We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great rack of lamb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sextons Bar & Restaurant

Sextons Bar & Restaurant
Dublin Road | Blackrock, Dundalk, Ireland
+353 42 932 1593
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 68 Restaurants in Dundalk
Price range: $5 - $33
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tradtional Family owned Irish Bar & Restaurant located 10 minutes outside Dundalk. Serving fresh food from locally sourced suppliers. A full a la carte menu available 7 days a week with lunch specials available Mon to Fri 12-3pm. All are welcome.
Drogheda, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great rack of lamb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

lovely food. it takes a while to get but well worth waiting 4. the rack of lamb would melt in your mouth.great menu, child friendly

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamaidan, Owner at Sextons Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Hi Denise,

Thanks for taking the time out to write a review about us on Trip Advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your meal with us and I hope you come back to visit us again soon. We are constantly changing and adapting our menu to suit everyones needs and to ensure a speedy service. I look forward to seeing you back at Sextons Bar & Restaurant in the future

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will be Back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Just back from having a delightful Sunday Lunch at Sextons. Its great to find a local pub with such charm and good food. The staff were very welcoming and the atmosphere was great. The chicken spring roll were amazing!!!! The best part was when I got the bill, such good value for such high quality food. I will be back...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamaidan, Owner at Sextons Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Dear Pixie55,

Thank you for all your wonderful comments, it's always great to hear when our customers enjoy their experience with us. We change our specials daily so if your in the area again make sure you call in and try one of our other dishes. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sextons Bar & Restaurant in the near future

Regards

Liam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

always enjoyed coming here food good staff attentive good nite had by all

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamaidan, Owner at Sextons Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 21, 2012
Dear Teresaaine,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us on Tripadvisor. All comments good or bad are welcome and we appreciate everyone's opinion. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience when you came to visit us and that you enjoyed the food and service that we offer. I hope that you continue to come dine with us and I look forward to seeing you back in Sexton's Bar & Restaurant in the coming weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome and Great of a Family Meal,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

My sister, booked Sextons as a late mothers day meal Gife, there was 12 of us in total, and all family, So you can only imagine what a easy table it was going to be to look after, the staff where great, and made us feel right at home, the food was great, and the Wine even better. I will be visting Sextons again for sure.thanks

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamaidan, Owner at Sextons Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear Wyattwestport,

Thank you for taking the time out to post a review on trip advisor. I'm delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your Mother's Day lunch with us at Sexton's. Every comment posted is appreciated and noted in order for us to improve our service. Join us on our new Facebook page and keep up dated on future special menu's and offers. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sextons Bar and Restaurant in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Co. Louth
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Good food and Fast Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Good food reasonably priced with a quick service. No need to reserve. Good of the road parking. Good menu. Friendly staff.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liamaidan, Owner at Sextons Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear 007Dundalk_Co_Louth,

Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to write about your experience with us at Sextons Bar & Restaurant. Your comments are always appreciated and I hope you will come back and visit us soon as we will be launching our new a lá Carte lunch and Dinner menu in the coming weeks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sextons Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Dundalk, County Louth
Dundalk, County Louth
 

Been to Sextons Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sextons Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.