We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greengates Bed and Breakfast

Greengates Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Greengates Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Greengates Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Greengates | Blackrock, Dundalk 123, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Dundalk B&B and Inns
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed two nights,Killian and Orla run this fine bed and breakfast which would put many a hotel to shame.Lovely large and well heated bedroom, superb breakfast.Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
18
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eglinton, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed in Greengates B&B mid December 2011, when it was very cold out, icy and miserable! All that didnt really matter as I was greeted very warmly and made to feel very welcome. It would have been difficult to heat any building in the weather, but there was extra effort to make sure my room was warm and comfortable with an extra heater in place. I thought this was very considerate. The room was spotless, and felt very comfortable and homely. A very comfortable bed, clean towels, and a spotless ensuite. The electric shower was a little weak but fine. A nice little flat screen TV, Tea and Coffee making faciltiies, and free wifi all added to the comfort. A breakfast menu was provided and it was possible to choose your breakfast time within the time set for breakfast, a very personal touch.

Greengates is very easy to find, there is ample parking, and for me it was just around the corner from friends so made my trip really easy. I slept great, had a fantastic breakfast the next morning and continued to feel very welcome.

I would certainly return to this B&B, and I personally think that it provided more of a relaxed and comfortable experience that many hotels do. Highly recommended and thank you for making me feel welcome.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Owners very friendly & accommodating. Was attending a wedding a bit outside Dundalk & they drove us there. They also catered efficiently for my dietary requirements. B&b cosy & comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

we stayed here for a weekend break away .The family were really lovely and we would highly recommend you stay there. The free iternet was great and the breakfast was lovely will be back again

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I stayed with Orla and her family on a number of occasions over the last few years, and everytime that I go to Dundalk, I make sure that I try and book in here. The welcome that you receive is on par with the very best 5 star hotels in the country, the only difference here is that you feel welcome despite the fact that the prices Greengates charge are a fraction of those you would expect in the hotel. The property is quiet, extremely clean and Orla whips up a fantastic cooked or continental breakfast at whatever time you need it in the morning. Free to chat with the family, other guests, or indeed to go off and find a quiet corner by yourself, the Greengates B&B offers great rates, fantastic service and a friendly smile after a hard days work. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed at this wonderful B&B last weekend for my nieces communion. Our room was a family room which would beat any 4 star hotel. There is a great breakfast menu which suited all our family. There crepes were to die for.
The O' Grady family were so helpful and dropped and collected us on numerous occasions so we didn't have to use our car or taxis all weekend. I would highly recommend you stay here if visiting Dundalk or Blackrock

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed at Greengates b and b two weeks ago and were very impressed with the excellent standard of our room. Our room was huge, mineral water, shower gels. The family were really lovely and we would highly recommend you stay there. The free internet was great. My wife had crepes for breakfast and she says they were to die for.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greengates Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greengates Bed and Breakfast

Address: Greengates | Blackrock, Dundalk 123, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Greengates Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greengates Bed & Breakfast is nestled on the edge of Blackrock, a large, friendly seaside village that boasts beautiful scenery, bars, beaches, restaurants, views and coffee shops. Our accommodation is modern, large and spacious with many local amenities, including the Fairways Hotel and Conference Centre, within walking distance. Our home is superbly located within easy driving distance from Dublin and Belfast Airports (40 minutes each approx.), so Greengates is your perfect first and last stop in the Eurozone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Greengates Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greengates Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.