We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clifford's B & B

Clifford's B & B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Clifford's B & B to your Saves list
Clifford's B & B
Main Street | Abbie Clifford, Waterville, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Waterville B&B and Inns
London, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quiet Town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you find yourself in Waterville, then this is a very good location, but don't arrive too early as your hostess might not be there ! It's 2 minute walk from the downtown pubs and restaurants, across the road from the Sea, a nice beach to walk on. Breakfast is very good, the rooms are fine, mind you we did have a front room with an ocean view which made it nicer just listening to the waves. There is not much to do in Waterville in the off season, so don't expect any Irish entertainment at any of the local pubs, but a good location to explore the rest of the Ring of Kerry from.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View, but there are only a couple of them available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
11
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Abbie is a kind and gracious host. Gave us all the info.we needed to tour the area. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. There is much to see and do in this part of the country. Fisherman's Bar in Waterville is a great pub. My family will travel to Ireland next summer & I have recommended Clifford's BnB.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed for three nights at Clifford's and couldn't fault it. It was great value, spotlessly clean and served a great breakfast, just what a B&B should be.
It's located on the seafront in the village and looks out across the bay. On my arrival and departure I found Abbie to be very helpful and genuine. The room was very comfortable with very new looking and feeling sheets and pillows. I would highly recommend it and will be staying on my next visit to Waterville.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

extremely pleasant stay, the twin room was very big with a beautiful view of the sea!! Abbie was very polite, welcoming and very accommodating. The breakfast decent (a lot better than some of the previous B & B's i have stayed in) Would definitely return!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We have stayed at Cliffords Bed and Breakfast in Waterville for the past 3 years and look forward to staying there in the coming years for our Walking Holiday. I am surprised at some of the reviews I read. Abbie is so accommodating, she has drying facilities, for walkers, she even collected us on one occasion when it was raining heavily and we were soaked through. There are rooms at the front of the house looking straight out to the Ocean. However as with any establishment if these rooms are gone than you will get a room at the back of the house which one reviewer pointed out below. This would happen in any establishment (We know because we travel around so much).

The breakfast is fantastic, Free WiFi available. 2 minutes walk to the centre of the town and all bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

While touring the Ring of Kerry it took much longer than we thought, so we decided to stop in the little Village of Waterville, at a B&B callled cliffords Ocean View.
Although the house was Quiet old it was kept pretty clean . However unlike the title our room had only a backyard View. I think maybe their is only one room with a sea View. But as it was only for the one night and the lady was quite easy to bargin down to euro 25.00 per person..There are some good seafood resturants in Waterville.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberec, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Clearly Clifford's was a good stay but not excellent one: the B&B was a bit old but still in a good shape.
So was the breakfast: classical without excellence but good.

However the part of sunshine came from our host. Very welcoming, she also took care of her guests marvellously: seeing the bad weather and knowing we would arrive by foot, she called us to pick us earlier.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clifford's B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifford's B & B

Address: Main Street | Abbie Clifford, Waterville, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Waterville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Clifford's B&B, We are a traditional family run Bed and Breakfast on Waterville's waterfront and half way on the famous Ring of Kerry. We have been welcoming guests here since 1991 and have enjoyed many a return guest.We, at Clifford's B&B have spectacular Sea Views overlooking The Atlantic Ocean with private off street parking. We are centrally located in Waterville Village within walking distance of excellent Restaurants and Pubs. We are only two minutes drive from the world famous Waterville Golf Links and one minute drive from the new Skellig Bay Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Clifford's B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clifford's B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.