We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kilcoran Lodge ...well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kilcoran Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kilcoran Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
Kilcoran, Cahir, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Cahir
Shannon, Clare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kilcoran Lodge ...well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just returned from an overnight break with my hubby to Kilcoran Lodge .We had a fantastic time .the staff are so incredibly friendly and helpful ..the rooms are a little tired but what they lack in modernity they more than make up in charm and comfort . Room 17 is an absolute gem with stunning views, comfy four poster and a huge bathtub. The owner, Connie and his team went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay .If your looking for modern sleek, this is not the place for you but if you seek old world charm teamed with a friendly atmosphere and pure relaxation then Kilcoran Lodge is definitely worth a visit .

Room Tip: room 17 is the one to book .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    61
    26
    17
    42
See reviews for
77
78
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed there over Paddy's weekend it was not that busy and the Staff are friendly but the hotel is COLD everywhere. And for the food mmmm not really up to hotel standard, wi-fi only in hotel lobby where it is even colder, hard to get a drink at night if the manager is sitting in the bar having his dinner and washing it down with a bottle of wine( and there is no one else around to serve )Pool and steam room are nice. Next time i think i will stay in the houses behind the hotel they look very nice and i can cook my own food so my wife and daughter dose not become ill.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner have just spent the last two nights in Kilcoran Lodge. We had a great time, really felt relaxed and chilled out. The bedroom was quaint with a good sized bed which was great for my back. The staff were very friendly and also the locals. Food was good, wine excellent. The Owner was so helpful and really made our stay very pleasent. We are planning our next trip back and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Kerry, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Prior to the advent of the M8 motorway, Kilcoran Lodge was a very popular lunch stop for travellers on the main road between Ireland's two largest cities, Dublin and Cork (R639). Set amongst mature cultivated woodlands, the building was originally the "hunting lodge" of a peer of the British realm - the Earl of Glengall - see Wikipedia.

My most recent visit was for a lunch stop on a drive from Kerry to Kilkenny. Deliberately avoiding the motorway, the old main Dublin Cork road was very quiet and allowed enjoyment of the views of the countryside.

Kilcoran Lodge lies between the towns of Mitchellstown on the south and Cahir on the North on the southern slopes of the Galtee Mountains, It is close to the world famous Mitchelstown Caves and also near to the ancestral hometown of the 40th President of the United States, Ronald Regan - Ballyporeen.

The Rock of Cashel, a major Irish landmark and very popular and historic tourist attraction, lies about 20km (12 miles) in the direction of Dublin.

A light lunch of soup and a sandwich was ordered and served in good time. The sandwich was more than adequate and the cost reasonable.

The beauty of Kilcoran Lodge lies in its antiquity and location. The building is now a bit tired, but this ads to the charm.

Going North exit the motorway at Junction 12, near Mitchelstown, going South, exit at Junction 11 near Cahir.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in March for a weekend break with friends. We arrived after 8pm and we noticed on arrival that the hotel was very cold. We were told they had run out of oil but were waiting on a delivery and would get the heating back on, as soon as possible.it came back on for only a little over an hour .
Our party of 6 had booked dinner in the restaurant for 8.30. I had a chicken curry dish which had obviously been nuked as the chicken was like rubber and it was scalding hot and flavourless. Really has to be one of the worst meals i have ever eaten.
The breakfast on the Saturday morning was nice enough but there was a considerable wait for it. We decided not to eat there on the Saturday night and went into Cahir town which was lovely and lively.
The hotel is lovely and the staff are very nice and friendly but its obvious that the management are trying to cut costs and it shows, which really is an awful pity as the hotel has great potential.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Well where do I start. Myself,husband &son stayed here for 3 very cold nights.Our welcome was as cold as the hotel.The owner booked us in he was a very unpleasent man to start with.He didn't even welcome us he just asked me what kind of voucher I had. He gave us our keys & we headed to the room.When we opened the door the room hadn't been cleaned so my husband headed back to tell him, he said he didn't even apoligise about the mix up. The next room was so cold we had to get extra radiators brought down. We were told the brekfast started at 7.30 we headed down after 8 & were told by the lady she had no chef on till 9 a total joke she offered us scrambled egg the less said the better about that there was loads of toast. The food was very nice & the staff are very nice & helpful I really don't know how this place is still open, I guess its the fab view.Won't be back here ever...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed for 2 nights. We had a Pigsback Voucher which entitled us to 2 nights B&B and dinner for two on 1 night, so were quite taken aback when, on arrival we were presented with 2 coupons which entitled us to a main meal only, starters and desserts cost extra! We were told we could upgrade to a different menu for an extra charge. That aside, we were given directions to our room along a very cold corridor and up the stairs. The room itself was a good size but the furniture was worn and tired with burn marks and heat rings. A very old and small tv (about the size of a postage stamp) sat miserably on an old chest of drawers. The bathroom again was old and tired with awful decor - black and white tiled floor with red walls. Housekeeping was sadly lacking - we had no bath towels. I rang reception and heard the following message - "leave your name and number and we will get back to you" I did, and they didn't. Despatched husband to reception for said towels and he was assured that "somebody" would look after that. Two hours and a reminder from me later we got towels. Waste bins in our room were not emptied on the second day and the 2 tea bags allotted to us which we used on the first day, were not replenished. Breakfast was just ok, but poor choice of cereals , cornflakes, rice krispies or cocoa pops, orange or apple juice, no fresh fruit. We arrived down for breakfast and there were no menus, the waitress stood by our table, pen poised over her notebook waiting for us to order. She offered no suggestions as to what was on offer and eventually said "2 full Irish is it?". So it appears that you can have anything you want so long as it is a full Irish or variations of. After she served breakfast, she didn't come back to enquire if everything was ok or if we would like more tea/coffee. Overall, the hotel is quite shabby, rundown and the lobby and bar are very very cold, the only heating in these areas are coal fires which did nothing to take the chill away. Two members of staff stood out - Daniel who was professional and courteous, and a blonde lady (apologies we did not get her name) who was also very friendly but they were absolutely run off their feet, serving both the bar and restaurant. I quietly wondered to myself if the rest of the staff we encountered were products of the Basil Fawlty Academy for charm and social graces. Dour faces and snappy manners will not win return visits from guests. This hotel badly needs a total makeover, designated staff and more of them, re-training for some existing staff and a serious chef in the kitchen. Would we be returning to this hotel anytime soon? In a word No

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kilcoran Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilcoran Lodge Hotel

Address: Kilcoran, Cahir, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cahir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Cahir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kilcoran Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilcoran Hotel Cahir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilcoran Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.