We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to bring visitors” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzpatricks bar and restaurant

Fitzpatricks bar and restaurant
Rockmarshall, | Jenkinstown, Dundalk, Ireland
(0)42 937 6193
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 68 Restaurants in Dundalk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Chowder, Irish, Fish & Chips, Dessert, European
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great place to bring visitors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Fabulous setting, with it's old bar layout, vintage decor. Always good food, drink and wine list to keep everyone happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    99
    37
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Good grub and a real old worldly feel.A very nice experience if a little bit pricey. Would certainly recommend to anyone looking for somewhere a bit different but with a real ambience

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Louth, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best for vegetarians.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very impressed with Fitzpatrick's overall. I am a vegetarian so I didn't know if i'd get anything i'd like seeing as most restaurant's vegetarian option either contain mushrooms or cheese, both which I don't eat, so to my surprise they actually had a full vegetarian menu. I ordered roast butternut squash soup for starters which was delicious. Then ordered the vegetable curry for my main. I thought the curry itself was a bland, but I liked that naan bread came with it & was not an extra charge. The portion size was very good too. I got apple crumble with egg custard and ice cream which really was perfect, so full of flavour.
Will definitely be visiting it again as I would like to try some of their other vegetarian options.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Antrim Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Several visits required to enjoy the experience..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Obviously put together by folks with a quirky sense of humour.. from the ole fellows in the bed outside to the flower filled vintage cars, tables and chairs on the ceiling... I wouldn't know where to begin.
The staff were professional and friendly and the food was excellent. Great family atmosphere, plenty to occupy the kids and even good provision for the family dog!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

By chance we dropped into Fitzpatricks for lunch. Facinating place with excellent food and atmosphere. To be highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fitzpatricks bar and restaurant also viewed

Dundalk, County Louth
Dundalk, County Louth
 
Dundalk, County Louth
 

Been to Fitzpatricks bar and restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzpatricks bar and restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.