We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calling all Coeliacs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O' Neills Bistro

O' Neills Bistro
Thomastown | Golden, Cashel, Ireland (Formerly Kenny O Neill at Lily Mai's)
+3536272847
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Cashel
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: French, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Calling all Coeliacs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Four for lunch. One coeliac. Tasty, Great value, Wonderful presentation, deserts to die for and only one not gluten free! Happy days, will certainly recommend it to friends.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

i can not recommend o neills bistro highly enough.i have been there for lunch and evening meals many times,the food and service is excellent,great value and the best thing about this restaurant is its consistancy of great food and value,cant wait to go back,

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food. Great Value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My sister and I had a wonderful Sunday lunch in O' Neill's Bistro. It's a lovely location between Tipperary Town and Cashel and well worth a visit. Our starters of Chicken Caesar with bacon lardons and Tian of Dingle Crab with Mango were of a very high standard and generous in size. The main course was Lamb Shank and it was superb whilst the Sea Trout was tasty, it was a small portion of fish. It came with a selection of vegetables cooked to perfection. We shared a chocolate dessert plate and two Coffees plus two glasses of white wine. We considered E60 minus the tip was very good value for such high quality and standard of food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Consistent excellence.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I've been to O'Neills a few times now, excellent food and service each time. The team are to be congratulated.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
konman1984, Owner at O' Neills Bistro, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi Voicebrass,
Thank you very much for your kind review and your continued custom we really appreciate it.
We thrive on the fact the consistency is key to any restaurant , so thank you for your feedback.
Kind Regards,
Kenny O Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Happy start to 2014!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were a large party, but not required to pre-order, which was great. Everybody was delighted with their food, the service was excellent and the house wine was delicious. We had a fantastic evening, thank you O'neils

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
konman1984, Owner at O' Neills Bistro, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hi Lupin K,
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us you were a pleasure to deal with and it was great to speak to you on New Years Eve. All the best 2014 and safe journey back to Scotland.
Kind Regards,
Kenny O Neill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O' Neills Bistro also viewed

Cashel, County Tipperary
Cashel, County Tipperary
 
Cashel, County Tipperary
Cashel, County Tipperary
 

Been to O' Neills Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O' Neills Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.