We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beechwood House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glengarriff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beechwood House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Beechwood House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Castletown Rd. | Inchintaggart, Glengarriff, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Glengarriff B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Friendly and pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed one night at this B&B about 2km outside the centre of Glengarriff. The grounds are well kept, attractive and peaceful, so suited us nicely, but wouldn't be ideal if you were traveling from the main street bars.
Due to request from other guests with special needs we were moved from the main house to a chalet in the garden which suited us well as the adults could read in the lounge area outside the bedroom while the children settled to sleep. The decor of this accommodation was dated and could do with painting, but we didn't see the main house rooms where most guests are placed.
Breakfast was very nice and the hostess was very helpful and friendly with information and suggestions for potential routes etc
Good value and recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This B+B is set on a lovely site with nice views from the lawn. The owners made us feel right at home for the night. Breakfast was excellent. The rooms were beautiful and spacious. It probably just a little too far to walk from Glengarriff

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Beechwood House was am excellent place to stay – quiet and peaceful with wonderful view from the bedroom window. Ann was so kind and ran us in to Glengarriff for an evening meal offering to pick us up – we walked back it was such a lovely evening.

We could not fault the rooms and the breakfast room was spotless, bright and cheerful. We had a lovely breakfast on both mornings.

The Glengarriff area and the Ring of Beara are so unspoilt – far better, in our opinion, than the Ring of Kerry & Dingle – much less touristy. Wonderful walks, so well laid out. The Glengarriff forest is beautiful.

We want to return in the spring and Beechwood House will be at the top of our list to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at Beechwood House as we had a friend's wedding in Glengarriff and we absolutely loved it. It was only a short drive away from the village and easy to find.

Ann was so sweet and extremely hospitable plus our spacious room was gorgeous overlooking the bay and the mountains and so comfortable.

Glengarriff is a very quaint little village with plenty of things to do. It was very peaceful and we spent a lovely few days at Beechwood House and will definitely recommend to our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beechwood House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Castletown Rd. | Inchintaggart, Glengarriff, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Glengarriff
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Glengarriff
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run Bed & Breakfast accommodation located 1 mile/1.6km from Glengarriff village direction Castletownbere,on West Cork's Beara peninsula ~All rooms have sea & mountain views, as well as* Private showering facillities* Television* Tea/Coffee making facillities* WiFi access. You'll be able to make use of our comfortable lounge area, large gardens & patio. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beechwood House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.