We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs badly painted” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairways Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fairways Hotel to your Saves list
Fairways Hotel
Dublin Road, Dundalk, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Dundalk
Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Needs badly painted”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel last week. While the staff were friendly and helpful, (restaurant, reception, bar, cleaners) the hotel in itself is badly in need of decorating. The halls smelt fusty, the carpets were quite heavily stained, and on a few occasions, we got dirty glasses and cutlery. Breakfast was small, I don't understand an Irish hotel that cant serve soda nor potato bread!!!! The bedroom was ample and the bed comfortable and clean

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairways10, Public Relations Manager at Fairways Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
if you read most of the other comments they do not appear to agree with you. Thats the wonderful thing in this country of free speech. People can say what they like even when they are wrong. Do come again we would love to see you both
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    115
    68
    44
    46
See reviews for
64
150
15
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
co down
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Excellent for value. Rooms were big and spotless. TV hairdryer kettle iron etc provided for your comfort. Food was to a very high standard and inexpensive. Staff were very helpful and attended to all our needs. All round excellent

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairways10, Public Relations Manager at Fairways Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Yes what a nice review you have said it all thank you please come again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed overnight in this hotel. We availed of a special offer and because of this we expected to be put into a fairly small room. BIG surprise - we got a huge room with lots of air and light. The offer entitled us to a free bottle of wine, which we got and it was lovely. Breakfast was included in the price. There was plenty of food available and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The same staff had been working the previous evening/night, but were full of smiles and greetings the next morning. The dinner menu was extremely good value for money - my husband had a huge steak (which is included in the set menu for €20 per person). The hotel was clean and bright and I would recommend it for the brilliant value for money. Will be back. :) :)

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask to see room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairways10, Public Relations Manager at Fairways Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
A huge Steak Dinner plus everything else as near perfect as you can get. Thank you we are most grateful for your comments. Imtiaz the Gen Manager now knows where his super sized steak went.
I am pleased you enjoyed.. Please come again........soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, , Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Spent a night in this lovely hotel for my Nieces wedding reception on Friday 5th of July. From the moment we stepped into the Hotel until we left next morning we were treated like V.I.Ps.... Such helpful & friendly Staff would be hard to find anywhere else. Room was spotless & Spacious... Food excellent. All in All a most enjoyable stay. Will return soon. Thanks to all the Staff at the Fairways Hotel Dundalk ... Hope your employers appriecate you.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the end of a corridor.... they tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairways10, Public Relations Manager at Fairways Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Simply the best, better than all the rest .Yes Sadie you have hit the jackpot. God Bless you come again and again and................................we would love to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilkenny, ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed recently with my husband., 3year old and 4 month old. we had a nice quiet family room at the end of the hotel. thank god., as loud music was blaring from the reception./ bar area. we just had room only so can't comment on breakfast. overall., adequate stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairways10, Public Relations Manager at Fairways Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your welcome comments. As you are aware your room is designated as a non smoking room and the guests before you chose to ignore this and decided to smoke regardless of our rules of preference. We are extremely concerned that some guests thrust their smoking habits on the rest of us . We will try to ensure that this lack of courtesy is not repeated in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for one night in May for a Christy Moore concert, the Hotel is easy to find, the staff are friendly and the room was large and in good order. The problem was that even though the room was non smoking it smelt like an ashtray, it had had a very heavy smoker in it. We went to see if we could be moved but as expected they were full and were unable. A member of housekeeping came and sprayed the room but this was a wast of time, the room needed much more than that. This unfortunately clouded our opinion of the Hotel, would we stay again? probably not.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairways10, Public Relations Manager at Fairways Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your c comments. We were as usual packed out and accommodation was in short supply. It sounds as though there was no alternative other than offer you a smokers room. For this we offer you our apologies. Please call our Gen Manager when you plan your next visit and he will arrange to ensure your next stay is as you would wish it to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great value, all the staff were very friendly and always helpful. We stayed in room 125, this was huge, very modern, very clean and so comfortable. Breakfast was great quality and plentiful. We had lunch and quality was superb.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairways10, Public Relations Manager at Fairways Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
thank you for your nice comments we are most grateful. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairways Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Dundalk, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Louth > Dundalk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Dundalk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A busy competitively priced Hotel in 6 acres of grounds . Regular entertainment is presented in our Tain Suite that seats up to 1000. We also have a smaller 300 seat Library Suite and six Syndicate Rooms, these and the Suites are regularly booked for Weddings and Private Functions. Felda Fitness is situated ajacent to the Hotel with a large Pool and Spa ,Superb Hair Salon, and state of the art fitness facilities. There is a discounted charge to use these facilities, Children are not admitted. The spacious Walnut Restaurant serves an all day Carvery and in the evenings quality Ala Carte meals that feature BIG value steaks. Children are welcome to use the FREE Bouncy Castle and Play Frame in our secure garden( weather permitting) Customers are not permitted to bring food and/or Alcohole into the hotel. Our prices are very competitive. The lowest by far in Dundalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairways Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Hotel Dundalk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairways Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.