We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth a Visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baileys Hotel Cashel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Baileys Hotel Cashel to your Saves list
Baileys Hotel Cashel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Main St. | Co. Tipperary, Cashel, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cashel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Cashel is a small but very interesting place which we always visit when we are driving from Dublin to Co. Kerry. Our favourite place to stay is Baileys Hotel. The food is good, the rooms are comfortable, there are many interesting books in the Library and ample, easy accessible underground parking. The staff are excellent and cope with every unforeseen circumstance. Tis year the entire town was plunged into darkness by a huge power cut which took over two hours to repair. The staff still managed to provide us with a very tasty dinner cooked on the gas jobs and were even organising how to ensure my partner had a comfortable night since he was unable to reach his room whilst the lift was unusable!! Very impressive!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    75
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
77
130
11
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and had a meal in the evening. It is a quiet hotel in the center of Cashel. The staff was very helpful and attentive to our desires. The rooms are sinples, but comfortable for a price quite honest. the evening meal was good, although for me, the amount on the plate was too large.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on hte back of the hotel, they are very quiet. In the from you have the main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have stayed in hotels in many countries and when you get away from the big cities hotels are hit or miss. Bailey's was a hit. One of our party had sprained her ankle and was on crutches. The staff was extremely helpful in getting her settled. The rooms were comfortable and clean and of a much higher quality than I expected. We arrived around 7PM and Lisa Frankovich (good Irish name there!) our new friend at the reception desk arranged for a table to be set at the very busy restaurant/pub downstairs. All of the staff were amazing but Lisa was a step above the rest. She was determined to make sure that our trip was memorable, even getting us into a restaurant with a four month waitlist. She even phoned around Cashel until she found us a wheelchair for our injured party. She certainly didn't have to do that, Anyway, all of our party where very pleased with Bailey's and we can recommend it whole heartedly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were lucky enough to travel in Ireland's heatwave that started in June. Our room was on the top floor and the AC did not work, couldn't open the windows either so it made for a miserable night. Great location for the Rock of Cashel and an easy drive to Cahir Castle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a lovely room which was reasonably spacious. The office staff were very friendly. There is undercover parking within easy walking distance available. Unfortunately the barman has an attitude problem which made us want to leave which we did. Would recommend this hotel for travellers passing through and needing somewhere to stay. We were there on a Saturday night in July and the town was basically closed. We had trouble finding a place to eat but eventually found a pub with meals upstairs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at Bailey's Hotel for one night and we were very pleased with our choice. The hotel is located right in the Cashel city center, so we could easily walk around and enjoy the town. It was no problem parking since the hotel has a large underground garage just next door.

The young women who met us at the front desk were very friendly and helped us get our bearings in town. To that point, most people probably come to Cashel to see the amazing castle on the Rock. One of the nice things about staying at Bailey's Hotel, is that you can just walk up to the castle on a scenic pathway (about 5 minute walk) that goes up just behind the historic Cashel Palace Hotel (located just up the block from Bailey's Hotel).

Our group included my wife and I along with our two teenage granddaughters. The hotel provided one main room (ensuite with king bed) for us along with an adjoining room (two twin beds and ensuite bathroom) for the girls. Everything was spotlessly clean and modern. Apparently, the hotel did a full modernization a few years ago, so it still has the old traditional look on the exterior, but inside it is completely up to date.

The restaurant is one of the best in town and quite comfortable, with a pub-like atmosphere and excellent food. Seems to be patronized by locals as well as hotel guests. We had a very nice lunch and breakfast the next day.

We stayed here because we had a flight out of Shannon Airport the next day and we thought it would be an easy drive in the morning to catch a 1:30pm flight. That turned out to be just the case, the drive was just over an hour. So, this would be an excellent choice for anyone flying in or out of Shannon for first or last night stay in Ireland. Actually, it would be great for staying longer than just the one night...the surrounding countryside is spectacularly clean and green!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located on Cashel Main Street. Our room had a very confortable king size bed and a big bathroom. Breakfast was very large and there was a wide choice. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baileys Hotel Cashel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baileys Hotel Cashel

Address: 42 Main St. | Co. Tipperary, Cashel, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cashel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baileys Hotel Cashel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baileys 4 Star Luxury Boutique Hotel is ideally located halfway between Dublin & Cork in the heart of the historical town of Cashel, nestled in Tipperary's Golden Vale & within a short stroll of the Rock of Cashel. A beautifully restored listed Georgian building, Baileys Hotel, Cashel has 19 rooms plus a luxuriously appointed suite. All rooms provide en-suite bathrooms with underfloor heating & fluffy bathrobes as well as free high-speed internet. We offer an old world charm in a modern world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Baileys Hotel Cashel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baileys Hotel Cashel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.