We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favourite B&B's in Ireland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arches B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glengarriff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arches B&B
The Village, Glengarriff, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Glengarriff B&B and Inns
Netherlands
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of our favourite B&B's in Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We cycled through Ireland this spring and allowed ourselves to be surprised by whatever accommodation we could find along the way. And in Glenggariff, what a surprise it was! Tea and cake on arrival, a spacious and clean room (although the latter seems to be the standard in Ireland), but most of all the copious breakfast: a big bowl of fruit, a choice of cheeses and meats, salmon, mackerel, yoghurt and cereals, and on top of that cooked breakfast. The hosts, Rosinna and Paul, were very friendly, always willing to help out with information. A very welcoming feeling indeed, and an important part of our good memories of Ireland!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, British Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We arrived early evening to warm greetings and served lovely cake and tea on the deck overlooking the river. After learning about the history of the property we were shown our spacious, tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean, room. After a great sleep in a good quality comfortable bed and good linens we enjoyed one of the best breakfasts on our trip. The hosts were interesting and informative, helping us tweak our travel plans for the next few days and they did not steer us wrong. The added bonus of this relatively new B&B is the great location and tranquil setting along the river home to very healthy mallard ducks. Beware of midges towards evening, but by then you should be comfortably seated in a local restaurant or pub recommended by your hosts.

Room Tip: Don't miss the opportunity-any of the rooms will be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We arrived in the small hours of the morning (hours later than we said) and were offered a cuppa! The room was warm, beautifully furnished and lovely bathroom. Everything spotless. But nothing prepared us for the breakfast. Just as well we were walking the Beara Way as exercise was definitely needed after that breakfast. It was absolutely beautiful, particularly the veggie version for my son. However the best, you would think had already been arrived, was yet to come. Being ridiculously under-prepared for the walk we were provided with a backpack and walking sticks for the walk. Walking sticks particularly invaluable in the mushy bog...Rosinna and her husband take hospitality onto another level. This BnB beats them all.

Room Tip: All I can say is the room we were in was excellent. As is not on busy road I would imagine that all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Lovely location in town backing up to the river with a great deck where we wre served tea and cake upon arrival overlooking the river. Large, comfortable room, great value and possibly the best breakfast we had In Ireland; fresh fruit, yoghurt, smoked fish, Irish ham, several varieties of salami, prosciutto, cheeses, breads etc+ full Irish! Lovely hosts sterred us to an enjoyable dinner down the street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We came across this place by chance. We were in Glengarriff midweek and were looking for a place to stay. We called into a couple of places but the rooms generally were very dated. We tried this place and what a joy it was. This place has only started this year. It's in an excellent location and a very very competitive 35euro pppn for two sharing. The woman who answered was instantly very genuine and friendly. The interior of the house is absolutely beautiful. The room were had was excellent, with an incredibly comfortable bed and lovely linen. Bathroom was nice and large, with a lovely view over the river. We took the room, settled in, and received lovely fresh coffee, and a very very tasty fruit cake. With a rare gap in the rain we were able to enjoy this outside, on a fabulous decking area overlooking the river. The breakfast in the morning was one of the best I have ever come across. There was an excellent selection of meats, cheeses, and fish, as well as the usual fruit, yogurt, and cereals. The full Irish was also excellent. Good quality products and very tasty. I cannot recommend this place enough. Best breakfast ever, and fantastic sleep. And lovely hosts. Just two tiny gliches - the Saorview in the room didn't work all that well but I think that is just teething problems with the new digital tv system. Trust me, it made no difference overall to our enjoyment of the stay. And secondly, this place needs a website!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We can fully recommend this B&B. After leaving the Ring of Beara (a must to do!) and before starting the Ring of Kerry we happened upon Glengarriff with no where to stay. We checked out a few possibilites, but they were tired rooms so we declined. Imagine our delight to be shown around these beautifully decorated and furnished rooms with a truly modern, light and spotless en-suite - absolutely stunning, tea and cake on arrival on the owners patio, overlooking the river - just perfect. Breakfast - well there was everything, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, pastries, smoked salmon, egg benedict as well as the offer of full Irish breakfast. This B&B is new to the market and the whole house is in perfect order to receive its guests. Go on - go there soon, you will not be disappointed! At the time of our stay it was £35pppn - worth every penny.

Room Tip: All rooms look superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arches B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arches B&B

Address: The Village, Glengarriff, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Glengarriff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glengarriff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arches is a recently opened B & B located in the heart of the beautiful village of Glengariff, West Cork.With 5 luxurious guest rooms, a guest lounge, dining room and an outdoor decked garden area overlooking the River Proudly (more commonly referred to as Glengarriff river), which runs behind the house, we have all you might need to relax and enjoy your stay.With only a 200 metre walk to the village centre you will be located within a stones throw of restaurants, bitstros, nightlife and all the natural beauty of the surrounding area. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arches B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Arches B&B to your Saves list