We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great charm even if a little frayed around the edges.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kilcoran Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kilcoran Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Kilcoran, Cahir, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cahir
Dublin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good value, great charm even if a little frayed around the edges.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Stayed here for a three night B&B and one dinner break. I have family in the area , had always passed it so was pleased to be able to stay. It was lovely and quiet, the room was lovely with fab views across the Knockmealdown Mountains. The hotel isn't plush but it has real charm and the staff were great especially the night porter, thanks to him for the hospitality and chats late into the night after a day visiting relatives.

I'm not sure how it would be staying when there's a wedding on that you're not a part of, as it isn't a large hotel but it's well worth staying at and in a good location for touring North Cork and Tipperary. Thanks for a lovely 3 days, we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    69
    30
    17
    42
See reviews for
85
88
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, Merseyside
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

After much deliberation & disappointment when viewing venues in the UK (North West), we decided to view some in Ireland (where my husband is from) and from the get go Kilcoran Lodge was a winner. With stunning views of the Knockmealdown Mountains, amazing food and professional, friendly staff & management we decided it was the place for us.

The hotel and surrounding lodges were big enough to sleep all of our guests who travelled from the UK and many of the Irish contingent who had to leave cars behind (Kilcoran is in a secluded but beautiful spot).
The Lodge & Mews accommodations are spacious, modern and decorated to a high standard. The hotel rooms are more in keeping with the hotel building (homely, not run down as other reviews state, though I believe they've had a refurbishment recently). Rates are extremely competitive.

The reception room is large and comfortably accommodated our 130 ish guests. It is light & airy with many floor to ceiling French windows down flanking the main wall (which can be opened to cool the dance floor down later), there are a number of areas in the hotel where guests who prefer a ‘quieter’ affair can sit and enjoy drink and conversation in peace, we were not confined to just the reception area.

Jacqueline Mullen, Kilcoran’s Manager is an experienced wedding and events co-ordinator and she certainly knows how to handle a micro-managing bride! We didn’t have the opportunity to listen to any bands or for me to have hair trials (as we live in the UK) but Jacqueline pulled them out of her contacts bag for us, she booked us an amazing band who we didn’t even hear until the night! (The Wise Guys) and she sourced me a hairdresser and other bits and pieces. The reception room was decorated beautifully to my exact specifications, with flowers and candelabra sourced by Jacquline, who by the way certainly goes out of her way to add finishing touches e.g. the fish & chips we put on for the late evening, she wrapped them in a mock up newspaper article about our wedding, we knew nothing about this until the food came out, everyone was talking about it, reading it and many have taken the wrapper as a keepsake; what a lovely touch.

The service we received on the actual day was second to none. All the staff were attentive and ensured all our guests were well looked after, the food was plentiful and of the highest quality which surprised me as usually the food at weddings is never as good as the tastings, the quality surpassed mine and everyone else’s expectations.

As for value for money, Kilcoran is a very competitive wedding venue and unlike others we considered, did not bounce back any 'additional' costs. The quote we received a year prior to our wedding was what we paid, the only fluctuation being when we finally confirmed numbers which was to be expected as we paid by the head.

As neither my husband nor I have ever hosted such an event, it was a comfort to know such a robust team was behind us, helping us along the way and I can not thank them enough for the effort put in to looking after us on the run up and of course on the day itself.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We booked the Kilcorran Lodge Hotel for the reception, and accommodation for family and friends attending the wedding in the lodges and the hotel itself. I would rate all of the rooms very highly, the hotel and lodges are decorated to a high standard and it was spotless. Noise wasn't an issue as the accommodation itself is away from the night life. The organisation of the wedding reception was handled by Jackie, whose attention to detail and fine touches left us in no doubt that we could relax. I cannot rate the food less than excellent quality, very tasty and beautifully presented. No one was left feeling hungry and all tastes were catered for. The cake was handled and presented very carefully, no one was left out, even those who settled in the lounge were offered the refreshments in the evening. That area was perfect for the guests who wanted to talk in the evening. Jackie's and the staff's attention to detail was amazing, down to the wrappers she had especially printed for the fish and chips which were provided as part of the supper later on. The tables were beautifully laid and decorated and the atmosphere was relaxed but I could see Jackie and the staff were alert and nothing went overlooked - even the things we had forgotten about in the rush. I saw the bridal suite, and it was spotlessly clean and cosy, I know no more than that!! The staff made sure that I was well supplied with cups of coffee and tea when I wanted a breather. The dance floor had plenty of room for our party which was about 120. I would urge any bride to let Jackie and the team to take care of the day, you can relax and enjoy it!! The rest of the family enjoyed the spa and pool.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louth
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

We stayed in a 2 bed lodge and had access to the pool and gym. we found the lodge's to be fully equipped and spotless, although a car is definitly needed to get around. We have re - booked for this summer and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

I recently got married at the Kilcoran Lodge, Cahir, after staying at the hotel last year.
We took 60 guests with us from London, some of whom hired cars from airport, others drive their own by ferry or hired the local mini bus. The hotel itself is blissful, charming & romantic. The lodges are modern and luxurious. The views of the mountains are spectacular. I could not fault this hotel at all. 10/10 - they made my wedding day and stay even more special. All the staff, especially the manager Jackie, were more than helpful. The food was plentiful and very tasty. What more can I say, other than we will be back next year for our 1st anniversary, and many of our guests would like to return too. Just a shame we couldnt have stayed for longer. Honeymoon over & back to work now! *****

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
375 helpful votes 375 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed for a week either side of New Year's Eve with a group of twenty two hikers. We were in four lodges which are excellent value and well heated. The bedrooms are of hotel standard and there is also an excellent large kitchen/diner and sitting room with TV/DVD. We had an excellent New Year's dinner for the group in the hotel. Service and food are excellent. There was also a very large celebration of young farmers and another group as well. Everyone was well looked after, especially the two hard working bar staff and the relief barman who was in for this busy night. During our stay, there were three wedding parties and everything seemed to work well and did not impinge on other guests. All in all a very pleasant place to stay with the bonus of a small swimming pool/jacuzzi/steam room and sauna for the wet days. We have stayed in the lodges before and the recent change of management has not diminished the high standard.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

Myself and my husband and 3 Children attended a wedding just after christmas, stayed 2 nights, the hotel staff could not have been more helpful, very relaxed holiday, happy children happy parents,

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilcoran Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcoran Lodge Hotel

Address: Kilcoran, Cahir, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cahir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cahir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Kilcoran Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcoran Hotel Cahir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilcoran Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.