We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality superb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greengates Bed and Breakfast

Greengates Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Greengates Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Greengates Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Greengates | Blackrock, Dundalk 123, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Dundalk B&B and Inns
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Hospitality superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were visiting planning to visit friends in Blackrock (near Dundalk) and found this charming accommodation on the web. There were three of us staying and we had a lovely room with one double and two twin beds.
On arrival Killian, our host, showed us the room, gave us the required information, and welcomed us. As I was bringing in the luggage (one bag) he asked if my son would like to play with his own son. As we were heading out shortly after arrival I thanked him and explained our situation. It was very nice of him, as we had had a long journey from Cork and our son would have enjoyed playing with someone of his own age.
Our room was well laid out with comfortable beds, tea/coffee facilities, information on the locality, and the breakfast booking form. The ensuite was also well supplied. The shower had good pressure and the dispenser (shampoo etc) ensured no wastage.
We had a great night's sleep and the breakfast was just what we needed. Choice of juices, cereals, yogurts, fruit etc. The full Irish was very tasty and the coffee hit the spot.
Full value for the money and the added bonus of great hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
17
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ballinrobe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Yes I would. A lovely warm welcome. One can choose from the breakfast menu the night before, so it is served quickly and efficiently the next morning with a great selection of fruits and cereal also available.
Rooms are spotless and, while the shower cubicle is small, the water power if super and bathroom also spotless.
Very helpful owners who provided a map and brochure when I made enquiries. Parking directly outside and its easy to get into Dundalk by car.
WiFi available in room and a TV is provided with tea and coffee making facilities also.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Rooms were nice and clean. Lovely welcome and breakfast.

I'm only 5 ft 4 and felt I had to crouch in our room lots of low ceilings. The shower is also really small.

All in a pleasant stay, nice owner, really quiet spot

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I first stayed here with family in 2005 and so it was the first choice to return with my wife in 2012. Orla and family are so welcoming and friendly and their home is comfortable, well located and a pleasure to make a base for Newgrange, Slane and district. Do your self a favour, stay here - your home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I always use trip adviser before booking a hotel. This time I was looking to book for a party of 10. Family and friends from the USA and UK. I read the reports and must add they Did not do this little gem justice, great place excellent location only topped by Cillian and Orla who welcomed us with Tea and Coffee on arrival. Transported the older members of our party in to town, booked a restaurant for us and made us the greatest breakfast we ever had. For 10 members of any family to agree on anything is unusual but for all to give Greengates a 10 out of 10 is remarkable. My wife and I can't wait to go back for a longer stay soon.

Room Tip: The large rooms to the front of the house are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I moved to Ireland recently and had to stay at a hotel while we were settling in. After spending our first night in a less than than pleasant hotel, we were determined to drive around Dundalk and find something better for the rest of our stay. We wanted somewhere quiet so avoided places in the town centre and stumbled upon Blackrock. We went into Greengates Bed Breakfast and asked Orla about a room and we moved in immediately. We were starving because we couldn't have any food at the last hotel so Orla agreed to give us breakfast at 11 am. It was the best breakfast we had ever had! Everything about our stay was perfect. They were really kind, accommodating and helpful. We were truly sad to leave. I would definitely recommend this place for our visiting friends and family. Thank you Orla and Killian.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powassan, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

It was our first night in Ireland, we were very tired, not having slept on the flight over from Canada. Even though we were very early for check in, our hostess Orla made up our room in a pinch and we were asleep in our bed within 10 minutes! Lovely room, breakfast was really good, and the pot of coffee one of the best we had. Thanks for a lovely welcome to your country!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greengates Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greengates Bed and Breakfast

Address: Greengates | Blackrock, Dundalk 123, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Greengates Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greengates Bed & Breakfast is nestled on the edge of Blackrock, a large, friendly seaside village that boasts beautiful scenery, bars, beaches, restaurants, views and coffee shops. Our accommodation is modern, large and spacious with many local amenities, including the Fairways Hotel and Conference Centre, within walking distance. Our home is superbly located within easy driving distance from Dublin and Belfast Airports (40 minutes each approx.), so Greengates is your perfect first and last stop in the Eurozone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Greengates Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greengates Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.