We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Sunday Dinner” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Top Deck Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Top Deck Bistro
Custume Place, Athlone, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 77 Restaurants in Athlone
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing Sunday Dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Myself and my husband had Sunday lunch in Top Deck, we were very disappointed. I had the spring rolls for starter, they were lovely, my husband had the chicken wings, he didn't enjoy them and they were cold and had a tangy sauce. I had the Thai Green Curry for main, it was a let down, my husband had the Steak Sandwich, although there was NO steak in the steak sandwich, he asked for no onions yet it was served with onions. He had toblerone cheesecake and it didn't taste like cheesecake more like cream on very very hard biscuit, he had to cut with a knife! Disappointing lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westmeath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fab food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Fab food although portions could be a little bigger and the desert was to die for. We were there on a Thursday evening after work and it was buzzing, great to see it so busy. Looking forward to going back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Best Bet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Excellent service, great food, and week night special pricing.
The wine selection was good, and we loved the seafood!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far far away
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Small, Friendly and Efficient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We arrived in Athlone relatively late and after trying to get into a few different restaurants, we tried our luck here. We didn't have a reservation, so the Maitre d', who turned out to be the owner, said that he'd have a table for us but would need it back an hour later - that was fine by us. The restaurant was very busy so at times, it was a bit hard to attract the waitress' attention. Every table has a button on it to press for service though so not a major issue.
My husband started with Chicken Wings and went on to have the sirloin steak. He thoroughly enjoyed both. I had Vegetable Fajitas for my main, but I found it to be quite oily. Having said that, It tasted great, so I did enjoy it. I highly recommend their Apple Strudel with Ice Cream for dessert - lovely! We were able to watch the Maitre D' navigate the waitresses around and seating people very effiently as they arrived - he definitely ran a tight ship (excuse the pun!).Would definitely come back here, but we'd make sure to book first.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Place a bit small. food is delicious with the steaks cooked exactly as requested. only point I make is that the portions could be a little bigger. dessert fab

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top Deck Bistro also viewed

Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 
Athlone, County Westmeath
Athlone, County Westmeath
 

Been to Top Deck Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top Deck Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.