We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coosan Cottage Eco Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Athlone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coosan Cottage Eco Guesthouse
Save
You added Coosan Cottage Eco Guesthouse to your Saves list
Coosan Point Rd. | Coosan, Athlone 09064, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Athlone B&B and Inns
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here 5 days a week for about 4 months. Tom the owner was very professional and sincerely a very nice guy which is very important to me 'cause I don't like fake "part of the job" kind of nice. It was a very unique experience, felt very homely but at the same time was a good as any top hotels I've stayed in. Rooms were really nice with comfy bed and very spacious; even the smallest room was a great size! Lovely cottage styling which had a really nice contemporary twist. Lovely cozy bar out the front where I had the pleasure of meeting some of the locals and took part in a sing song on my last night 'till the early hours of the morning. Always a great atmosphere in the bar and great craic! Pool table out the back too which is great. Food was top class and varied and really tasty. The guesthouse is in a great location, jus outside the the town in one of the best parts in Athlone and also very close to a beautiful lake. I would highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone, especially anyone who was looking for a real Irish welcome! Hope to stay again sometime soon. Thanks a million Tom!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
14
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed in Coosan Cottage Guesthouse last Friday night. It's a lovely place to stay, very peaceful and comfortable. The owner Tommy is a really nice friendly man and made me feel so welcome. The bedroom was very comfortable and the breakfast was tasty. I can highly recommend this lovely Guesthouse.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 7 downstairs and it was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Easy to find, being close to Athlone and Lough Erne Yacht Club for our event. Very welcoming. The most unusual guesthouse I've stayed in in a while, replete with bar and pool table.
Good breakfast. Comfy beds. Plenty of car parking space.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Won a voucher here for two nights and came with my mam and toddler it was such a pleasure to stay here it really did feel like home. Tom the owner so friendly and welcoming. My son Loved him. Would highly recommend Coosan cottage. Tanx a mil Tom!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed in the eco-guesthouse for a week last year while taking part in a sailing event and went back again this year for another week. The rooms are lovely, nicely designed and well kept. There is a very nicely designed bar upstairs. Its short distance from Athlone and the lake side. The owner couldn't be more helpful. He's very friendly and he cooks a really good Irish breakfast! Great value and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I visited again recently but in the past have stayed there over a period of 18months during a construction contract in the town. It was home from Home.

Room Tip: They are all good but if you want a sleep in choose a basement room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Coosan Eco guesthouse last week attending a course in athlone and from the moment I arrived I felt welcome and at home! Nothing was too much trouble for Tom and the room was immaculate and comfortable.i won't be looking for any other accommodation in athlone in the future, what's the point?when you've found the best, why try the rest? Thanks Tom and the gang! :-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coosan Cottage Eco Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coosan Cottage Eco Guesthouse

Address: Coosan Point Rd. | Coosan, Athlone 09064, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coosan Cottage is Ireland's First Ecoguesthouse approx 2.5 miles from the town centre and 1.3 miles from Lough Ree Lake. We are a Hotel standard Ecoguesthouse with a licensed bar at B and B prices great value for money. We do private parties and re-unions, provide music and great food ideal for groups of 25 max. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coosan Cottage Eco Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.