We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“favourite hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glengarriff Eccles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Glengarriff Eccles Hotel to your Saves list
Glengarriff Eccles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glengarriff Harbour, Glengarriff, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Glengarriff
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“favourite hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayes for 3 days with my husband and my parents
try and go alteast once a year
Its my little piece of heaven love this charming quiet hotel
cant wait to come back next year
beautiful room with the most amazing view of the bay

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    67
    22
    16
    12
See reviews for
59
90
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimbledon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We were staying with friends in Cork and decided to do the Ring of Kerry bit by bit, day by day. We headed off toward Bantry and as lovely as that was decided to go a bit further to find somewhere to stay. We drove to Glengarriff, passed the Eccles into the town which was buzzing with live music and street entertainment, the streets were packed - it was the early August bank holiday and we hadn't booked accommodation. We tried a couple of places on the main street with no luck - that was our luck, we went back to the Eccles and they had a couple of rooms, we were offered an upgrade for a few more €uros. Our room overlooked Bantry bay - The W B Yeats suite and it was superb. En suite, large canopied bed with enough space to entertain our own party! (we didn't). We opted for a quiet night on the large balcony with a few bottles of wine, light supper and a bit of music in the background watching the sunset - stunning, relaxing and romantic. We had a full delicious Irish breakfast delivered to the room the next morning and checked out just after 11 am. The people at the Eccles can't do enough for you, good old Irish charm in bucketfuls - lovely. This is an old fashioned hotel that caters for all age groups and families alike, the furnishings are classic rather than contemporary and they provide everything that's needed for a nice relaxing stay. There's a lot of history here too, so take time to wander around the ground floor area to soak that up and take a while on the terrace if you're not lucky enough to spend a night in the W B Yeats suite!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Stayed here for one night with my girlfriend in August 2011. I was expecting some charm and a little bit of magic but ended up been underwhelmed.
We had a nice room overlooking the bay. The place was clean and had a lovely large bed.
The food in the hotel is average. They need to add some charm or colour to the hotel. the dining room for example needs a good designers touch.
The one thing that really struck us is that the staff seem burnt out. You pick up the vibe that they really dont want to be there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schull, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I had my wedding reception at the Eccles, on a gloriously sunny Saturday in July, which meant the drinks reception could be outdoors, making the most of the beautiful setting. The staff were helpful and flexible during the planning stage. Everything went off perfectly on the day thanks to the excellent management ...I suppose most importantly the food was great and the staff were friendly and helpful, which is NB for a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere for guests...The bridal suite is gorgeous...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We held a 50th Wedding Anniversary celebration here in early August with over 100 guests in attendance. The management and staff were a pleasure to deal with when planning the event and were so helpful and efficient on the day. Nothing was left to chance! Many of the guests remarked on the stunning location, the relaxed ambiance, the very helpful staff and the beautiful meal that was served. Those who stayed overnight were delighted with their experience.

Full marks all round!

Room Tip: A room with a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in August. 2 adults and 2 children aged 10 and 14. Our family room was at the back of the hotel overlooking a cliff. Even though I had booked the hotel 3 weeks prior the receptionist said that this was the only family room available as they were fully booked. Definitely would not consider this to be a family hotel. More for senior citizens and coach parties. Did not find staff or receptionist very helpful. Hotel definitely in need of some modern refurbishment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This hotel is fab, ideal for families, children were made to feel so welcome, the staff of the hotel done anything they could with meals etc for our children, nothing or no request was a problem. It is situated in a beautiful villlage overlooking Glengarriff bay, playground and village is a short ,nice walk away. Family rooms were the best we every stayed in, very spacious. The bar food was lovely and not over priced. I could write a page on this hotel but really book it, see for yourselves. We cannot wait to go back. A small piece of West Cork we love, you won't be disappointed.

Angela O'Sullivan

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glengarriff Eccles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glengarriff Eccles Hotel

Address: Glengarriff Harbour, Glengarriff, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Glengarriff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Glengarriff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glengarriff Eccles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Glengarriff Eccles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glengarriff Eccles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.