We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish country perfection – highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brookhaven Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Brookhaven Guest House to your Saves list
Brookhaven Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Newline Rd- wterville- Ring of Kerry | County Kerry, Waterville, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Waterville B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Irish country perfection – highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had a lovely and memorable one-night stay at the Brookhaven Guest House. The location is perfect, just outside of Waterville on the southwestern Ring of Kerry, for splitting the drive into two meandering scenery-filled days. But most strikingly, the owner and proprietress takes great pride in every detail of the space. The bedroom, breakfast room, and entryway are beautifully appointed and impeccably clean. The bedroom was spacious with a comfortable King-size bed, antique-style card table and chairs, and waiting large bottle of water. There was a bathtub – in our experience, not common in B&B bathrooms elsewhere in Ireland. In the morning, the traditional Irish breakfast, especially the black pudding, was our favorite of the trip. We hope you get the chance to visit this lovingly cared-for little spot on the magnificent Iveragh peninsula.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    12
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
40
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bellville, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Is there a bad B&B in Ireland? Not in my experience, but there are some that stand out and Brookhaven is at the top of that list. A nice location by my priorities - just outside of town for peace and quiet and enough nice yard to walk around in, but just minutes from restaurants and the great golf course which brought me to Waterville. Friendly service. Extra clean. Perfect. A Full Texan seal of approval!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riner, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My father and I stayed here during a multiple week golf vacation and were very impressed with the the facilities and the staff. The proprietor was very courteous and also provided a great Irish breakfast in the morning! Would strongly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Brookhaven is like being treated for a night out … right at home!

Making reservations for us for dinner … knowing it was the Chaplin Festival going on and there would be trouble finding dinner that night … waking early the next morning so that we would have a breakfast before our golf game … and providing a clean room and living room to enjoy a night's visit. Saying 'hello in there' to a traveler on the road … asking me if I'd like a cup of tea and bringing it into the living room where the internet worked best (with some lovely cookies) … truly a pleasant experience. If you're in Waterville, Ireland … don't miss the chance to stay HERE!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I spent nine wonderful days at the Brookhaven guest house just outside Waterville. My hosts, the Clifford family, gave me a typical warm Kerry welcome and I slept soundly after the long drive.

The room, like all the house, was spotlessly clean and the beds as comfortable as one could wish for. A full Irish breakfast was on offer every morning or, as an alternative, smoked salmon on scrambled eggs.

The guest house is perfectly situated right on the ring of Kerry and has at least two excellent restaurants (Dooley's and The Smuggler's Inn ) and a golf course within easy reach.

It was my original intention to stay about four days in Brookhaven and move on. I felt so relaxed and at home, though, that I spent the entire holiday in Brookhaven. You will not find two kinder hosts than the Cliffords. They run a first class guest house and I would heartily recommend it as a base to discover this part of Kerry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My family recently visited Waterville during a wonderful two week tour around Ireland. We loved the country and particularly enjoyed our stay in Waterville. We decided to spend our nights in local B&B’s, primarily for convenience and to experience the renowned Irish hospitality. We were so pleased that we did. We stayed in about 10 B&B’s over the two weeks, so got to know the differences well, and my reviews are relative to each other and not to other B&B’s in the area. Generally the B&B operators were local, knowledgeable about the area and they consistently demonstrated wonderful Irish hospitality. Our stay at Brookhaven was no different. Mary was a wonderful host. The B&B is located a few minutes’ drive to Waterville Golf Links where my son and I played golf. The B&B was easy to find; parking was convenient and check-in was very smooth. The comfort and quality of the rooms were adequate for our needs, and the beds comfortable enough. Our room and ensuite bathroom was spotless. Our round of golf was early in the morning and Mary was wonderful in preparing us a “packed” breakfast. We got soaked as the Irish weather finally caught up with us. It took me three days to dry out but Mary was kind enough to let us use their clothes dryer so our clothes dried much quicker. Overall a nice stay and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jilliby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The room was spacious, clean and with a real Irish countryside to appreciate from the upper storey windows. The house warm and welcoming and Mary made us both feel at "home" with advise on local attractions and restaurants.
The most pleasing aspect was that it was not just a room attached to a shower/toilet but a place to stay. There was a wardrobe, table and lounge chair and still enough area to enable us to bring in two large suitcases and be able to move around freely.
The breakfast was more than adequate, and the dining area again spotlessly clean.
We would have liked to have all B+B to have been at this exceptional standard.
John and Sharon

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brookhaven Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookhaven Guest House

Address: Newline Rd- wterville- Ring of Kerry | County Kerry, Waterville, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Waterville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookhaven Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookhaven is a purpose built, family run, Irish Tourist Board approved guesthouse. It is located half way around the scenic Ring of Kerry. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, and Waterville Championship Golf Course, our luxuriously fitted property has all of the conveniences you would expect from a four star accommodation. Ideally suited to golfers and outdoor enthusiasts alike, we have drying room facilities for your convenience as well as a large garden for your relaxation. Comfortable and tastefully decorated, rooms are available in twin, double, triple and family sleeping options. All of our rooms are en suite and come with the following facilities:- Spacious en suites with bath and power shower- Stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean and Waterville Golf Course- Direct dialtelephone- Free WiFi highspeed internet access- Multichannel TV- Hairdryer- Ironing board and trouser press- Hospitality tray- Room service also available. Recommended by all leading guide books. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brookhaven Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookhaven Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.