We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carrickdale Hotel & Restaurant

Carrickdale Hotel & Restaurant
Carrickaron | Newry Road, Dundalk, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 68 Restaurants in Dundalk
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Superb.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here on Sunday. The restaurant was very busy but that did not effect the service or the food. The food was excellent and the service exceptional, prompt courteous and professional. We will go back soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Had another fantastic lunch in the Carrickdale last week. I have eaten in the Carrickdale carvery on numerous occasions - I find it nearly impossible to pass the Carrickdale and not stop for their wonderful food. I have never been disappointed - the food is always excellent specially the delicious roasts- first class traditional food. The surroundings are lovely too - a very nice bar/dining room and really helpful, friendly staff. I really love the place and can't recommend it highly enough

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Good breakfast selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Service is a bit confused/ hit-n-miss but very nice selection on each of the three menus you can choose from. Easy to make sure that everyone will find something they will like!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Galway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Friendly Comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed in the Carrickdale for a weekend break. For some reason I didn't expect much, maybe because of it's location, right on the border, but was pleasantly surprised.
The bedrooms are spacious and well kept, with all modern conveniences. The leisure centre is very good, and when we were there weren't many people and only a few children in the pool, so it was very relaxing, especially after a long hike in the mountains.
The breakfast was extremely good with a great choice of fruits, cereals, juices etc, and the full-Irish was big and tasty...obviously they use good quality ingredients.
All the staff our party encountered were extremely friendly and helpful and all Irish surpringly. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone. Well done Carrickdale.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“food still good quality.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hadn't been here for quite some time and when we entered the dining room it was as if nothing had changed over the years,it was and is still welcoming to families with young children.Food was very nice and waitresses couldn't be faulted. I felt table mats were scruffy looking and not properly cleaned little things like that, should be addressed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrickdale Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

 
Dundalk, County Louth
 

Been to Carrickdale Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrickdale Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.