We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite disappointed 2nd time around” 3 of 5 stars
Review of O' Neills Bistro

O' Neills Bistro
Thomastown | Golden, Cashel, Ireland (Formerly Kenny O Neill at Lily Mai's)
+3536272847
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Cashel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: French, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Quite disappointed 2nd time around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My partner & myself had an evening meal in Lily Mai's just before Christmas. This was my second time there in as many months. On the 1st occasion the meal was fair to good. On the most recent visit I would rate the experience only fair, the reasons being. For the quality of the food it was quite expensive, we shared a small fish cake starter - not good value. My partner had a Turkey & Ham main course with very little vegetables & was served quite cold. I had a steak which was quite good, but no veg was served when I declined a serving of mushroom, apart from some cold chips. We both had a glass of wine, mine was a lukewarm white & I asked for some ice to cool it down, The red wine was the same temp & was quite nice. We decided not to order any desserts or coffee. Just as we were finishing the owner came to our table & asked did I need more ice for my wine & admitted that the white wine had been left out of the cooler earlier, hence the problem with the temperature. She did not even offer a apology. The cost of our experience was well in excess of €50 & certainly customer care in the establishment leaves alot to be desired. I dont expect to be back

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great food, great value, cosy, lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is my favourite restaurant to visit in the Cashel area. The decor is really pretty and cosy, and the welcome is always very warm. On my last visit I had lamb, delicious! This is good, honest food. A lot of care goes into the provenance of the ingredients, and the food is very tasty and well presented, with flair and imagination. The bread is freshly baked, divine! Very good value for money, well worth the short drive from Cashel, through pretty Tipperary scenery.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“lovely place to stop for light meal and staff were very accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

liked everything about this resteraunt Its more a place for lunch or dinner than coffee but very nice Will go again when in the area

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“All-ways a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My friend is a Lily Mai-aholic! There is also a Lily Mai's in Bunratty and we visit them for special treats. The scones are to live for and coffee, tea, cakes, paninis, salads and breads are always fresh crunchy, scrumptious and tasty. Don't pass one without visiting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Afternoon tea for three. Good service. Nice ambiance upstairs. Large pot of tea plus good selection of cakes.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O' Neills Bistro also viewed

Cashel, County Tipperary
Cashel, County Tipperary
 
Cashel, County Tipperary
Cashel, County Tipperary
 

Been to O' Neills Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O' Neills Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.