We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smuggler's Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Smuggler's Inn to your Saves list
Smuggler's Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Cliff Road, Waterville, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Waterville B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great place to stay !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Location is 5 star - quite amazing ! Room 3 at the back of the hotel looks over the wild, exciting Atlantic Sea.
Restaurant & food are recommended, but the staff seemed under pressure & needed to be more relaxed.
Rooms are OK, but an update/upgrade would be really nice.
Overall - the place is very good & we'd be very happy to return..

Room Tip: With a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for reviewing The Smugglers Inn and delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to return, which we hope will be in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
14
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Smugglers is in such a lovely location, would be lovely if they had floor to ceiling windows and a mezz floor but thats me asking for a lot!
Food was very nice.. I had a seafood chowder which was great I then had the hot pot, the meat wasnt as tender as i expected and a bit dry but was nice but not what i expected. I would say dont have the curry, you shouldnt go to Ireland for a curry.
Service was okay, but we had to wait and then served for the barman who had no knowledge of the menu and not great customer service... not sure I would rush back but would certainly go again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for dining at The Smugglers Inn and for your review. We are sorry to hear that what you ordered was not as expected - the Pot Roast and Chicken Curry are dishes which appear on our Menu of the Day. We do have an extensive menu with many other dishes, seafood being our speciality, so you should try something different when you come again. Regarding the knowledge and service from our barman, he should know about our menu and have given you better service and we will be speaking to him on this matter. Please accept our apologies and glad to read that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have stayed in the Smugglers Inn in several occasions and will certainly visit again. The hospitality of the Hunt family is outstanding only surpassed by the great food prepared by chef Henry best lobster and oysters ever. The scenic location just adds to the enjoyment of your stay. Looking forward to our next visit. Brendan and Eileen Co. Kildare.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Brendan & Eileen, thank you so much for your review and we are delighted to read that you enjoy The Smugglers Inn and return to us time and time again. We buy only the freshest lobsters and oysters, which are caught locally, so that our customers can enjoy the best seafood from Kerry, all served in our very scenic location . We look forward to welcoming you once again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Spent a relaxing wk-end in the smugglers inn, got a good deal 85euro for 2 nights b&b for 2 adults and 20 euro pn extra for my son. The smugglers inn is located in the most beautiful location right next to the beach and across from waterville golf course.On entering the inn through a small comfortable bar, we were welcomed and given key to room, we stayed in room 7 which was clean had double bed, and 2 singles, and sitting area with tv, tea/coffee making facilities and ensuite bathroom, the room decor was ok bit dated but the bed omg best nights sleep ever.Rooms at the back of this inn are more modern in style and the view from the window you are practically in the sea they looked stunning would request one of these rooms when and if i return.There is also a tv lounge for guests with sky tv but the view is the only thing you will watch.We ate in the bar first night, same menu as restaurant all three of us had early bird 25euro for three course meal the food was excellent both flavour and presentation were 5 star.On the saturday night we dined in the restaurant where the view alone is truly stunning we were disappointed we didn't have window seat but restaurant was busy, and the food made up for it, you must try the prawns out of this world, all three of us had steaks i had the 8oz fillet 30euro it was divine, the sirlion was 25euro my only complaint /suggestion been these were also 8oz all though enough for my son my husand would of liked option of paying extra, for larger size.Breakfast is cooked to order and again served in restuarant, we had a lovely break beautiful food served by pleasent staff great walks on the beach what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for reviewing The Smugglers Inn. We are pleased to read you enjoyed a relaxing weekend with us, took advantage of our very special offer, and had best nights sleep ever - must be all the fresh sea air down here. We are also very pleased to read that you dined with us each evening and we will take on board your comment/suggestion regarding option of paying extra for a larger size steak. We hope to welcome you here again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Spent a lovely night at the smugglers inn , ate at the restaurant and the food was well presented and delicious. Very friendly and accommodating staff. The views from the restaurant and most of the rooms are spectacular miles of coastline and wonderful beaches. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your review of The Smugglers Inn and we are very pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us, enjoying the fabulous views of coastline and beaches here. Thank you also for dining with us during your stay and delighted that you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to welcoming you again on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just back from a 2 day break in the Smugglers inn.What a magnificent location,adjoining the glorious beach and Ballinskelligs Bay.Other reviewers have classified it as a B&B rather than a Hotel,and are probably correct.No Spa or Swinning pool(the Atlantic is 50 yards from the INN.The front overlooks the Waterville Golf Links,wher Tiger Woods,Mark O Meara,and Payne Stewart practised before winning a number of British Opens.The staff were friendly and helpful.The food was top class and worthy of five star hotels.The view from the dining room is just awesome.A final bonus was the nice weather.

Room Tip: the seaside rooms have splendid views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for reviewing The Smugglers Inn and for recognising that we are a B&B and not a hotel. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay, with us with the added bonus of fine weather, it makes such a difference when the sun is shining. Thank you also for dining with us during your stay and for your very complimentary comments - it makes our hard work woth it to hear such praise. We hope you will come back to us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Whatever the complaints are about the rooms, it has to be said that this is a B&B and not a hotel. For me, the fresh food and stunning views more than make up for the rooms' shortcomings. Where else do you know where you can sit eating a delicious breakfast and watch dolphins playing. I did on Friday morning and I will never forget it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irelandchef, Owner at Smuggler's Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your review of The Smugglers Inn and recognising that we are a B&B and not a hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the views and fresh food we offer here. To see the dolphins playing outside is indeed something very special to remember.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smuggler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smuggler's Inn

Address: Cliff Road, Waterville, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Waterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Waterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smuggler's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Smuggler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smuggler`s Hotel Waterville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smuggler's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.