We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riva Brasserie

Riva Brasserie
Earl Street, Dundalk, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 62 Restaurants in Dundalk
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the heart of Dundalk town centre within walking distance of great shopping and the main shopping attractions.This family run business is recommended by visitors and popular with locals. We can offer our guests the flexibility of a delicious bite to eat at breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or a a more indulgent al la cart dinning experience.GROUP BOOKINGS Family Occasions - Working Lunches - Christmas and New Year Parties. A superb choice of food and bar menus to suit every occasion and budget.From initial booking to service, our staff will work with you to create the perfect setting for your event. If you are looking an ideal venue for lively celebrations we can accommodate entertainers, live bands,DJs, and dance floor area. Riva Brasserie can cater for private group bookings of up to 80 persons seated or a 120 buffet style event.EXCLUSIVE PRIVATE DINING HIRE Exclusive hire of the entire restaurant is possible, this allows quests private use of the bar and dinning area for a special event, where the restaurant will be closed to the public.
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lunch treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Have been here several times for lunch good menu with different specials each day.Can get very busy between 1 an 2pm . Its a great change from the usual soup and sandwich .Good prices too

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie M, Owner at Riva Brasserie, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.
At Riva, we do our best & try offer a wide range of options, catering for all tastes.
Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    33
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ballinrobe, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great set menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was part of a large group who visited Dundalk from Ballinrobe to see S.O.N.G perform "The Pirate Queen" - we opted for the early bird set menu before the show and it was very good. The service was excellent, the choice of dish on the set menu was very good. I had the fishcakes followed by the steak (€5 surcharge) - I am very particular about how I like my steak cooked - I specified to the waiter that I wanted it rare "proper rare, bleeding on the plate rare" and I was not disappointed. The chips were served in a dear little bucket and were thick cut and beautifully cooked. The desserts were also delicious - I opted for the chocolate fondant which was devine. My boyfiend had the pannacotta - also delicious - perfectly creamy. The wine list had a good choice. We had the cabernet Sauvignan which was €20 and my friends had the sauvignan blanc - also €20 and both were very nice indeed ! It's a lovely place - great atmosphere - nothing negative at all. I have read that some poeple found the portion sizes small. I agree that the plates were not over flowing, but I was fuller than full at the end of the night ! I couldn't have fitted in another thing ! Great value and I will go there again if I ever visit Dundalk again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie M, Owner at Riva Brasserie, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi Liz, thanks so much for your review.
Our €20 set menu is going down a treat and we are delighted that you found it to your satisfaction.
We are currently reviewing our wine offering & if you liked that one, you will love our new range!
Thanks again & hopefully we'll see you next time you visit Dundalk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice spot to meet for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I agree that the portions aren't huge but plenty to eat all the same. I haven't had an evening meal but found breakfast and lunch very good. Central location too

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie M, Owner at Riva Brasserie, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi Anne, thanks very much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visits to Riva and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice food, small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Having been here a few times for lunch and once for dinner I've found the food nice and the service good but the portion sizes are extremely small. The first time I visited was for dinner and we choose the set menu I ordered the steak which there was a supplement for and although it was nice came out tiny! The same on my last visit I was there for lunch ordered the beef pie which was tasty but again very small

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie M, Manager at Riva Brasserie, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi & thank you so much for your kind review.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Riva dining experience & we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This is a cafe not a restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a few poor to average lunches here over a 12 month period. Decided to give it one last try.
It's still just ok. Food, service ok.
I noticed a lot of very young clients. Maybe this is there target clientele. If its a snack and coffee it's ok. I won't be back for dinner.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riva Brasserie also viewed

Dundalk, County Louth
 

Been to Riva Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riva Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.