We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casey's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casey's Hotel to your Saves list
Casey's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Village, Glengarriff, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Best Rates
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Glengarriff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kerry
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

An excellent room for such a low price. Easily better value for money than the last ten hotels I have stayed in. It is worth going there just for the food! There is a choice of restaurant or bar for dinner, and we opted for the bar. The food in the bar was excellent, perhaps the best meal out I have ever had. Even the carrots and gravy put other restaurants to shame.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    21
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
20
39
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed three nights, and would happily stay again at Casey's. Our room (14) was comfortable and spacious enough for two, with a large and spotless bathroom...and a tub perfect for a soaking bath after hiking on the Beara Peninsula. Dinners in the bar were excellent, in a convivial atmosphere with a mix of tourists and locals. Breakfasts were "full Irish" and well-prepared. Staff were most helpful. On our final morning, we needed to leave an hour before breakfast was due to be served. A member of staff saw to it that we had ample breakfast, tea, and coffee. We loved the place and the people.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Our room was the smallest hotel room I have ever seen.There was a double bed (very comfortable), table, two chairs and, behind the door, a luggage holder. There was a 'Teas Made' in the wardrobe but in order to access it, you had to move the table and chairs. While putting my clothes in wardrobe, my husband sat on a chaIr and I had to jump across the bed, hitting my head in the process, to get to the other side. There was an adequate en suite but just two towels, one hand and one bath. Our daughter and son in law had a much larger room with much nicer view but both rooms cost the same. The lady who served us breakfast (an Irish lady) was NOT brimming with personality.....to say the least! And just to warn anyone who fancies a boiled egg for breakfast, it's either soft or hard .....

Room Tip: Our room was No. 4. Had a view of the street but you'd have to move your table and chairs again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed here for a short break and from start to finish it was a lovely place to be. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean with the Villeroy and Boch bathrooms far superior to most four star establishment. The breakfasts were great with a good choice and dinner menus offered something for everybody in a convivial setting, I especially liked the Irish Stew and the pavlova was like a flufffy cloud of cream and meringue, and member of our party who is vegetarian was always able to find something good on the menu also. There is a comfortable sitting room where a lovely member of staff offered to set up a table for us for dinner one evening,so that we wouldn't have to wait for a table in the bar area. We opted to wait for 15 minutes but it was a very kind offer and much appreciated especially as the staff were so busy.All the staff were very friendly and helpful and set the tone for an excellent establishment. Glengarriff is an absolutely beautiful village and if you are looking for a place to stay you'd won't go wrong booking into Casey's Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We often stay in Casey's but eat in the bar even when we are staying self catering. The welcome is always warm, the staff helpful, the service efficent and the food excellent. In addition the prices are reasonable. A good spot anywhere but out on its own in Glengarriff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Casey's is a lovely, warm and friendly hotel right in the middle of gorgeous Glengarriff.

From the reception, to the bar and right through the hotel, everything is very impressive. It is clean, spacious and elegant. We had an ensuite room which was way more luxurious than you expect for the price. The decor and linen were top notch and I'd have no complaints.

Breakfast was prompt and lovely. I knew it would because we had had dinner in the bar the night before and the food was good.

I'm looking forward to getting back down to Glengarriff for a longer trip and I will certainly be booking into Casey's.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed in this hotel when we travelling around Ireland last month. The staff who greeted us at reception were very friendly and welcoming and our room was spacious, clean and modern. we had dinner in the hotel bar and the portions were very generous and reasonably priced. Located on the main street of town, it is ideally located to explore the local area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casey's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casey's Hotel

Address: The Village, Glengarriff, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Glengarriff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Glengarriff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casey's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel dedicated to providing quality accommodation combined with friendly service, care and value.•Newly refurbished ensuite rooms•Walking distance to nature reserve and lakes•A perfect base for walking, sailing, golfing, cycling, touring or just relaxing.•Private off street car parking•1.5 hours from Cork Airport or Ferryport•Fresh local produce and seafood daily in our restaurant and bar•Located within the heart of the picturesque village of Glengarriff on the shores of the Atlantic at the foot of the Cork and Kerry mountainsAllow us to spoil you at Casey’s Hotel, Glengarriff where comfortable rooms, superb dining, finest location and friendly personal service will make choosing Casey’s the very best decision.Casey's Hotel is situated on the Beara Peninsula.13km from Adrigole Village (15 min drive) on the R57217.7km from Healy Pass Road (18 min drive) on the R57231.4km from Castletownbere (30 min drive) on the R57239.4km from Eyeries Village ( 42 min drive) on the R57241.6 km from Ardgroom Village (42 min drive) on the R571 on to R574 & on to R57241.6 km Dzogchen Beara, Garranes (42 min drive) on the R57251.8 km from Allihies Village ( 53 min drive) on the R57255 km from Dursey Island ( 1 Hour drive) on the R572 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Casey's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casey's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.