you'll be on the 2nd floor, in a very very quiet room....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

My partner & I had bought a 1 night stay at this Hotel through Citydeal.ie. The deal was for one nights stay with a glass of wine on arrival, and breakfast included. We had booked the night away for some peace & quiet and quality time together. Upon arrival we were informed that there was a large charity function on there that night & that there would be a certain level of noise late into the night. We had not been informed of this upon booking. As a result bar & hotel was packed all evening & we were kept awake most of night by noisy guests. Our glasses of wine on arrival were forgotten & not remembered till later that evening. Although the hotel & restaurant downstairs were modern & nicely furnished, the rooms were old fashioned & on the whole poorly decorated, but clean. The meal in the restaurant was good but again the atmosphere was ruined by the noisiness of the hotel that night. When we retired to bed that evening we left an order for breakfast room service on our door handle as advertised & specified on the room information booklet. We were very disappointed the next morning when breakfast times came & went & our breakfast was no where to be seen. The request was still swinging on our handle. Breakfast was suppose to be included as part of the deal. When we checked out the lady at the desk was apologetic that their porter had failed to collect the request and did offer us a bar lunch. As we were under pressure to be elsewhere this was no use to us at this point. Overall we were very unimpressed with this hotel & certainly wont be staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

We spent 4nights with you surrounding our sons wedding there and both our stay and the reception itself was second to none..without exaggeration!
In Particular, the staff were more than friendly and helpful in every way possible..a most enjoyable and comfortable stay as well as excellent value for money! HIGHLY recommended in every respect!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

The hotel is centrally located an d the staff were very friendly and accomadating to our requirements

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rayray1977, Manager at Cahir House Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind words.

All the best and see you again.

Ray McDonnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed in Cahir House Hotel en route to Cork. We enjoyed a meal in the bar and had a lovely freshly cooked full Irish breakfast. The staff were most helpful and friendly. We would strongly recommend Cahir House and we will return!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cahir House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahir House Hotel

Address: The Square, Cahir, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cahir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cahir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cahir House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahir House Hotel is set like a jewel in the heart of hertiage town Cahir. The hotel is very much the focal point of the town and is very popular with tourists and locals alike. For the past two years the property is under new management which has seen its patronage improve. The hotel itself has 42 well appointed rooms, a restaurant/bistro, an elegant bar and a beauty salon. There is a host of local attractions/ammenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cahir House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Cahir
Cahir Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cahir House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.