We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"What a Fantastic Holiday"!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island View House B&B

Island View House B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Island View House B&B to your Saves list
Island View House B&B
Monteen Sudder, Glengarriff, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Glengarriff B&B and Inns
WEST SUSSEX
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"What a Fantastic Holiday"!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

In August we spent a fantastic week at this excellent B & B in Glengarriff.
Our hostess Imelda really made our week with her friendly manner and extensive knowledge of the area. Our room was clean, bright and homely and had breathtaking views from both windows. The breakfasts were delicious, with plenty of choice and variations, nothing was too much trouble for Imelda to prepare. Everyone in the village is very friendly and there are some excellent places to eat and plenty of well stocked shops to browse and find gifts. If you enjoy walking this is a great place to stay, from a gentle stroll to more extensive hikes, this is the place to be! Definitely worth a visit and we will hopefully be returning in the not too distant future!

Room Tip: Room 3 has two windows, both with excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Our car broke down after we put in the wrong fuel. We were stuck until 12 hours later when at 9am the garage at the Petrol station would reopen. The wonderful B&B had a room available after 3 hotels that we called were full. A saving grace, a HUGE room with 2 double beds and ensuite bathroom. We had a great nights sleep and excellent service and hospitality from our hostess. Breakfast was fresh and delicious and all 5 of us were more than happy and satisfied! We would surely return :0)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Imelda was welcoming and very helpful, and her B&B was very comfortable. My friend and I stayed for two nights, and our room was clean and spacious and the bathroom was fine. Breakfast was very nice with several options, and the service was wonderful. We really enjoyed the town of Glengarriff and Garnish Island, and we were also able to attend the ceili at a local hotel that Imelda recommended. I would highly recommend this B&B to travelers to the area.

Room Tip: Room 5 has three single beds and a large window overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A B&B that lives up to all expectations. We received an excellent welcome, both friendly and professional. On arrival we were offered Tea or Coffee, We wanted to make the best of the day and Imelda our host helped us with advise on all the local attractions. The rooms were fresh and nicely decorated, very bright, airy and spotlessly clean. They were also very well maintained, a good size and had a cosy, homely feel. Our room had a great view and contained a Double and a single bed. The B&B is in a great location, close to the village and all other amenites. Breakfast menu had good choices and catered for all tastes. We had the Full Irish which was excellent and the service was carried out by Imelda's daughter (Rachel) who was very pleasant and professional.
We were touring the south west area of Ireland for the first time but will be returning many more times in the future

A great place to Stay

Room Tip: Most rooms have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This B&B is lovely. It epitomises Irish hospitality and excellent attention to detail, cleanliness and great food. Myself and my partner stayed here for two days and the rooms were spacious, clean and the shower was good. The breakfast was great and the coffee was excellent. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I have just returned from a wonderful holiday in southwest Ireland with my husband and two friends. We stayed at three bed and breakfasts and one castle. Three out of four places were lovely and good value, most significantly they were not much more expensive than Island View.
Island View house is unimposing and looks and feels rather like a hostel. I can believe that walkers could find this establishment acceptable although rather expensive.
The lounge is furnished with the sort of furniture popular in the fifties, my friend recognised the sofa fabric from their late grandparents caravan! The bedrooms are small and very basic, furniture of very cheep quality. Bathrooms poor and showers inefficient, toiletries only fit for emergencies.
Imelda was friendly and helpful, I am only sorry I cannot say anything positive about her B&B.

Room Tip: Avoid I am afraid
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Imelda your hostess is as warm,friendly and helpful as you could wish for. The room was clean and spacious with very simple decor. The breakfast was generous in portions and cooked expertly. We received excellent information from Imelda on where to eat, visit, and shop while in town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island View House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View House B&B

Address: Monteen Sudder, Glengarriff, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Glengarriff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glengarriff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Island View House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island View House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.