We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing room and view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glengarriff Eccles Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glengarriff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glengarriff Eccles Hotel
Save
You added Glengarriff Eccles Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glengarriff Harbour, Glengarriff, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Glengarriff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Connecticut
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Amazing room and view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Coming to this hotel off-season clearly has its benefits. Not only is it beautifully situated in the scenic town of Glengarriff, it has history. The chandeliers and columns still stand and one can imagine W.B. Yeats arriving for a stay. His picture hangs over the lobby fireplace and the staff tells us that he stayed there.

Room Tip: If you can swing it (better in the off-season), absolutely stay in the Yeats suite. It has its own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    67
    22
    16
    12
See reviews for
59
90
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

What an excellent base for exploring the southwest. The hotel provides country house style accommodation with 21st century facilities. Very friendly staff ensure a comfortable stay. We were lucky enough to have a room with a view over the beautiful Glengarriff Bay, absolutely stunningly. We enjoyed breakast and dinner in the restaurant, really good food with great service. Would definitely love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the bay is a bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We spent our honeymoon here in 1964 and decided to return for our golden wedding, choosing to arrive by bus from Cork as we had 50 years ago. The Eccles hotel had a quirky charm in 1964 and despite its fine extensions is just the same today. We think Charlotte Bronte, who spent a night of her honeymoon at the Eccles, would feel quite at home - with her en suite bathroom a welcome improvement.

Having been advised to book a sea-view bedroom in 1964, we did so again. As with any sea-front hotel you expect most of the rooms to be on the back or the side, so you have to be prepared for this. Also, you know when you arrive that it's a 3-star hotel, and although we would give it another star, it is not your standard modern cloned 4-star outfit. The staff are friendly and interested in the guests, and happy to give advice and help, and Wi-Fi is free on requesting the password, but you are expected to tailor your own holiday, and make your needs known. When we arrived in 1964 on our honeymoon we were given a bedroom with twin beds 3' apart. The staff didn't seem to see the joke, but changed our room anyway.

The real charm of the Eccles is still its easy relationship with its unchanged and stunning locality - very relaxing. We were independent guests, walking almost everywhere or using the local bus, with one kind lift back from Bantry in the hotel owner's car. But there was a very large Newmarket touring party in the hotel at the same time, and everyone seemed happy. There is no sheep-and-goats distinction in the restaurant; the same good service and OK menu for us all. We wouldn't change a thing.

Room Tip: Phone your needs and preferences well in advance, and check just before arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed at this hotel recently when working in the area. Though alone, I upgraded to a double room and was given one of the best, if not the best,room in the house. The view was breathtaking and the room, though not very large was very tastefully furnished and the bed was really comfortable.It had a lovely airy bathroom which also had a nice view. The lobby is a lovely place to relax after dinner as it has the feel of a grand drawing room in a country manner,completely with antique furniture and great fires. I loved it.

I had booked B&B plus dinner and the one disappointment was dinner.There was very little choice,just two for each course and very lacking in imagination. Fortunately, by paying a supplement, I was able to get steak,however for that reason I would be reluctant to stay a second night as I consider good dining an important part of a hotel stay. The breakfast was good.

I was also very happy with the staff,everyone was pleasant and attentive.So, overall a good experience but I hope they will improve the evening meal as it's a hotel I'd like to return to.

Room Tip: A room at the front is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our room had the most wonderful sea view over Garnish island. We made the most of the excellent views by taking drinks outdoors on the verandah in the evening. There is plenty to do in the area and a visit to the bamboo park is a must. We decided to stay there as it broke up our journey nicely from Cork City to Mizen Head. We stayed in this hotel at the height of the warmest irish summer in decades, yet our rooms were cool and refreshing and a wonderful restful sleep was had. The staff were pleasant, and put us at ease. The bar had a good mix of locals and tourists who mingled well together. The hotel itself still retains vestiges of 1930 old world charm (i had been there on a few occasions in the past for family weddings) and their service and care and attention to guests is second to none. We were delighted with our stay and will definately be returning next July.

Room Tip: pick a sea view view to the front, you won't regret it. The views are something out of this worl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We made a reservation for The Eccles Hotel in Glengarriff quite some time ago and this was confirmed promptly by Sharon. We booked for four and then added our third son and this was accommodated without a problem. We had agreeed at that time to pay for breakfast for the extra son. We arrived on Friday 13th and Sharon was on duty and handled our reservation with the utmost of professionalism, and was very pleasant and chatty. We ate in the bar that evening and the food was excellent. The lady in the bar was very nice - a blonde haired lady - and nothing was a problem. Our room was perfectly made up and here was ample room for the camp-bed in the centre of the family room - which had a double and two single beds. The room overlooked Glengariff Bay which was spectacular. We were there for the "An Post Rebel Tour" and so as our room overlooked the car-park we were able to feel the atmosphere as we got prepared for our cycle. The manager/owner was floating around at all times ensuring everything was in order. He was even outside to watch and support the cyclists departing. Sharon was once again on hand to handle our check out and when we reminded her of the extra breakfast she said there is no charge. We would have loved another night but due to business committments we were unable to stay. This hotel has alot of old charachter about it, its not your ultra modern hotel but boy do they make you feel welcome and at home. We will definitely recommend this hotel and have already booked for next year and will organise a weekend stay next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Have been to this hotel on a number of occasions and is still very good. Best rooms are in the front as you get a great view of the bay. There are good deals for 2 and 3 night stays with breakfast and an evening meal. Nice walk from hotel into Glengarriff town centre and lots to do in the area. Restaurant and bar food available at the hotel. Also recommend going to Ballylickey to Mannings Food Emporium. This is a gem of a place. You can buy cheese and other local produce from here. You can also have a cheese plate with antipasti plus bread for €7. Delicious. Lovely wines from around €4.50 per glass. There is seating outside and on a lovely summers day no better place to be.

Room Tip: Double or twin rooms with sea view. Standard rooms in back are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glengarriff Eccles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarriff Eccles Hotel

Address: Glengarriff Harbour, Glengarriff, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Glengarriff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Glengarriff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glengarriff Eccles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glengarriff Eccles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.