We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club to your Saves list
Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glasson, Athlone, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
IRELAND
1 review
“D n D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We attended a wedding at the hotel very recently, we only stayed for one night but I certainly would like to return to stay here at another time.I was impressed with everything. It is a lovely hotel in a most beautiful location. The staff were so helpful and very friendly. I have dietary requirements and this was catered for without any fuss at all times. The wedding breakfast was one of the best I have ever had, and, the service was excellent.
Our room was very spacious and bright, and the bathroom really well done, perfect lighting, and mirrors and all spotless.
We met the owner, a lovely gentleman, who gave us the history of the place,it was very interesting. I do hope I will get a chance to stay there again and also to explore Glasson .
The Kilkee Girls

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear DnDIreland,
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your Glasson Experience, it is always great to hear about how helpful & friendly the Glasson Team are, they are our greatest asset without whose effort we would not be able to maintain our Family Run Business.
I have passed your comments on to Tom, my father, and he is delighted that he was able to fill you in on all the History of Glasson, his family Home.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson in the near future and once again thank you for your kind words.
Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    61
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
86
140
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights while attending a party locally, and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly from the moment we arrived until the moment we left, and were very helpful. There was a Wedding on one day, but the staff coped extremely well and were very efficient in the bar. We only had breakfast in the hotel and it was very good typical Irish breakfast. Bedroom was very nice and comfortable, with great views over the golf course and lake. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean.
We played golf one day and the course was in great condition and very well maintained. It is a good test of golf for nearly all level of player. Greens were in particularly good condition. The location is beautiful with nice country walks. Local village of Glasson is very pretty with lovely pubs for a quiet drink. Good restaurants also in the area. If you want to relax it is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We would advise asking for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear CiaranR,
Thank you for your feedback and I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always very conscious of taking care of all of our guests during their stay. We have allot of different events on in the Hotel and it is crucial that everyone's stay is what they expect and they are not disturbed by other events in the Hotel. I am delighted that you were made to feel welcome throughout your stay.
The Green Keepers were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Golf and were impressed with their maintenance. They work very hard all year to keep the course in top class condition.
Thank you again for haring your Glasson Experience with us and hopefully we will be welcoming you back to Glasson in the near future.
Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here recently for 2 nights for a family wedding. The hotel is very bright and has a homely feel with fantastic views. You could happily sit outside for the day looking on to the golf course.

Had a deluxe room which was bigger than normal.
I stayed in the hotel on a saturday and sunday night, same key staff were around for both days which I really like in a hotel. All the staff were friendly and professional.

Glasson village is less than 10mins drive away and the reception staff were happy to call us taxis when we needed them.

For such a big hotel, it has a family run small feel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Niamh3699,
We are delighted with your feed back and that you found us to have " Great Staff & Location", they are two key elements for our customers. The most important to us being ho well our staff take care of you during your stay. As a family run Hotel we always try to ensure that everyone is made to feel at home and enjoy their Glasson Experience.

Hopefully we will be welcoming you back to Glasson on another occasion and thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Two of us stayed for 3 days and had a really nice time. Our room, and its bathroom, were spacious, and we had a lovely view of the green and the water beyond. The staff, including the owner, his daughter and son-in-law, were extremely pleasant. We had one snack and one 4-course meal which were very good. We felt also that the breakfasts - the content of which were the same as most hotel breakfasts - were very well cooked and tasty.
You get a feeling of space inside and outside the hotel. The views are beautiful.
The area, Glasson, is very pretty and has a number of great restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear FM,
Thank you for sharing your Glasson Experience with us and I am delighted that you got to meet myself and my family during your stay, as a family run Hotel it is really important for us to meet and greet our Guests. The feeling of space in both the Bedrooms and Hotel itself, is a great asset also, allowing guests to really relax during there stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and hopefully we can welcome you back to Glasson again soon.

Kind Regards
Cathriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with the family as a surprise treat and wasn't dissappointed. A beautiful and peaceful location with, as many others have indicated, wonderful views.
The hotel is lovely, with very spacious and comfortable rooms but what really sets Glasson apart are it's staff. Always warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble for them and the whole place has a very personal feel to it. We've been fortunate to stay at some beautiful hotels over the years, all of which were lovely but had a 'cold' efficency about them. At Glasson you get a sense that your staying at a friends house, such is their warmth.

Some other members of the family that live in various parts of Ireland came down for a small 'gathering' and were equally impressed.

Food is lovely as well......you will not go hungry here!

Finally as someone who has previously travelled to Ireland on numerous occasions to play golf (although not on this occasion) the course looks fab, with fairways the quality of some 'greens' I've had to putt on.

If you are staying in central Ireland, do not hesitate to stay here!

Room Tip: For that extra bit of luxury and for not a lot extra, try booking a suite overlooking the lake, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear pauls191265,
When I read your review I was so delighted that you felt as though you were staying at a Friends House. It is our aim that all our guests feel that Glasson is a home away from home and they become a part of the Glasson Family. Your review has been passed on to all the team here at Glasson, we are very proud of the effort that everyone puts in to ensure our guests enjoy their stay.

I am delighted to know that the members of your family gathering were equally impressed. Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to Glasson again in the future and hopefully you will get a chance to Golf next time.

Kind Regards
Cathriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Cannot recommend this hotel and their staff highly enough. The quality of the food, the friendly staff and the fabulous views made our stay a thoroughly enjoyable one. The golf course is excellent. We will definitely return to this hotel and recommend it as exceptional value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out onto the Lough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Angiemc8,
It is always wonderful to know that our guests would highly recommend us to their friends. We all work very hard to ensure that everyone enjoys their stay with us and it is good to know that we offer value for money to our guests.

Thank you so much for your review which I have passed on to all the team at Glasson so that they know how much we appreciate their efforts. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Glasson in the future.

Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Celbridge Golf Society, Co. Kildare, Ireland

In 1999, I sent a report of our society outing to Glasson Golf Club to our local newspaper, The Liffey Champion and I quote
" This was our sixth visit to this gem of a course, and all that were present had the highest of praise for the whole set up. Glasson will be the first outing in our diary for a long time to come."

As Glasson Country House and Golf Club celebrates twenty years, I am delighted to say that we visited again last Saturday 22nd June 2013 for the twentieth year in a row.
We have also booked and look forward to our twenty first visit in 2014!!!
To Tom Reid and his wife, to Fidelma and Gareth, all to all the wonderful staff at Glasson Country House and Golf Club, thanks for everything in the past and wishing you well for the next twenty years!

P.S. The gem of a course in 1999 has matured into a diamond of a course over the years!

Best wishes from all at Celbridge Golf Society,
Seán Mc Keown
Hon. Sec.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlassonCountryHouse, Owner at Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear SeanMcK,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience of Glasson over the past twenty years, it seems like only yesterday that we extended the Warm Glasson Welcome to you and all the golfers from the Celbridge Golf Society. It has always been a pleasure taking care of your group.

Tom is delighted with your description of the Course as are all the dedicated Course Staff, & Hotel staff. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to Glasson again and again.

Thank you again and see you in Glasson very soon.

Kind Regards
Fidelma Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Glasson, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Athlone
#1 Luxury Hotel in Athlone
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athlone
#3 Business Hotel in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glasson Country House Hotel and Golf Club is a 4 star lakeside golf hotel located close to Athlone in County Westmeath. All of our guests experience the warmth of the Glasson welcome, super spacious Bedrooms & public areas to relax and unwind in, superb food in our New Killinure Restaurant and Lakeside Bar with panoramic Lakeside Views. For our Guests it is the perfect hotel for business, leisure or your big wedding day. With the addition of a spectacular New Bar, Restaurant & Banqueting suite in May 2010 taking full advantage of the amazing Lake Views you can relax and unwind in comfort. Our Four Star Hotel & Championship Golf Course have been designed with the discerning hotel guest in mind. Situated just outside the quaint village of Glasson (Goldsmiths 'village of the roses') in Midlands Ireland and nestled on the tranquil shores of Lough Ree, this family-run Country House Hotel is the ideal get-away for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasson Country House Hotel And Golf Club
Glasson Hotel Athlone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glasson Country House Hotel & Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.