We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly the Edwardian Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Innisfree House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Innisfree House to your Saves list
Innisfree House
Carrick Road, Dundalk, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Dundalk B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Truly the Edwardian Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Classy and bursting with 'Edwardian Charm'. Staff are very attentive and the service is 2nd to none.

The afternoon tea is to die for!

Room Tip: Make sure you have the Afternoon Tea - excellent value at €12.50 a head
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
11
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Lovely place, beautifully kept and rammed full of antique furniture. Our room had a 4 poster bed and a great bathroom. Breakfast "Edwardian" style was amazing and needs to be experienced! All in all, a fab place and will definitely return again when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Generally I am not hard to please. However, in this instance I am truly disappointed with the poor customer service I received. I bought vouchers here for afternoon tea for a present. I spent 75 euros for two vouchers. When I was buying the vouchers the girl told me the prices were going up in two weeks time for afternoon tea. So as it was a present I paid the new higher price. I didnt notice nor was it drawn to my attention that the voucher was only valid for three months (I have never seen a voucher this short) So four months later we wanted to go, noticed the date and rang them thinking there wouldnt be a problem. They point blank refused to honour the voucher. Even though it turned out the prices had not gone up so I had paid MORE than I should have and didnt get to use them at all. 45 euros vanished!
It was not the first time I had been here but the manager was so rude, I most certainly will not return!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I came from Italy and I was bored of classic Hotel. I was looking for something warm familiar and with class. I found this old house fantastic and the worker were very friendly and professional.
If you want to go there for a little holiday or for buisness this Hotel is perfekt.
Massimo Poli +39 335 7838359.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Inisfree house is a really lovely place to stay.The rooms are decorated to a very high standard as is the rest if the house and the hospitality is great. Not only is it a great experience to stay here but the accomodation is very reasonably priced. The location is very easy to get to and is only a very short walk to the town centre. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

This B&B could not have been nicer. The staff was extremely helpful - and gave an excellent recommendation for dinner in town (The Windsor), which is within walking distance - and we were fortunate enough to meet the owner and listen to a jazz rehearsal in one of the dining rooms. Breakfast was amazing and we were treated like royalty - silver tea and coffee serving sets. The french toast was to die for. It was truly a wonderful stay - and a bit off the beaten track, which was a nice way to wind down our family vacation to Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wirral
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Having to attend a family Wedding in the town I opted to stay again at this little cracker of a guest house.
Ignore the person on here who has thrown his/her dummy out of the pram over a missed breakfast-the people here could not do more for you to make you feel welcome.

I have been in the tourist trade to over 40 years and have stayed in a 7 star hotel-some of the best and worst hotels in the world and believe me I can be very critical-
So if you want to stay in a corporate box of a hotel there are plenty even in Dundalk.- but if you want something that is different central-great food-very good staff - look no further.

This B/B is a total delight-very quirky its like being on the set of Downton Abbey- lots of lovely little touches- the waiter wearing white gloves while serving you the little silver coffee pots ! great- you can keep your Jury's Inns (no offence to them they are fine)-if you want something different- this is it

Hers to the next time

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Innisfree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innisfree House

Address: Carrick Road, Dundalk, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innisfree House is a beautiful early Edwardian townhouse offering natural comfort with a warm welcome in relaxed traditional surroundings. Innisfree comes highly recommended for its accommodation, hospitality, cleanliness, and its straight-forward friendly approach to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Innisfree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innisfree House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.