We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Set Menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grain Store Restaurant

Grain Store Restaurant
Darver Castle | Readypenny, Dundalk, Ireland
353 (0) 42 9379466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 62 Restaurants in Dundalk
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Newry, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Set Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good Food, Value and Service. Set menu offers great choice and is really good Value. Staff , whilst young, were attentive and service was excellent

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception & Ceremony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was maid of honor at a wedding which had both its ceremony and reception in Daver Castle.
Fabulous ceremony room, beautifully decorated and with the added convenience of having the reception next door. lovely surrounding for photograph also.
Meals was gorgeous and host was very attentive and friendly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I held our wedding reception at Darver Castle in October 2012 and I am not sure I can put into words how fantastic it was! We both fell in love with Darver as soon as we went to visit and went on to book our wedding for the following year. As we do not live locally we didn’t have the opportunity to have many wedding planning meetings so most of it was done over email. Everything was so easy and the staff that we dealt with were friendly, helpful and professional. I was confident that everything was under control at all times. On the day itself we really couldn’t have asked for anything more. Not only was the sun shining so that we could have our photos in the beautiful grounds, but everything else was managed so professionally that I really didn’t have to think about anything – we just concentrated on having a great time. Since the wedding (and on the day) I have lost count of the number of guests that have said how amazing they thought Darver was. The service, the food, the rooms – everyone was so complimentary about everything! I do have to add a special mention to two outstanding members of staff – Mary and Trevor. They looked after us all day and were simply amazing – I knew when we chose Darver that it would be a special wedding venue but the service that we received from Trevor and Mary made it even more than we could have imagined, nothing was too much trouble. Thanks to everyone at Darver and I would certainly recommend it to anyone thinking of having a wedding here, it is worth every penny! I only wish we could do it again!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfection Perfection Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our Daughter had her wedding reception at Darver Castle on Friday. It is hard to put into words how FABULOUS Darver Castle is. The whole experience from start to finish was absolutely brilliant. The setting, ambience, service and food gets 10/10 and is beaten only by the way the owner Aidan and his daughter Julia dealt with us. They made us feel like ours was the only wedding they were catering for during the year. Again the whole experience was wonderful and I would highly recommend Darver Castle. Aidan & Julia & staff thank you for a wonderful day.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wedding reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had our wedding reception here on the weekend of 8th & 9th of September 2012, both venue & staff far exceeded our wildest expectations, we are already planning our anniversary and Christening(s) for here again as we LOVE IT that much....
Nothing was too much or too little for the staff, they took care of the smallest details without having to be asked and even details we hadn't thought of. You are truly made to feel welcomed and at home at Darver Castle.

We cannot put into words how highly we recommend Darver either for a visit, but mostly so for your wedding venue, it is a true fairytale experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grain Store Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Grain Store Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grain Store Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.