We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub in a tiny town on The Ring of Kerry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fishermen's Bar

Fishermen's Bar
Butler Arms Hotel, Waterville, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 14 Restaurants in Waterville
Cuisines: Irish
Description: Bar/Restaurant in hotel but open to public
Restaurant details
Description: Bar/Restaurant in hotel but open to public
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Great pub in a tiny town on The Ring of Kerry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

There are only a few choices for dinner in Waterville. We read the menus in the windows and The Fisherman's Bar seemed to appeal to both of us. The owner of our B&B had also mention it as a good choice. We went in and decided to have a drink at the bar before dinner. The place has a traditional pub atmosphere, warm and friendly. The night we were there, the place seemed to be filled with friendly local folks. There are three separate seating areas for dinner, and we sat in the middle one. We ordered: sautéed cod for me, rump of lamb for my wife. Both were cooked perfectly, the fish was fresh and delicious, and my wife said her lamb was excellent.
The service was attentive, the food was excellent and the atmosphere we perfect. I recommend this restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    2
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a party of ten and the restaurant was very accommodating in getting us a table and letting us order from the bar menu and get the early bird prices. The food was great.= and the early bird was very affordable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Pricey for what we got. Manageress/ head waitress cold and uninviting. Meat and some few veg. Won't be returning.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointing and poor value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

While on holiday in Kerry we took our grandchildren to lunch at the fishermen s bar. The food was disappointing. I had goats cheese with beetroot chutney. It was extremely small and I was starving afterwards but it cost nearly 8€. I think it was a starter rather than a lunch but for the price was poor. The children had the children's menu which consisted of awful chips and sausage or chicken gouchons . It was an insult to children's tastes. Staff friendly and working at a disadvantage.
Visit the marble city bar in kilkenny to find out what good value and good food should be.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The value in this restaurant is unbelievable! It seems pricey on the menu but when the food comes out the portions are huge! I had the chowder and it was a beefy portion with nearly 3/4 of the bowl with fish, unlike a bowl of water with no fish!
The only downside was my friend found a hair in his soup and the bill was made out incorrectly, this was all sorted and the soup was given free of charge! The bar staff were extremely friendly and the live music really gave a fantastic atmosphere. I visited over 5 times on my weeks stay and loved drinking there too! Amazing restaurant and best pub in waterville town :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishermen's Bar also viewed

Waterville, County Kerry
Waterville, County Kerry
 
Waterville, County Kerry
 

Been to Fishermen's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fishermen's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.