We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very Irish welcome ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farrenwick Country House

Farrenwick Country House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Farrenwick Country House to your Saves list
Farrenwick Country House
Curranstown, Clonmel, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Clonmel B&B and Inns
Armagh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“a very Irish welcome ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Denis and Kay could not have been more welcoming we were made to feel right at home. the breakfast was home cooked fresh each morning and a wide selection of cereal, fruit, yogurt and juice with home made bread and scones. the rooms were very clean and spacious with tea and coffee making facilities. it is in the countryside but taxi service available and easy to book. will be recommending to others.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

On a road trip through the UK and Ireland and were late in booking accommodation but they were more than happy to accommodate us. We were greeted with tea, coffee and scones that were delicious. Kay and Dennis were very genuine and heart felt. They sat with us and helped us plan what to see and do on our travels and were very kind. The breakfast had everything you could want and more. Hands down the best bed and breakfast I have stayed at. Loved everything about it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lempster, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I felt like a visiting favorite niece. Very welcoming and took grand care of me. They noticed my patterns and accommodated them without prompting. I was given a, much welcomed, double bed. Most B&B's give a solo traveler a twin bed. Last day I had to be off very early and they still made me a hot breakfast. Really lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had the pleasure of being with Denis and Kay for three nights, and we truly hated to leave. Denis and Kay greeted us with a warm Irish welcome, and we loved their accents and fun humor. The GPS coordinates worked great finding their home. Every evening they made time to visit with our family in their beautiful living room. Our last evening we sat around the fireplace and Kay brought out homemade desserts and tea. Our breakfasts were formal in their dining room with linen tablecloths and a wide variety of menu choices. The breakfast was always done with perfection. Our room was very comfortable with good quality beds, and freshly ironed bed linens as well as the sheets. Also, a flat screen TV which we did not have time to use. Our bathroom was spacious and spotless. Each morning they asked if we needed any assistance with driving directions or planning our day, and we valued their help. They always asked if there was anything we needed. Denis assisted in giving genealogy reference locations to visit. Both of them suggested good restaurants in the area. They have a beautiful home and surroundings. A great location for visiting Thurles, Cashel, Tipperary, Casher and castle, Clonmel, Kilkenny, Waterford, and even Cork/Cobh, only an hour away. We could of easily spent five to six days at their location with many sites close by. We hope to return to Ireland, and we will always visit Kay and Denis. They are truly the finest couple in the B&B book.

Room Tip: I would HIGHLY recommend Denis and Kay's B&B. You will love your visit. A highlight of our t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a 3 week vacation in Ireland. The Farrenwick Country House was the first bed and breakfast we stayed at while in Ireland. It definitely raised the bar and our expectation for the other 4 star bed and breakfast we would be staying in Ireland. After our trip, we definitely feel that the Farrenwick Country House came up on top for its warm hospitality and its cleaness. Kay and Denis were very warm and helpful. We were greeted with a nice pot of tea and scones. Our room was really big with plenty of room to unpack. It was also really cozy. I loved our large ceiling window that looked out onto the neighbouring farm. The bathroom was really big and spotless that it shined. Kay and Denis really knew how to put on a breakfast. Even though there were only 2 of us, we were still given a full breakfast buffet with fruits, jam, yogurt and a variety of bread, and etc, on top of the full Irish Breakfast. We were given black and white pudding from an award winning maker to try. Denis was great with giving sightseeing recommendations. It is also located in a area where makes a perfect base to explore Rock of Cashel and Kilkenny. In general, none of the other 4 star B and B we stayed at matched the high standard the Farrenwich Country House provided.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Kay and Denis are amazing!!!! We arrived at a B&B not too far away but unfortunately they were full so they so very kindly called Kay and Denis to see if they had a room for us. Though they hadn't even opened for the season yet, they welcomed us into their home with a hot pot of tea along with scones and jam. After we settled in, we headed into town and when we returned that evening, we joined Kay and Denis for tea, more delicious home made pastries and great conversation! When we went up to bed, Kay had turned on a heated blanket so our bed was toasty warm. We woke up to a traditional Irish breakfast before we continued on our journey. We have only nice things to say about Denis and Kay.. It was a home away from home and was exactly what we needed :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We very much enjoyed our time with Kay and Denis September 2012. They had great recommendations for places to visit and eat, not only in this area but also in the locations we were headed off to. Can't go wrong here!! A kind, hospitable couple that really enjoy being B&B hosts (which is not necessarily always the norm).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Farrenwick Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farrenwick Country House

Address: Curranstown, Clonmel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Clonmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Clonmel
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Farrenwick Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farrenwick Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.