We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overbooked” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Creggan Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Creggan Court to your Saves list
Creggan Court
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilmartin Centre (n6) | Dublin Road, Athlone, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Overbooked”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for two nights 31st December, 2012 and 1st January, 2013. I had booked 5 rooms, as there was a large group of us going away for New Years Eve, on arrival I was informed that our rooms had been given to others and that the hotel had tried to contact me even though I had only been on to reception the previous Friday and they had the wrong phone number and e-mail address, even though I had confirmation e-mails from the previous August on my e-mails after booking the rooms.
We were told that the hotel was fully booked, but I argued the point we were after booking last August, eventually they found 4 rooms, and my daughter and her boyfriend had to share with us that night and they got their own room the following night.
The Manager saved the day (Catherine) she was very apologeticand gave us a free drink with our meal, and also gave us starters and dessert and childrens breakfast free.
For the price we paid €89 for 2 nights for 2adults with breakfast and 1 main course evening meal and children were free except for meals. I cannot complain too much but if I had been paying a higher price it would not have been acceptable.
Hotel based in an industrial estate would need transport to get into Athlone town. Top tip before you travel confirm your rooms are still available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    70
    38
    20
    23
See reviews for
39
64
7
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derry city
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on a weekend trip. The hotel staff were very polite and helpful. The food in the bar was served speedily and was tasty. Not haute cuisine but that was not what we were after. The breakfast was very pleasant. Our room was a decent size and the bed was very comfortable. The bar area was a little cold, I'm not sure if there was a problem with the heating or if the open plan style led to this. The hotel was very clean throughout. Although a little out of town it is easily accessible and the town centre is only a few minutes by car or taxi. We are booked in again for an event we are attending in February and we are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Had a great weekekend in the creggan court in January 2013 the rooms were very clean and tidy and staff were very friendly and accommodating hey couldn't do enough for us, we would definitely go back again

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle West, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Good access to the hotel was the main reason I chose this hotel as we were travelling on business so time was of the essence. The price was also reasonable although would have preffered to have a breakfast included in the price even if it was ony a continental breakfast.

The room was comfortable and the bathroom was a good size.

Ample car parking and good selection of eating places nearby.
We will definatly return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just back from 2 night new year break at creggan court.Hotel is situated about 10 min drive to centre which is not as bad as may sound.THE price we paid was one of the main reasons we chose this hotel and at that price we had some concerns before arriving but we need not have worried about anything.From check to check out everything was done with a smile from all staff[well done].Some bigger hotels take note..We knew it had no leisure centre but we used leisure centre in town.Rooms were clean and tidy as were corridors.Bar and breakfast area clean as well.Some people may notice certain things like a few frayed carpets etc but do not let put you off.HOTEL is beside garage with centra mc donalds dominoes subway and woodies which we did not find a problem in fact they were quite handy.As i said price has a lot to do with hotel choice but this one is worth every euro[THANK YOU FROM THE MURPHYS AND BRADYS]

Room Tip: Ask for room on ground floor away from lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My mom, sister and I stayed here last weekend for 2 nights. I was unsure of how our experience would go as there was a little confusion with of reservation however once we arrived we had a wonderful time. The hotel is a little outside the town however we had a car so this did not bother us. The breakfast was lovely, plenty of everything. The bar was also very nice. The turkey and ham was yumee. There was also a 3 course special for 15euro which my sister loved. The reception/bar/breakfast team were lovely. The room was lovely with plenty of everything as well (coffee, tea, milk, soap). The bar also had peppermint tea which I was very happy. The atmosphere in the bar was warm, welcoming and relaxing. We will be back some time soon for another stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurles, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed in the Creggan for two nights,think it was October, I couldn't compliment the staff enough, they were brilliant,Sorry cannot remember names!!I could not get over how friendly they were, it was really nice,10/10 for the staff!! Well done and thanks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Creggan Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creggan Court

Address: Kilmartin Centre (n6) | Dublin Road, Athlone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Athlone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Athlone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Creggan Court 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We the Creggan Court Hotel are located in the heart of Ireland, Just outside Athlone town, a town rich in heritage and history.We are a 72 bedroom hotel. All rooms have free wifi, cable tv, direct phone line, hairdryer tea/coffee facilities. a laundry services can also be provided. We have ample free car parking spaces. Our reception desk is open 24 hours to assist all our guests to have a relaxing and enjoyable stay.If you are feeling hungry on arrival don't worry our Granary Bar serves food daily, you can sit back and relax and enjoy traditional Irish hospitality with meals to suit all. Our lemon tree restaurant can cater for up to 100 people, ideal for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Your business is our pleasure, we aim to provide a friendly and welcoming environment for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Creggan Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creggan Court Hotel Athlone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creggan Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.