We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, comfy rooms, beautiful scenery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glasson, Athlone, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly staff, comfy rooms, beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding and had a ball. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. Nothing was a problem or too much trouble and they made us feel welcome and at home. Our room was comfortable and spacious and had a lovely view. We took a walk down by the lake the next day which was beautiful and views from the hotel restaurant were stunning. This is our second time staying here and both times have been great. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear AB,
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your second stay with us in Glasson and that you were made to feel welcome and at home. As a family run business the friendliness of our staff is one of the most important assets at Glasson and I am delighted to hear that is is felt by our guests. Returning guests are so important and we have so many people that come back every year because of our staff and location.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon again and thank you for sharing your Glasson Experience with us.

Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    54
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
72
127
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for a wedding and I couldn't praise it enough. From the minute you walk in the door the staff, management and owners are friendly and within 5 minutes you feel like they know you personally. They are chatty,professional and very helpful .

The rooms were a lovely surprise because having 4 young children most hotels don't cater very well for us, but the rooms were spacious and every child had a "real" bed. The rooms were also modern and very clean, and all of the rooms that we were in had a lovely view. The area is scenic and relaxing.

The food in the restaurant the night before and on the day of the wedding was top class and the service was fantastic. Also the room which the service was held in was decorated beautifully with lovely views.

highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear SharonQ,
Thank you for sharing your feedback and it is great to know that you and your family had a comfortable stay in our spacious rooms. When Tom & Breda were building the Hotel particular attention was paid to the size of the rooms to ensure they were spacious enough for families, and it is great to be able to fit beds for everyone and still have space to relax in. Thank you also for your feedback on the quality of our food, our Chef is delighted with the praise.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Glasson soon again and thank you again for sharing your Glasson Family Experience.

Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My family (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed a Saturday night in late February. Very relaxing hotel. Beautiful location. Lovely room. Great attention to detail. Hotel was exceptionally clean and well kept. The owner ( as I found out later ) came over chatting after our tasty bar food meal, was very friendly, wondering how was everything. That attention to detail has paid off in the long run....therefore not surprised its no. 1 on trip advisor in Athlone area. Its a family run hotel and it shows.

Special note of congratulations and thanks to the very friendly check in / reception staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear J_Sligo2014,
It is wonderful to hear that you had a lovely relaxing Hotel Experience and I am delighted you had the chance to chat with Tom. Tom is always on hand to meet guests on a daily basis, which is vital in our family run business. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your lovely comments to all our staff to show our appreciation of their hard work.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We have just returned home from a fantastic weekend in Glasson Country House Hotel, we arrived to a warm reception with a cosy log fire in the corner and an equally welcoming receptionist. The hotel is very well maintained with luxurious and spacious bedrooms and great bar and restaurant facilities. On Saturday we played golf on the hotel course and for this time of year and the weather we have had it was in very good condition and a fabulous setting. Throughout the weekend the staff were excellent and couldn't have done more for us in particular the bar staff on Friday night when we dined in the restaurant. We feel this hotel is worthy of our praise and from the moment you walk in you know it is a family run establishment. The location is excellent and Glasson village is worth visiting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear LornaW,
Thank you so much for sharing your Glasson Experience and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable and relaxing break at Glasson. As a family run Hotel our staff are wonderful in ensuring that the friendly ethos of the hotel is communicated to all our guests. We are very proud of all the efforts they put in every day to ensure our guests are taken care of. The Golf Course staff work tirelessly throughout the year to maintain the high standards of the Golf Course, I have passed your comments on to them to show our appreciation of their efforts.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson in the near future.

Kind regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We had two days of meetings for just under twenty people, staying overnight. We needed break out rooms as there were a number of confidential meetings required. The Staff were outstanding in meeting our requirements. Wifi was excellent, white screeens, projectors and flip charts all laid on. Food was excellent and very well priced as was the wine which we very much enjoyed when all the work was over well in to the night. This family run Hotel is one of those rare gem's that is a pleasure to stay in. They have created a very special atmosphere which can mix work with a round of Golf afterwards or to take off on to the lordly Shannon and enjoy its wonderful tranquility. It also makes a stunning venue for a wedding with the breathtaking views of the lakes and surrounding countrside coupled with a very impressive function room with its commanding views. Enjoy .....a most memorable stay

Room Tip: Look for a room looking out on to the Inner Lakes, they are spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear JFMLeech,
I was delighted to read about your Glasson Conference Experience and it wonderful to know that our staff were outstanding in meeting your requirements, and that we offer value for money. Glasson is a wonderful location for conferences with our peaceful lakeside location, and superb golf and water sports available on site.

Thank you again for sharing your Glasson Experience and we look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back to Glasson in the near future.

Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Best hotel we have stayed in food rooms staff service 5 star. This hotels standards never drop they just get better,we have been visiting the Glasson hotel for over 10 years and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: All great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear EugeneH,
Thank you for sharing your Glasson Experience with us and we take great pleasure in welcoming you back to Glasson each year for your Christmas Visit. I am delighted to hear that our standard of service is always maintained at such a high level.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in Christmas 2014.
Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed here the day after our wedding and were upgraded to a suite in honour of the occasion. This was very much appreciated and started off our stay on a great note. The room was lovely and the staff could not have been nicer.

We missed breakfast, but did have lunch which was mediocre. We got a late checkout without any issues and very much enjoyed our stay from start to finish.

The one issue I had with the hotel is that we had come to view it months earlier as a potential venue for our wedding. The staff on that day (a Sunday) were completely uninterested despite our appointment and actually advised us to try somewhere like the Mullingar Park Hotel as they offer "great deals". We were very offended, as Glasson Golf was at that time our first choice and not out of our price range at all. We live relatively locally and would have liked up give them our business - it was theirs to lose, and they did. I don't bare any ill will - we still booked in to stay there after the wedding, and any of our wedding guests who could not get a room in our wedding venue were directed to here, where they all had a great stay. Unsurprisingly, they had no wedding on in the hotel that weekend and didn't seem
to realise that they had missed out on ours.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#1 Business Hotel in Athlone
#2 Family Hotel in Athlone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club is a 4 star lakeside golf hotel located close to Athlone in County Westmeath. All of our guests experience the warmth of the Glasson welcome, super spacious Bedrooms & public areas to relax and unwind in, superb food in our New Killinure Restaurant and Lakeside Bar with panoramic Lakeside Views. For our Guests it is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or your big wedding day. With the addition of a spectacular New Bar, Restaurant & Banqueting suite in May 2010 taking full advantage of the amazing Lake Views you can relax and unwind in comfort. Our Four Star Hotel & Championship Golf Course have been designed with the discerning hotel guest in mind. Situated just outside the quaint village of Glasson (Goldsmiths 'village of the roses') in Midlands Ireland and nestled on the tranquil shores of Lough Ree, this family-run Country House Hotel is the ideal get-away for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasson Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Glasson Hotel Athlone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.