We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paul B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glengarriff Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Glengarriff Park Hotel to your Saves list
Glengarriff Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Village, Glengarriff, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glengarriff
Athlone, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Paul B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great location for a weekend away, very comfortable hotel, modern decor, beautiful area. Good food in both bar & bistro. We had a front room over the hotel entrance, but no probolems with sound or traffic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    82
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
61
152
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Booked in for a two-night stay with my husband - the hotel is small but very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We ate both nights in the bar - we were initially disappointed to hear that the Bistro only opens at week-ends but the quality of the food and service in the bar made up for it. The atmosphere in the bar was friendly without being intrusive and the food was delicious. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a relaxing, value for money stay in the Beara - very convenient for touring or walking in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front may be quieter - chatter of kitchen staff quite audible at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Last min decision to stay and a GREAT choice ~ rooms are EXCELLENT with Tea and Coffee there is WiFi in every room its free and all around the hotel which is great. There's a Bistro in the hotel and a bar, Mc Carthy's both excellent and reasonable which is great the only down side and its NOT a fault with the Hotel is that the mobile signal is non existent. Staff are VERY friendly and helpful would have NO hesitation in recommending this Hotel for Family or Business

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here recently, it's the cleanest place I've been to, not a speck of dust even on a sunny day! The restaurant, bar & toilets are just spotless, the cutlery & glasses were sparkling. Service was top class, great friendly efficient staff. Food was just excellent, nicest salad I've ever had. I thought it was a bit overpriced as West Cork goes but certainly first class for food, standards & service. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I arrived at 10 15am to meet a friend who had stayed there the previous night and was sure that I'd have missed breakfast. What a joy it was to discover that breakfast was served until 11am and a very good and generous irish breakfast it was. The room was spacious and comfortable.After a visit to Garinish island and a walk around we were ready to settle down in the old world cosy bar and to enjoy a drink and a meal. We both chose steak and it was the best steak that I've tasted in a long time-thick and juicy and cooked just right. We had a very acceptable bottle of red wine. The staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel very much at home, checking that we had everything that we needed. The next morning we climbed to Lady Bantry's lookout and walked by the river. The scenery is beautiful with lots of walks. My only regret was that I could not stay for longer but I would hope to return another time and have already recommended the hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I literally checked in, went to the nearby Eccles hotel for a wedding and got back to the Glengarriff Park Hotel around 3am for a few hours kip before checking out at midday.

The reception were friendly and the room was lovely, the bathroom was spacious and clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Glengarriff Park Hotel in West Cork. Glengarriff village turned out to be delightful, the hotel staff was friendly and helpful, and the hotel was very well appointed. Our room was spacious, comfortable, with a great bed, and the spotless bathroom had a heated tile floor, which was a lovely treat. Because it was early in the season, meals were only being served in the bar, but we were very pleased with the service and our fish and chips were delicious. Breakfast was ample, and I have to say I've seldom had such tasty sausages or such perfectly cooked poached eggs. The weather was cold and blustery, so we decided not to explore the trails or go out to Garnish Island, but instead spent the day going around the Ring of Beara, which was just the right length trip to fill the day nicely, with lots of stop-offs and breathtaking views. But we're planning a return visit to do the things in and around Glengarriff that we missed, and will certainly stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Rooms in the section above reception, bistro and bar on the 2nd floor are nicely modernized. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glengarriff Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarriff Park Hotel

Address: The Village, Glengarriff, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Glengarriff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glengarriff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glengarriff Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the beautiful village of Glengarriff, the hotel provides luxurious & spacious rooms with heated bathroom floors. Glengarriff Park Hotel is the perfect base from which to explore the timeless beauty of its surrounding 60 acres of nature reserve, woodlands and the magical Beara Peninsula. You can also relax, enjoy traditional live Irish music and mix with the locals in our traditional Irish pub, Mac Carthy's Bar or treat yourself to a fine dining experience in The Park Bistro. Located in the centre of this stunning coastal village, nestled in the dramatic mountains of West Cork, all of the en-suite rooms have 6-foot (1.8 metre) beds and plasma flat-screen TVs. We also offer a business centre/boardroom with a Hi-Def 50" display screen with laptop connection, white board, broadband and telephone and facilities. Please enquire at reception for room rental rates. The area boasts spectacular scenery and activities, including walking, fishing, golf, sailing, gardens and horse riding. The hotel is on the N71 which links the towns of Bantry in West Cork and Kenmare in County Kerry. The Blue Pool Park and Garnish Island are within easy reach. The Glengarriff Park Hotel is fully wheelchair accessible. Hotel Rooms: 26. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Glengarriff Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glengarriff Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.